We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold pool - brrrrr.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #29 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Rooms and common areas very tired and in need of decoration. Restaurant set out beautifully - however very long wait for (very small) meals. Party of six - one diner served about 30 mins ahead of others - we were offered free drinks by way of an apology. Indoor pool NOT heated - therefore unusable (my grand daughter has asthma - only booked here for the pool). No milk provided in room - when I asked for it at Reception I was told to walk down to the kitchen and ask for it (long walk)! It was my Birthday and the friendly restaurant staff brought out a large slice of cake (enough to share between us) with a candle - thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to make comment. The pool is heated to 25 degrees as recommended by our pool contractor. It may have seemed colder with the extremely humid weather being experienced. This is checked daily. The rooms have nearly had all furniture re varnished and corridors are currently being painted. I am disappointed that you felt the common rooms seemed dated as they have been re-carpeted and re furnished in the last year in addition to the new bar and reception desktops and the addition of 2 large flat screen TV's.

I appreciate the feed back and taken up the issues regarding the lack of milk and what I believe poor service delivered upon your enquiry Thank you.

Kind regards


Murray Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 253 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

We are a family with two little young children, we booked to stay longer for cheaper rate, we then got put in a room without a bath, next to the housekeeping room, along the street side, we got waken up in the morning around 6.30am by the washing machine in the housekeeping room,called reception, and got waken up again the next morning. During our stay, only our towel and rubbish bin got changed, bed made without changing the sheets. the beds are very damp feel and do not look clean either. all the facilities are very very old, no wifi, internet use will cost about $20.00 for one day use. compare to all other places I have stayed, I would promise that I will never stay in this hotel at all in my life. and I will tell my friends not to stay here either.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annaw0ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment, it is very disappointing that your stay with us was not as you would have wished. The laundry staff did start at 7.00 am in the morning and I apologise this happened 2 days in a row. Bed linen is changed on the 3rd nights stya for guests staying over. There are many internet options including $3 for 1 hour or 20 mins free in reception and $5 to $18 for various hours usage in the rooms. Triple rooms (with a Queen, double and a single) are shower only and this should be shown on the website you booked through.

It was pleasing that you managed to get one of the triple rooms for such a reduced rate as these have been in great demand over the Christmas period, however as stated above it disappointing that we failed to meet your expectations.

Kind regards

Murray Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel has become a regular for our annual stop over in Hamilton, one big family room (2 kings and a single) is tremendous value. The children love the in door swimming and spa pools and the travel budget can be spent elsewhere. Whilst the price is good the decor is a little dated and tired but rooms and common areas are always clean and tidy, and the staff friendly. There is a golf driving range down the road, a New World up the road and a Water World swim complex behind, so nicely located, the drive into CBD 5 minutes. No doubt we will be back next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and would not recommend it to anybody. The bed had 6 broken springs sticking out which caused injury to the lower leg. When informing staff about this they showed absolutely no interest and offered no adequate solution at all. I have searched for someone to contact in regards to this but find that this hotel makes it impossible for customers to give feedback. At the very least I feel that the hotel should refund the price of our stay here as they fail at the very basic level on which a hotel should function - providing a bed that won't injure you!

Room Tip: stay away from here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sianmariew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for making us aware of the problem with the bed and it has been replaced. Staff check for these things but run a hand across the mattress seams rather than put weight on the bed which forces any springs that may have come loose to protrude through the mattress.

It is disappointing that you have felt staff were unsympathetic because they took it very seriously and ensured the bed was changed as soon as they were made aware.

I apologise for our shortcomings and again thank you for making us aware of the situation so it could be remedied.

Kind regards

Murray Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Have stayed here a few times in the past, but this time it surpassed my expectations and my experience has ensured we will be returning. The reception staff were excellent, welcoming and polite - certainly much more welcoming than I have struck in the past. Even the housekeeping staff member who cleaned our room was lovely and friendly.
Could not have found better value for money for our 3 day stay and the room was very spacious, 2 queen beds, had good air conditioning and good sized flat screen tv.
We used the pool and spa - both of which were clean and pleasant to use.
I am not sure if the staff are new or they have provided new training for them but I was very impressed and shall be recommending this hotel to others.

Room Tip: There are no lifts (elevators) to the rooms, so if you have mobility issues with the stairs I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xpressoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Perfect stopover! Especially for the price!! (Some hostels charge more than we paid for a double room!!) Although like all the other reviews say, the decor is slightly dated but everything is maintained well. It was spotlessly clean! The room was huge, with a flat screen tv; we were expecting an older one from the photos. The grounds around have been kept nicely. Although we didn't use it, the pools looked clean and well maintained. The staff were extremely polite. Comfortable bed! Would strongly recommend!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank GlenLambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Very 70s hotel. The place needs updating. Rooms were large, but not well maintained. The bed was not good, needs to be repalced. The breakfast is always the same. We stayed three nights here. Not a lot of places nearby to walk to save for a small market and bakery. Also large tour groups use this hotel. Not sure I would return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scvrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you found breakfast the same on the 3 days you stayed, we do put out a full buffet breakfast everyday with a large number of choices available but understand that you may have required something else. We are currently going through the rooms re-varnishing, coating and changing the woodwork in the rooms. Over the last 18 months, carpet, curtains, bedspreads, bed heads and flat screen TV's have been put into the rooms. It is disappointing that these were not to your taste. Hamilton is not a large tourist town and the group you encountered when you stayed in October were a one off group visiting the famed Hamilton Gardens and rose gardens around the Waikato.

Thank you again for making comment and hope you enjoyed your time in New Zealand.

Kind Regards

Murray Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
2.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
1.4 mi away
Park View Motor Lodge
Park View Motor Lodge
#10 of 63 in Hamilton
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
176 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
985 reviews
1.1 mi away
Asure Barclay Motel
Asure Barclay Motel
#32 of 63 in Hamilton
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 100 Garnett Avenue | Te Rapa, Hamilton 3241, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: $100 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre offers 147 air-conditioned hotel rooms and suites, many of which have been refurbished in 2017. The hotel’s new Superior Rooms & Suites have been designed to feature a modern & contemporary vibe. Guests will be treated to upgraded, luxury beds combined with sumptuous linen ensuring a restful night’s sleep, plush new carpet, increased soundproofing, comfortable armchairs and a work desk, 49” flat screen televisions, free unlimited WiFi and individually controlled heat pumps/air conditioning. Extensive guest services including a gymnasium, three spa pools, an indoor swimming pool and bar. The hotel's popular Garnett's Restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner daily. Located only minutes from the Hamilton city centre and conveniently located to reach any out-of-town places of interest, this Hamilton hotel is a favourite with business travellers and holiday makers alike. For families, the proximity of Waterworld is a real bonus and for horse racing enthusiasts, Te Rapa Racecourse is just a short walk away. The Base Hamilton - NZ's largest shopping centre is also just a few minutes walk from our Hamilton hotel. Distinction Hamilton also boasts some of the largest conference facilities in the Waikato area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing