We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Restaurant..”
Review of Silk - CLOSED

Silk
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurant..”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Beautiful atmosphere & decor, food fantastically cooked and attentive waiting staff..
A very well priced restaurant in the centre of town with a variety of asian food. The Banana Prawns are to die for but expect to get food on your fingers but they give you hand wipes so no big deal.

The only two things that let this restaurant down is the desserts (Very common in asian based restaurants) and the meal garnishing/presentation could be better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snmp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Asian Fusion in town”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have twice visited this restaurant this month. Once on a mid week evening with a group of business friends and once on a Saturday lunch time with a group of girlfriends. Two very different groups with different requirements and food tastes. On both occasions the service was excellent. The management accommodated the needs of our business group very well and the girlfriends groups was attended to equally well. Also on both occasions the food was fantastic. The garlic prawns were beautifully prepared and although a little messy to peel, well worth the effort. The calamari was cooked just right, still delicate and not overdone or chewy. I can't say that the Asian Fusion food would be to everyone's taste, but I would be highly surprised if most of you couldn't find something to enjoy on the short but inspiring menu. If there are two or more of you - Try the taster platter - wonderful! Oh, and the $10 lunch specials and discounts with your premier rewards card is well worth having too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwicowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Looks lovely”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked here for dinner based on looks, very lovely looking restaurant. Staff are great and very professional. Food tasted good but ended up spending the amount of time it took my bf to eat the main for me to unshell the whole prawns in my meal. Was very messy, sticky and oily which did ruin our night. Seating was far too close for my liking the couple sitting next to us were within an arms reach. Other then that was a nice restaurant would definitely choose something other then prawns next time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best asian cuisine in town so far”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The menu appeared somewhat limited but the quality and speed of which the food came out was recommendable.
Drinks/beverage selection is impressive and very resonably priced.
This establishment is actively proactive in host responsiblity and is commended.
Admittedly it was a thursday night, but there was a reasonable crowd and as a walk in casual diner, service was prompt and attentive,....yet not intrusive.
Get discount if produce "premier rewards" card but it is well worth the money regardless.
Can't wait to return and will do so sooner rather than later.
Solid 8.5 out of 10

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rickoshay67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silk also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing