We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
Nearby Hotels
$91
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$141
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$86
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest on Ward(Hamilton)
$105
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    $89
    $84
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    $89
    $75
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
      $99
      $96
      Hotels.com
      View Deal
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      $95
      $91
      Agoda.com
      View Deal
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      $76
      $66
      Agoda.com
      View Deal
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      $83
      $80
      Expedia.com
      View Deal
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      Reviews (262)
      Filter reviews
      262 results
      Traveler rating
      31
      89
      77
      42
      23
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      31
      89
      77
      42
      23
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsgym equipmentnew carpetswimming poolgood sizebreakfast includedbeds were comfortablelarge roomplenty of parkingan upgradefree parkingspaaucklandheatercbd
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      136 - 141 of 262 reviews
      Reviewed June 14, 2014

      My wife and I stayed here for three days in June.
      When we arrived the roof in the room was leaking. It took over an hour before someone came to look, which resulted in a bucket with a couple of towels being carefully positioned under the leak. It was fieldays week so they were completely full and couldn't move us to another room.
      The next morning the leak in the roof was fixed, but the room was now very damp. The ceiling and carpet remained wet the whole time we were there, with the accompanying damp smell. No effort was made to dry the carpet and every time we came into the room the smell was unpleasant to say the least.
      Dinner in the restaurant was tasty but the breakfast anything but (how do you make watery bacon and sausages?) and definitely not worth $25.
      The people were friendly, but ineffectual - they seemed too busy and preoccupied with other things to actually do something about solving the problem with our room. There was no consideration given to the discomfort we experienced on checkout and we were charged the full rate for the stay.
      The décor seems to be from 1980's and the whole place could do with sprucing up. The pillows are mediocre and the bed far from comfortable.
      Completely unimpressed and I strongly advise against staying here.

      • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank ShaneH13
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

      Thank you for your comments. It is shame that you did not take the option to move when offered. I apologise that there was a leak in the room from what can only be described as a storm. The flooding in our entrance way was the first ever seen there in the 15 years the Hotel has been in operation.

      Kind regards

      Murray Cook

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed June 10, 2014

      • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
      This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
      Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

      Unless you are here for the conference facilities (in which case I doubt you have a choice), do yourself a favour and find somewhere else. The rooms are tired, beds soft, pillows rubbish and you can hear the plumbing!
      The breakfast is extortionately priced and is poor quality and the staff were busy cleaning the place as we were eating.
      I am sure that there are some lovely privately owned hotels or motels nearby that would be far more pleasant.
      Millennium Hotels are generally OK, but this one is a let down...

      Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
      Thank Neil C
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

      Thank you for taking the time to make comments.

      The $22 charged for a full buffet breakfast includes a variety of breads, danishes, croissants, spreads, 5 types of cereal, fresh fruits, yoghurt, 4 different juices, cheese and meat, 6 hot dishes and tea and coffee.
      If you do not wish to have the hot dishes the price is $16 and for Tea coffee, breads, danishes, crossaints and spreads $6.90.

      As it is an all you can eat buffet we do operate at the above pricing schedule only and I do understand that you may have wanted only part of the buffet and am sorry that we only have the above options.

      Staff clear, clean and reset tables during service - all other cleaning is done after service.

      It is disappointing that we failed to meet your required standards and I apologise for our shortcomings.

      Kind Regards

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed June 3, 2014

      I have stayed here many times. The breakfast is good, Staff always pleasant. Rooms are large with all that you need. Most have mini bars.The spas are good and we loved the pool.Will be back. Great parking.

      • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank wayns1
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

      Thank you for your kind comments. The staff always try to please our guests and they appreciate people who take the time to make positive comment when so many focus on the negatives.

      We look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

      Kind Regards


      Murray Cook

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed June 1, 2014

      My partner and I recently stayed here for a couple of nights, and unfortunately we don't have a lot of good feedback.
      We arrived to find that although there were lots of parks, you would be lucky enough to get one anywhere near your room. We had to park down the other end (which looks like the conference centre car parks), and being pregnant it was not very nice having to walk that distance with bags etc, just to get to our room.
      We found we had to use 2 keys - one for the building and one for the room - and found there were actually no lifts if your room is upstairs, which ours was. Not good if you have a disability or lots of luggage. Though not too bad for us I'd suggest getting a bottom room if stairs are no good for you.
      Although dated, the room itself was fairly nice, but that's where it stops.
      You could hear a lot of noise going on around the place - people walking/running through the hallways, going through exit doors, talking, etc. Unfortunately one of the nights there was a wedding party staying there too which didn't help.
      The beds are extremely uncomfortable, making for some bad nights sleep.
      We ordered room service for dinner one night and were told to leave the tray outside the door and it would be collected. The next day we found it hadn't been picked up and was sitting there in the hallway all night - I'd say that's asking for mice or rats...
      Next day we had left out the door sign asking to please make up our room, but I'm not even sure what they did. The bed hadn't been touched, and although I know they don't change sheets daily, from my experience in lots of other hotels they still make the bed. In the book in the room it also says the mini bar is replenished daily, but this wasn't the case either as we had had a (ridiculously priced) water and that had not been replaced. We had to share the last tiny bottle between us. It was either that or drink from the bathroom taps, as no room to put our own in the fridge. There were also hairs in the bathroom, which were also there when we arrived.
      It didn't make sense either that Ethernet cable was by the bed but there were power points on the other side of the room. You could not plug anything near the bed if you needed to.
      Overall we felt very uncomfortable and would likely not stay here again.

      • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank keeweetravlr
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

      Thank you for taking the time to make such in depth comments regarding your stay. It is disappointing that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as we would have liked and apologise for the areas we have not performed in.

      The room you stayed in has been signed off as being serviced on the Sunday and we do make all beds daily, but we do leave the bedspread folded down. Restaurant trays are meant to be cleared by the restauarnt at end of shift and by the night manager during the night so this will be taken up with staff concerned.

      Porterage service is available if requested at reception, or alternatively as you have suggested a downstairs room can be requested.

      Thank you again for you comments and I appreciate the feedback on our shortcomings.

      Kind Regards


      Murray Cook

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      View more reviews