We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food”

Indian Star Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #21 of 359 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Been open approx 4 months. Visited last night and the meal was great - service was awesome too. Would love to review this to help get people eating here! Phone is 078343122 I believe the one in Rotorua is highly recommended too.
Toro, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Nice location near river staff was friendly all curries come with steamed rice not basmati which is sad curries was ok naan were good

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jojo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    22
    10
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Indian Star - Definitely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Ate here for dinner on Good Friday - no bank holiday surcharge. :-) We had been here 2 weeks previously and the manager remembered us and asked if we wanted to sit at the same table! However this time we sat out on the lovely terrace overlooking the river on a warm evening. The food was delicious - very fragrant & tasty - loved the little slivers of fresh ginger - a very nice touch. We ate Lamb Rogan Josh & Chicken Saag. Heaps of rice - we couldn't finish it all. Our son had chicken nuggets & chips - which got a big thumbs up. Great to find an Indian restaurant where you can take non-Indian food eating children! Service was prompt and friendly. Our new favourite Indian restaurant in Hamilton.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
273 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best Indian secret in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Great location by the river. We sat outside and enjoyed the river and bush views. Service was also great. Our Indian visitor said the food was authentic and he was impressed with the menu. This place is hidden away but with the central location it is a must. Also byo wine allowed and corkage was $7. Good value overall and great food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great Indian food, friendly, fast efficient service. We arrived were greeted and shown to our table on the patio which made full use of beautiful evening with balmy breezes that added to the ambience.
Our drinks orders were taken and arrive very quickly, advising we were going to a show could we order our food, not a problem, the entree arrived and when everyone at our table had finished our mains arrived, we asked the Host to arrange a taxi van to take us to the theatre not a problem, taxi was ready and waiting for us.
Fantastic evening which began with a lovely meal and wonderful experience. Highly recommended, easy to find, we booked on line, will go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food and service great, get here for delicious Indian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Top notch service and all dishes came out great. Full of flavour and spice. Believe this is the best Indian I have had in the Waikato area. Do try out the vegetarian dal dishes. The service was also pleasant, very friendly and not too overpowering. A great place for seem great Indian. Just could do with a touch up on creating the right atmosphere with decorating and lighting. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Star Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Indian Star Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing