We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Talk about an over-sell”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of VR Hamilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VR Hamilton Hotel
Ranked #49 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Talk about an over-sell”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The promo for our $985 rack rate room sounded just the ticket for a long awaited romantic weekend away. What we to was a hotel 50yrs past its use by date, our room smelling like someone died there last month, steel (yes not aluminium) windows that were in such a bad state of repair you couldn't open them, nor could you open the steel French doors to access the patio. This was not necessarily a bad thing as straight across Collingwood St is the Oasis Night Club!! There was mould & holes in the massive curtains, the carpet was worn and the wallpaper not faring much better. The car park was down a scary back alley, so tight I had to do a 3point turn to get & out and the building reminded me of a stables at the turn of the century (last century that is)!
But there is always a bright side, the staff were brilliant. But that's it.
My only advice - Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Don't bother. Don't even think about it. The best you can hoe for is they pull the buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryandJill1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    65
    86
    55
    83
See reviews for
49
145
27
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

A colleague and I stayed for two nights for a work course. The hotel is in an old historic building, but sadly it hasn't been maintained. The furniture was old, the decor badly put together, and in desperate need of a coat of paint. The most irritating point for me was the noise - it was really noisy on both nights from the traffic (being on the main road) and bars and restaurants below (it's in an area of strip of restaurants/bars)

The beds were comfortable enough and the location fantastic - very central, lots of restaurants outside. However, overall the noise factor was a major detraction for me.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Collingwood Street would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonmin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Olde World Charm but not enough attention to detail.
Really lovely olde world hotel and the staff were charming - but nothing prepares you for the street noise.
Boy racers yelling and revving their engines right under the windows.
To be fair when I rang I was moved immediately but I am sure they know there is an issue because the girl said they were going to double glaze the windows - so I have to wonder why they don't just fill the back rooms first.
My first room had ripped net curtains such a shame when so much of the other detail was great.
But the fact is that if you cant sleep - then you just don't enjoy your stay !
Hamilton cannot be so busy midweek that they can put customers off.
Food - The complimentary breakfast was good. I ate Dinner from the Italian restaurant that you can charge back for room service the steak was too tough to cut let alone eat and I found out the next day that they only discounted the $49 meal by $9 when I had been unable to eat most of it ! I definitely would not order from there again.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 360MaryP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I recently stayed for 3 nights and could not believe the size of the rooms. Massive. Yes there is room for improvement but from what I understand the place has been taken over and is due for a makeover. My net curtains were not good and replacing them would make a huge difference to first impressions of the room. It was noisy but they supplied ear plugs. The bed was very comfortable. I would love to visit again when it has been upgraded as it had a wonderful atmosphere. When it is upgraded I hope they keep the old world charm about it as it it lovely. Great staff - very friendly as nothing to much bother for them. Thanks for a great stay. Would definetely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eltekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel is in a great location with friendly staff. It's in town and near lots of lovely bars and restaurants. The breakfast was basic but good enough for what we paid.

We had a huge room but it was at the front and came with ear plugs! It was very noisy on the Friday night. The bathroom was clean and had both a bath and shower. We would stay again, but request a room at the back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonCityOaks, Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. We appreciate your feedback, it will assist us in improving our services for future guests. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Steve Penrose Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tauranga
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Old style charm.
Amazing location.
Period features and styling
Amazing room spaces.
A place you want to be grand, like the old name.
A hotel with indeed a difference...all get a great tick....

But, it needs someone who notices things..you simply cannot Give yourself a pile of stars, up prices and not make changes to match.

Ripped bedding, torn net curtains, mould in showers, bare hall carpet, and yes the ear plugs made avail for all guests which you NEED, due to street noise, (no other CBD hotel requires or offers them)....these things do not go with those stars or that price.
Oh for a do up, so it can be what it should be...

Four central city hotels in Hamilton have now meant this hotel with a wonderful point of difference is falling behind, rather than being a destination of choice.

PS car parking is for the skilled and brave, but it's free!

Room Tip: Perhaps enquire about what rooms are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonCityOaks, Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address. Take care and I hope you choose us next time when you are in Hamilton.

Warm Regards,

Steve Penrose Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed here for a week, yes it is a little tired, and yes it can have very noisy rooms however- if you want great service, the reception staff are really awesome and seriously have a good long career in hospitality. A very central place- with restaurants in walking distance, great meals at MEXICO and Iguana two minutes away. The bed was really comfy. The place is interesting and from a by gone year- however it really has quite a lot of charm. Breakfast is tasty and simple- but good value and the guy serving the breakfast is very polite.

Room Tip: Definetly get a room away from the street,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loulou0833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonCityOaks, Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your praise of our staff members. All our team actively read Trip Advisor and Guest Feedback and it is much appreciated that you have taken the time to write good things. Feedback really is a great driver in ensuring we as a property can keep striving to the high standards we have.
We hope to see you back in the near future, thank you for your support.

Warm Regards,

Steve Penrose Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#10 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#18 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#8 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Hamilton
Sudima Hotel Hamilton
#44 of 62 in Hamilton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Hamilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Hamilton Hotel

Property: VR Hamilton Hotel
Address: 237 Victoria Street | Corner Victoria & Collingwood Sts, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand (Formerly Hamilton City Oaks)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — VR Hamilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VR Hamilton Hotel is located within a stunning heritage listed building in the heart of the Hamilton city. With its beautiful surroundings, VR Hamilton Hotel continues to impress and satisfy its guests through providing the warmth and genuine hospitality that has become the hallmark of the Hotel. A versatile set of function rooms, comfortable and high quality accommodation, combined with our attentive and friendly team makes VR Hamilton Hotel a great venue for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your VR Hamilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing