We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service”
Review of CBD Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
CBD Cafe
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Wellington
Level Contributor
98 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Outstanding service”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Staff were lovely, helpful and friendly - some of the best service I have come across in a long time - made for a very enjoyable visit to CBD.
Kid's menu was the usualy nuggets/burgers etc - not very inspiring- but when the meal came it was presented with a lovely salad which made it stand out from the rest.
The waitress was happy to offer recommendations off the menu and seemed very knowledgable about the menu.
Reasonably priced and very generous servings - left feeling very well fed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xpressoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent place. Would come back.”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service and atmosphere. Food was good for the price. Good range of drinks. Would likely come back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danielfarrellnzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great staff, good value and tasty food”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

With more and more eateries in Hamilton being owned by 1 of 2 restaurant groups, it's hard to find somewhere that is unique and can be distinguished from it's neighbours. CBD works quite well considering that the House across the road is part of the same group. They are still differentiated from each other by their menu's.

The staff at CBD are always welcoming and friendly and particularly the 2 young guys on duty when we popped in for a late lunch last Sunday at about 2pm. They welcomed us back (we are reasonably regular weekend visitors for brunch/lunch) and with friendly repartee we placed our orders and received our food in a timely manner with a smile and word and we enjoyed ourselves here.

Definitely somewhere we will choose to return because of how we are treated when we come here and the food is tasty, well prepared and presented in a timely manner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daisy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy environment, well priced above average brunch food”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Came across place mid morning. Good service. Food was tasty, although eggs were a tad overdone. Coffee was average which was expected as waitress wasn't sure of what a double shot was but will definitely come back here for the food and service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
217 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Enjoyed a really lovely early evening with some friends at the CBD bar and cafe. The platters are great and have a really good variety of food - something for everyone. A good selection of cold meats and crackers, plus chips and olives etc. Enjoyed the house sauvignon blanc wine. Really enjoyed the apple n berry crumble, though it needed a little more ice cream. One of my friends enjoyed the banana split as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jewlzcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CBD Cafe also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing