We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eagles Nest Backpackers
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We arrived in the evening and had to wait in the lounge for our room to be 'made up'. The guy seemed surprised by our arrival even though we had booked in advance. When we got to the room it had not been cleaned and seemed like it had been thrown together. We asked for the bed to be remade and to his credit, he did this straight away for us.

We booked a double with a shared bathroom but ended up with an ensuite and a large tv. This would have been great, but the bathroom hadn't been cleaned. The room overlooked a back alleyway which seemed to be the smoking area, so it drifted up through the window.

On the plus side, there was free wifi which was very fast. This is pretty unusual for NZ accommodation so we really appreciated that. The kitchen and communal areas were clean and welcoming. The location is about a 10 minute walk from the main part of town and just round the corner from large supermarket and fast food restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKearwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
9
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Eagle's Nest is not the nicest hostel I've ever stayed in, but it is FAR from the worst. There's a full kitchen, great WIFI, interesting people, and clean bathrooms and beds. If you're looking for a hip, downtown/clubbing area, you're not going to find that here (I wasn't... and I am not even sure that exists in Hamilton, haha).

Anyways, stay here if you're in Hamilton!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmanG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Upon arriving in Hamilton we found that the place that we were looking at staying at was fully booked. I spotted this one on the side of the road and we decided to stay there. Good price, friendly staff, pretty nice living area, clean bathrooms. I liked the room that we had, the bed was comfy, it had a TV which was nice.
The things that annoyed me a bit were that we were right next to the communal showers and the laundry so we got a bit of noise late at night. A good thing would be to have a time when the laundry closes so guests don't do midnight loads. The room only had a skylight and the main light flickered a lot, the lack of a window meant it got quite toasty with two of us in the room.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had room No. 6 try not to get that room owing to the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed for one night in a double room, got upgraded to a double ensuite which had its own flat screen TV, fridge and kettle!
Pros - Good size room, good shower, not far from the bus station, quiet, great in-room facilities, free tea and coffee, free wifi
Cons - Kitchen bit dirty, lounge area not very inviting, staff not really around much

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyandDanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you happen to be in Hamilton, this is a wonderful little backpackers spot. Considering its probably one of the cheaper spots to stay the night - it's clean, tidy with a friendly, reliable staff who are always happy to help.

We had room #1 which was not very good, no windows, slight smell of burning from the burned out wiring. But the other rooms looked quite good. The living area is nice and big, and the kitchen is well maintained.

Easy to get to local restaurants and bars, and just a short walk from the bus stop.

Room Tip: Try and avoid Room #1 - no windows, bit musty
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AspiringVagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here feb 2013 great hostel the girl in reception is lovely and very helpful. Kitchen facilities were good and all rooms had air con which was nice. 10 min walk to the shops free wifi. Good cheap accomodation

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicjenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My bus arrived in late night. The hostel is just about 10 mins walk from bus stop, so it's really convenient. The whole place is newly furnitured, new mattress and new sheets. And the room is big, very comfortable!!

Room Tip: prefer small hostels
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.4 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#8 of 63 in Hamilton
935 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park View Motor Lodge
Park View Motor Lodge
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.3 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#7 of 63 in Hamilton
146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagles Nest Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagles Nest Backpackers

Property: Eagles Nest Backpackers
Address: 937 Victoria Street, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Eagles Nest Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Eagles Nest Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing