We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very old”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Personal very friendly, willing to help. The spa is old but very comfortable and quiet. Unfortunately the hotel and especially the rooms are very old and never modernized since the construction. He could be vintage and cosy but in this case it produces a lack of comfort and an impression that the hotel will be destroyed very soon. I recommend it only if you don't have any other choice

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank artgamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to make comment. The Hotel was built in 1998 and the 600 wing (with spa, sauna, gym and indoor pool complex) was added in 2001.

Kind regards

Murray Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 247 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a $99 room and buffet breakfast for two, excellent value, highly recommended. The room was spacious and clean and the beds were comfortable. Excellent selection of good instant coffees, teas and cocoa. Very friendly, helpful staff.
Had a little trouble getting key into outside door lock.
Only real down side was the VERY NOISY bar fridge, which is why I marked sleep quality as only average, after I turned it right down I got to sleep. This did defrost the icebox as I'd imagined it would and I was awoken by a clunk of falling ice, and then I used the towels to clean up all the water leakage. Apart from that it was well above what i expected for that cost.

Room Tip: We were downstairs in the 300's so in this large complex it was relatively close to the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Kingsgate Hamilton is an aged hotel which shows in the rooms and general appearance, however the rooms are very spacious and quite comfortable, there is a god restaurant on site which serves up a very nice breakfast at a very reasonable price, dinner was a different story, there were only 4 people in the restaurant and the meal took about 40 minutes to arrive . The staff are very friendly and helpful. Boadband cable in the room which worked well, wifi available only in the reception foyer. Very handy to Horotiu, ood accommodation at a good price, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Shabby rooms, tacky awful sticky cheap pine furniture with all the coating coming off, badly in need of renovation, Could put the laptop on the desktop for fear of it sticking down. ALL WHITE BATHROOM!!! Ouch. Lumpy mattress. Still it was OK for 2 nights and close to Horotiu where we were inspecting. Would not have stayed there one night longer than necessary.

Staff were nice and checkin and check out efficient.

Price was right but think next tie will go for more comfort.

Room Tip: We stayed in block 200, my room 204 had noisy fan, kettle with broken lid and ticky sticky tacky yuc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your comments, now that we have been advised, by internet, we will replace the kettle and inspect the mattress in the room. Many items such as these are replaceable upon request at the time. Bed comfort is a difficult one for staff to assess so guest feedback, such as yours, is important. Yes the furniture is pine as this was the most accessible timber for the 147 rooms at the time of the build in 1997. As ongoing maintenance all the furniture will be stripped and re-varnished during the coming festive season.

Yes the bathroom tiles are all white. Housekeeping have been informed to inspect the room and chemical cleaner they are using to ensure there is no tackiness on the tops. I suspect a wrong cleaner may have been used since we recently changed over products.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind regards

Murray Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Do not stay at this Hotel. Generally tired and in need of renovation. Advertised WiFi in all rooms, but no signal at all in room 606. Broadband cable , if it worked , no use for iPhones / iPads . Despite being the only 2 people in the restaurant for an early dinner , it took over 30 mins from ordering to receiving first course - however, when received, food of good quality. Also discovered that several items in room minibar had passed their expiry date - some by almost 1 year! Hotel management obviously very lax.

Room Tip: Insist on a room where the Wifi works ( if it does ?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We have replaced the one beer and chocolate bar that was past its "best before" date. The minibar person has been advised of the oversight and will be going through all stock to ensure nothing else is past its best before date.
It is disappointing to read your comments regarding the meal service as you specifically booked a place in the restaurant at 5.30 pm which we accommodated, even though we do not open our restaurant until 6.00 pm, as advertised. It was requested that you needed your meal by 6.15 pm as you had a taxi to catch for the rugby and you had finished your entree and your main meal was served to you before 6.10 pm.
Regarding wifi, we are unaware of any advertising that states we have it throughout the Hotel, 4 blocks are covered and when requested we allocate accordingly. There is also 20 minutes free wifi available per day in the reception and public areas and yes the broadband doe's work.

I apologise that we did not provide you with the experience you required and where possible will address your concerns.

Kind Regards

Murray Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have stayed here many times . Yes it is a little dated but this is usually reflected in the price I feel. We come from Auckland and stay here with friends of ours and our children . The triple rooms are great value for money. Once checked in we usually go across the road to the Hamilton pools which have slides and the kids spend a couple of hours there. We then come back and have a rest may go in to town and do something and then after dinner the kids go down for a spa and swim in the hotel pool. After that we sit back and relax ,kids in one of the rooms adults in the other and if we are lucky some of us go off to the casino for a little play. The ones that stay back order from room service a late night snack which is very reasonable prices and nice. We have always found the breakfast nlce and feel this is a great value for money getaway for a couple of days. On our way back to Auckland we go to firepot cafe in gordontown which is awesome. Looking to come down in school holidays next month.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Apart from being a very dated, non-central conference venue, bar far the biggest let down was the lack of mobile phone service on the property. Beds and decor were old. On the plus side the food was okay and the staff friendly. But given I couldn't work without my phone and data connection, I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyrob_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for your comments, cell phone coverage from vodafone is not a strong signal and when atmospheric conditions are not right signal can be blocked by concrete block walls which the main accommodation wings are made of. We are 4 km from the city centre and as such enjoy benefits such as less noise, large free car parking and easy access.

Beds are replaced as and when required and to some degree this is dependent on guest feedback such as yours. We will endeavour to ascertain the room you stayed in and check the bed. All curtains, carpets were replaced in the last 18 months along with new boxed bedspreads and headboard material.

Kind regards

Murray Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
2.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
2.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Asure Barclay Motel
Asure Barclay Motel
#29 of 63 in Hamilton
55 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#10 of 63 in Hamilton
979 reviews
1.3 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 100 Garnett Avenue | Te Rapa, Hamilton 3241, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: $80 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre offers 147 air-conditioned hotel rooms and suites, many of which have been refurbished in 2017. The hotel’s new Superior Rooms & Suites have been designed to feature a modern & contemporary vibe. Guests will be treated to upgraded, luxury beds combined with sumptuous linen ensuring a restful night’s sleep, plush new carpet, increased soundproofing, comfortable armchairs and a work desk, 49” flat screen televisions, free unlimited WiFi and individually controlled heat pumps/air conditioning. Extensive guest services including a gymnasium, three spa pools, an indoor swimming pool and bar. The hotel's popular Garnett's Restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner daily. Located only minutes from the Hamilton city centre and conveniently located to reach any out-of-town places of interest, this Hamilton hotel is a favourite with business travellers and holiday makers alike. For families, the proximity of Waterworld is a real bonus and for horse racing enthusiasts, Te Rapa Racecourse is just a short walk away. The Base Hamilton - NZ's largest shopping centre is also just a few minutes walk from our Hamilton hotel. Distinction Hamilton also boasts some of the largest conference facilities in the Waikato area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing