We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years. It is in a quiet suburban setting and a few minutes drive to the city centre. Staff are friendly and helpful, rooms spacious. It has the feel of an overgrown motel rather than a typical hotel. Overall the building design has not dated well and some of the maintenance has slipped. In my room the aircon and the extractor fan in the bathroom were not working and the fridge seal poor, meaning it was noisy and leaking. On the plus side there is plenty of free parking and the breakfast has a wide selection.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    79
    71
    40
    21
See reviews for
70
65
7
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed 1 night, 27 April 2013. This is not the most modern hotel and when it was built in the 1970's all the open space inside would have been so futuristic. However it appears to be well maintained. The rooms are large and have a good shower, clean and very fluffy towels. It seems to be in quieter area. All in all a good overnight stop off for 1 night on the way north to Auckland.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments and it is pleasing that you enjoyed your stopover in Hamilton. Of note the Hotel was built in 1997 and opened in 1998. However I understand your thinking in that in the 70's everything was big and spacious, as the Hotel is, and in more recent years space is a precious commodity and needs to be used.

Again I appreciate your comments and wish you well in your travels.

Kind regards

Murray Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The reception staff were very welcoming. The room was a bit old fashioned but clean and fresh with a good shower room. It was nice and quiet too. My husband made use of the pool and enjoyed it.
It was a bit annoying having to use a key to get into the building before you get to your room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AirFresheners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments and best of all its great to hear you felt you got good value for money. It is much appreciated and will be forwarded to the staff who always gratefully receive positive feedback.

We look forward to you staying with us again.

Kind regards

Murray Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Had a lovely stay here for our anniversary. The staff were very courteous and helpful. And everything was fresh and clean. Facilities were great too, with a well decked out gym, steam room, and pool. Spa's were a bit on the cool side though.

Our room was large and spacious, and we were upgraded to a King room for free as bookings were light, being a Sunday.

My only gripe would be a bit of noise that made sleeping difficult - the fridge was loud and spouting leaked gushes of water outside our window when it rained.

But overall we had a wonderful stay and highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Happy anniversary and its great that we were able to make your day even that little bit more special. Thank you for the kind comments and constructive comments regarding some maintenance issues. By letting us know these we will be able to take action and ensure future guests are not inconvenienced.

After the drought it was actually very pleasant to have the rain and the Waikato sure need it.

Thank you again for your comments

Kind regards

Murray Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Spent a single night here on a Sunday. The facilities were fantastic - a full gym, two restaurants, 3 spa pools, an indoor pool, saunas and changing rooms. Well worth the price we paid.

The rooms were clean a spacious. The staff were fantastic and extremely helpful.

My only gripe is the doors to the rooms seem to not block out hallway noise that well. This wasn't too much of a problem as it was a Sunday night and pretty quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicadeemus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments. Generally the rooms closest to the entry/exits to the accommodation wings do get some noise when the main doors close heavily. We ensure they do shut for security reasons but with your comment we will look at the closing system and assure it is adjusted properly, as it may be losing some of its tension.

Thank you for bringing it to my attention and happy to hear you enjoyed the Hotel and its facilities.

Kind Regards

Murray Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I attended a wedding in Hamilton. We booked into the Kingsgate in Te Rapa.
I found the place hadnt changed since I was last there about 15years ago, the decor was still the same. We stayed one night and found the room very much 70's, the bed was okay and the bathroom had a great shower, abit dissappointed in the bathroom where the toilet is situated it didnt alow for much room to manouver as it was tucked away beside the shower. The hotel needs to be desperately upgraded.
The rate was $115.00/night and the only positive was they allowed us a check out time of mid-day at no extra cost which was fab.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments - you must have stayed just as it opened in late 1998. I have been at the Hotel for the last 5 years and in that time we have re-carpeted throughout the Hotel public areas and rooms (used to be red & orange carpets). We have replaced all the lounge, restaurant and rooms furniture, fitted new buffet tops in the restaurant and new bar top (the reception is next). All rooms have new blue heavy curtains and headboards to match and the old TV's have been replaced with flat screen TV's. Broad band has been installed throughout the Hotel. The bedspreads have been replaced with new boxed bedspreads and entry ways redecorated and new pictures put up throughout the hallways. Next to be done are the coffee tables and desktops in the rooms and painting of room walls. Given you stayed 15 years ago you would also have been able to notice that in 2001 the 600 block was added with indoor swimming pool, spa's, saunas & changing rooms and a gymnasium for guests use.

It is disappointed that so much has been done and not been recognised and can only advise that continuous upgrade is planned when funds are available.

Kind regards

Murray Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed in a family suite and the room itself was huge but that was the only positive. The several signs in the room advising us to keep our windows closed at all times due to criminal activity was not a welcome sight. The room was not very clean, the decor, bathrooms etc were old and seriously need to be updated. The bed was uncomfortable as were the pillows.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments and it is disappointing we were not able to meet your desired standards. We do not have a problem with a criminal element as you allude too, we are merely advising guests that it is advisable to have the windows closed, this also helps with the guests who use the air conditioning with the windows open. We also advise on entry to the wings that if they leave their rooms should also do so. It is surprising the number of guests on the ground floor that go out for the day with their windows wide open when staying among a large numbers of strangers. As for the bathrooms we get many very good and positive comments regarding having the spa baths and showers and being very spacious.

Kind Regards
Murray Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
2.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
1.1 mi away
Asure Barclay Motel
Asure Barclay Motel
#28 of 63 in Hamilton
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,149 reviews
1.3 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
249 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 100 Garnett Avenue | Te Rapa, Hamilton 3241, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre offers 147 air-conditioned hotel rooms and suites, many of which have been refurbished in 2017. The hotel’s new Superior Rooms & Suites have been designed to feature a modern & contemporary vibe. Guests will be treated to upgraded, luxury beds combined with sumptuous linen ensuring a restful night’s sleep, plush new carpet, increased soundproofing, comfortable armchairs and a work desk, 49” flat screen televisions, free unlimited WiFi and individually controlled heat pumps/air conditioning. Extensive guest services including a gymnasium, three spa pools, an indoor swimming pool and bar. The hotel's popular Garnett's Restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner daily. Located only minutes from the Hamilton city centre and conveniently located to reach any out-of-town places of interest, this Hamilton hotel is a favourite with business travellers and holiday makers alike. For families, the proximity of Waterworld is a real bonus and for horse racing enthusiasts, Te Rapa Racecourse is just a short walk away. The Base Hamilton - NZ's largest shopping centre is also just a few minutes walk from our Hamilton hotel. Distinction Hamilton also boasts some of the largest conference facilities in the Waikato area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing