We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveler rating
350
48
8
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
48
8
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble showerwaikato hospitalbusy roadmotor lodgegreat amenitiesmain roadplace to staysky tvmodern roomsexcellent accommodationspa bathcomfy beddouble glazingplunger coffeefree wifiair concooking facilities
Filter
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 410 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was an experience in excellence. Providing so much more than we expected.
Arriving late, hungry and tired in a new town and county we were eating a meal within 30minutes, without even leaving the place. The beds were dreamy, the bed linnen good quality cotton, and the bathroom products NZ Manuka.
We would highly recommend the Astra Motor Lodge and would go out of our way to stay there.
Thanks Steve and Bronny. We really appreciate your efforts to make us comfortable and welcome
We also didn't expect the rooms to be so quiet right on the highway.
The Aussie party of 5

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write this lovely review. It was our pleasure to organise dinner for you and your family upon your arrival. It was just one of many small services that help with your first night at the Astra Motor Lodge. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed the quiet rooms and the Hotel standard Sleepyhead beds. We to had a lot of fun and laughs while you were here and look forward to hosting you and your family next time you are in Hamilton.

Kind Regards,

Bronny & Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here for a family wedding and everyone was so impressed with the unbelievable service from our hosts. They were fantastic. The motor lodge is very new and very comfortable, great beds, lovely linen. We couldn't fault anything.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank VictoriaL274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Many thanks for your review and kind words. It is our true pleasure to provide a service to our guests that is both enjoyable and relaxing while in a hassle free environment. We both look forward to providing the same service next time you are in Hamilton while staying of course at the Astra Motor Lodge.

Kind Regards

Bronny and Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I cant say enough how highly I rate the owners Bonny and Steve on their customer service. Thank you both for such excellent and friendly service while I was at your motel. Close to all amenities town of Hamilton and the hospital. Beautifully equipped and very comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Brenda701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Astra Motor Lodge as your preferred place to stay while in Hamilton. We continue to meet great people who come into our motel as strangers and certainly leave as friends.
We both look forward to having you as our guest next time you are in Hamilton.

Many thanks for the kind words.

Kind Regards

Bronny and Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

To be greeted by name by Bronny and Steve the owners was I think a first in all the hotels and motels stayed in around the world. Cant say enough about the owners and how welcoming they were. Keep it up. The motels is fairly new and was in perfect condition. Great, nicely appointed kitchen and bathroom. Having the two room unit upstairs was again perfect for our needs with a teenager.
Unfortunately we had to cut our two night stay short and only had the one night, and we had no expectations that we would not be charged for the second night but they took off a substantial amount. I hope you did re book it for the busy weekend.
We will be back. The location is south a little, but a short trip to the city centre wasn't difficult. Would suggest if you can grab the double room unit upstairs at the end. Thanks guys for making the stay, and the leaving, such a pleasure.

Room Tip: Back upstairs two room unit great for 2 plus 2 traveling if need be.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AucklandDevon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, it is much appreciated. It certainly was a shame that you had to cut short your stay as it was a busy weekend in Hamilton with plenty to do. Rugby, Swimming and Rowing to name a few.
The Delux 1 Bedroom Apartment is certainly popular with our guest along with the spa bath to soak that busy day away.
We both look forward to providing you with the same level service next time you are in Hamilton and hope that you can stay longer to enjoys Hamilton's hospitality.

Take care

Bronny & Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place if you are looking for warm and friendly service, clean well equipped rooms, nice location, very comfortable - and a great nights sleep!

The motel is a recent build on the outskirts of Hamilton. Its near the hospital and Hamilton and the surrounding area is easily accessible by car.

From booking, to arrival and being acquainted with the amenities, to a brief outline of the area, the manager Steve and his wife Bronny made us feel very welcome. They also provided help with our guests transport to ensure that everyone (including my wife) arrived at our function in Hamilton on time.

The rooms are decorated to a high standard. We stayed in room 12 which is large enough to comfortably accommodate a family of 4. The bed was excellent (large and comfortable), lots of wardrobe space, and the small kitchenette and modern bathroom (with a excellent shower and spa bath) made sure we had a very well appointed "home" for the weekend.

I'd have no hesitation going back to stay at the Astra again in either a personal capacity, or as a base for a company event. Staying there certainly added to our weekend in Hamilton, which was terrific!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEK0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are so grateful that our valued guest take the time to respond and comment on both ourselves and the Astra Motor Lodge. We provide a hassle free stay so transport for your group was a priority for us to continue this level of service. It is those little things that do make the stay at the Astra Motor Lodge different to other motels.

We both look forward to providing the same level of warm, friendly service next time you are in Hamilton either on business or pleasure.

Regards

Bronny & Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews