We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
Nearby Hotels
$91
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$141
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$86
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest on Ward(Hamilton)
$105
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    $89
    $84
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    $89
    $75
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
      $99
      $96
      Hotels.com
      View Deal
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      $95
      $91
      Agoda.com
      View Deal
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      $76
      $66
      Agoda.com
      View Deal
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      $83
      $80
      Travelocity
      View Deal
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      Reviews (262)
      Filter reviews
      262 results
      Traveler rating
      31
      89
      77
      42
      23
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      31
      89
      77
      42
      23
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsgym equipmentnew carpetswimming poolgood sizebreakfast includedbeds were comfortablelarge roomplenty of parkingan upgradefree parkingspaaucklandheatercbd
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      212 - 217 of 262 reviews
      Reviewed June 10, 2012

      I booked a room and breakfast at the Kingsgate for three adults. When we checked in, we were told that our booking included only two breakfasts and that we would need to pay $35 for the third breakfast. We showed the receptionist our booking and pointed out that the booking said nothing about only two breakfasts. We were told it must be an issue with their website and that they could not do anything about it. The cost of the breakfast then changed to $22 and then finally $10!? We ended up just paying it. The rooms are spacious but dated and cold. The worst of all was that the sheets on one bed had not been changed. There were makeup marks on the pillow and hairs in the bed! I will never stay in this hotel again! There are lots of nicer places closer to town.

      Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
      1  Thank bonvoyagedublin
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

      Thank you for your comments. As I am unable to ascertain how you booked I cannot follow up on the number of breakfasts included in your booking. I have checked all the sites that we advertise on and all clearly state the Bed and Breakfast package is for 2 breakfasts only. There is a charge for a 3rd person in a room of $35 but this covers room only. Full buffet breakfast is charged at $22 and it appears you have been given a discounted rate on this.

      Housekeeping have been spoken to regarding checking all beds in a room whether they appear to have been used or not. On occasions we get guests booking for two people and then having extra people stay and re-making the bed to avoid the extra person charge. Not checking every bed is an oversight by our housekeeping staff and not acceptable. my sincere apologies for this and I regret this spoilt your stay with us.

      Kind Regards

      Murray Cook

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed June 2, 2012

      Stayed here because of others reviews and a good deal but very disappointed in the dated rooms. On the bright side the staff were fantastic - just sad about the facilities. The TV's were old CRT 25" and the reception on the limited Sky channels wasn't the best. We changed rooms but this did not help. As we don't have Sky at home wanted this feature to add to our two day break from home. The next morning decided to change hotels.
      The rooms were clean but it would have been good to have two pillows as the one supplied was very large (high) and I ended up not using it. No soap holder in shower either. Its the little things that make us happy.
      Just to reiterate the staff here are very helpful and pleasant - all credit to them!

      • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank TrishdNZ
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

      Thank you for your comments and it was pleasing to note your comments regarding the staff. Yes the TV's are in need of replacement and are being replaced as they fail. Unfortunately to replace all 147 rooms at one time is not a current option with a large amount of capital expenditure spent on new carpeting, chairs, curtains etc recently.

      Kind Regards


      Murray Cook

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed May 20, 2012

      I got a really good on line rate to spend the weekend with my kids in Hamilton, so I was already feeling good about this hotel.Also, after I booked I e-mailed them directly to ask if the room would accomodate myself & 2 children & they were very helpful, saying they had rooms that would sllep 3 so would put us in one.
      The room we had was huge and very clean and quiet.Plenty of space for the teenagers to spread out.
      The bathroom was very clean too, and the toiletries provided were above the normal hotel standard.
      The kids loved the pool, the spa and the gym and made good use of them.
      I went for a cooked breakfast one morning & it was really nice-a good selection of food and juices,
      I definitely recommend this hotel and will try & book here as my 1st choice from now on- it comes down to price and value for money for me & this hotel definitely has that.

      • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank teelee
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed April 29, 2012

      Arrived at the hotel just after 2pm, booked in with the front desk staff, awesome service. Stunned at the room(double bed room with amazing Super King bed) we were allocated.Spa bath in a massive bathroom with full shower, cabinet and hand basin services, beautiful white robes, full replete mini bar and snacks.Television in both the "lounge" and the bedroom. Bed so big you needed a street map to find your way from one side to the other.
      Most comfortable Hotel bed we've slept in, ever, rooms quiet, clean and pleasant to be in.
      Breakfast was another great experience, the kitchen and restaurant staff were courteous and friendly while doing a great job of making sure we knew where to find our preferred eats.
      Overall we were magnificently looked after and treated with utmost courtesy and respect by all Hotel staff.
      We will be back and I'm sure that the staff and the Hotel will not have lost their edge.
      Well done the Kingsgate.
      Would not hesitate to recommend the Kingsgate to anyone, go there and be treated as guests should be.
      10/10

      Unique Qualities: Super quiet rooms, no road or other noise all night, pleasant rooms and grounds, ample car parking, impressive restaurants and bar, indoor swimming pool, spa, gym, the works and all included in your room price.

      Address: 100 Garnett Avenue, Hamilton, North Island, New Zealand
      Comparison: about average
      Directions: Closest Hotel to the Te Rapa Horse racing Track in Hamilton.
      Phone: +64 7 849 0860
      Price: US$40-80
      Theme: Hotel
      Website: http://www.millenniumhotels.co.nz/kingsgatehamilton/index.html

      Read more: http://members.virtualtourist.com/m/p/m/21f5b5/#ixzz1tUVuw2N2

      • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Mark C
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

      Thank you for taking the time to pass on your kind comments. Yes our suites are large and very comfortable and the only problem we have with them is not having more of them.

      We look forward to seeing you at the Hotel again in the future.

      Kind Regards

      Murray Cook

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed April 18, 2012

      Kingsgate is priced exactly right for what it is. Rooms could do with a bit more of a thorough clean but bathrooms spotless and the suite is huge and fantastic value. Would stay here again if you want reasonably priced accommodation that doesn't claim to be anything else than exactly what it is. Lovely & quiet. Fantastic Breakfasts!

      • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank BooandGinger
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

      Thank you for your comments regarding the Hotel, it is always pleasing to receive balanced and constructive comments. As mentioned in a previous reply we are still waiting on the new chairs for the restaurant which are due to land this week, this will give an added lift to our breakfast restaurant. The headboard material has arrived and currently being put into the rooms. Planned painting/wallpapering of the rooms are next on the list and as you will appreciate the maintenance and upkeep of the hotel is an ongoing operation.

      Thank you again for the comments and taking the time to make your feelings known.

      Kind Regards


      Murray Cook

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      View more reviews