We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with no spa - romantic to basic in one visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton
Ranked #52 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room with no spa - romantic to basic in one visit”
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Queen room with spa booked on cheap accommodation site and confirmed by Alcamo via a phone call from us. Later phoned us to advise they had no accommodation for us - V8 Supercar weekend. On the strength of the booking we had paid out over $400 in tickets for the racing. Stated we were most unhappy about this and they rang to advise they could accommodate us. Arrived at Alcamo do discover we had been given the el-cheapo version- the spa was there alright- behind a locked door we were not able to open!! The kitchen was there complete with filthy mugs and glasses. A disconnected telephone - plug did not fit the wall socket - and a 14" old TV completed the picture. Air conditioning/heater blew onto one side of the bed, making it unbearable to use during the night. The manager seemed to have the opinion that they had done us a favour giving us anything at all and pointed out that we were "paying much less than anyone else" that weekend. Just as well, we would not wanted to have paid any more.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanahuck2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    6
    8
    30
See reviews for
13
18
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
2 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Travelling to Auckland as one does, we stopped off at this Hotel on the way. On the main hotel road, saw the Alcamo sign stand out. As we had been to this location in Italy we thought we would give it a try!

We were given a room at the back by the pool with a balcony. Very useful as summer temperatures were rising! Nice glass of wine or two to wind down

The Spa was fantastic-in many hotels I have not seen even a bath. Pictures nice and lots of Sport on the Television. The other half wanted hot choc. And she was rewarded

Liked the radio by the bed two. Slept well. Nice landscaping, the place had a Spanish Med theme to it


Good steak and fish while watching some sport with a tipple first

And well done to reception too..showed us eveywhere we wanted to go. Museum etc. Nice folks

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brocktapestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2009

Arrived to find a very clean room and very helpful staff. Spa fantastic, very nice to wind down after travels

Seems to be upgrades going on and planned

Restaurant meals good too-nice steak

Very well looked after and stayed several times, will use the Alcamo when I'm next back in Hamilton

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2009

My partner & I booked thru 'Wotif' so we got a good price.
THEN we checked "Alcamo Hotel" on the net & found this site. I went over the previous reviews and freaked. We expected the worse.
On arrival, we went over our room with a fine tooth comb to see if we could find anything that would deem it necessary for us to move to different accommodation.
Apart from excessive dust on an air-vent in the bathroom and cobwebs in the fire-escape (big deal considering), it was fine. We had a good sized room away from the road with a large in-room spa ... All clean & tidy.
We seemed to be about the only people staying there and it's a big place so I wouldn't like to be the poor cow responsible for keeping the place up to scratch.
Anyhow, our one night stay - although nothing to write home about - was good value for money and the manager and reception girl were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozjohno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2009

looks can be deceiving, on arrival we were pointed to our room and although the hotel seemed to have alot of vacancies we were given the closest room to the busy road but it was 8.pm so took the room.
the room had only obvious signs of cleaning in bathroom and kitchen but cobwebs and dust were left untouched in lounge room. 2 microwaves in kitchen but neither worked
we could not contact office but a employee from kitchen as we needed to use the microwave.which he did willingly
when we pulled bedding down we shocked to find that the sheets had not been changed the sheets had many pubic hairs on and were very soiled.
it was about 11pm we had some difficulty in contacting reception finally he came
and was not even that concerned he came to look and then casually gave us a key to the next room which had a stuffy smell about it.
this is disgusting and unaceptable in a hotel of any rating.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmleo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2009

We stayed one night. We knew it wasnt going to be the flashest place ever, but decided on it as we were only staying one night. Got to the Hotel, no teaspoons to make yourself a cupa (which the have sachets for), no cuttlery what so ever. We we rung the Manager of this Hotel to ask him if we we could have some, he simply said "No we dont have any". That would have been fine if the "resturaunt" was open. We arrived at 7.00 pm on a saturday night and the resturant was closed!! Spa bath was more like a bath. The jets didnt work and the plug had a hole in it (had to use a towel to plug it!!!). Holes in the walls. The bathroom was constantly dripping with water. Basically the Manager didnt seem to enjoy his busines at all, we rung him to ask a few questions about the phone etc, he was extremly rude to both of us and didnt have any customer service whats so ever. He was a drag to deal with and we were unsure as to ask anything else as we already knew what his response would be and that he didnt care. I would not recommend this Hotel for anyone. Not unless you like rude, carless, negative managers and rooms that dont function or look like they do in the photos.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealistNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tauranga
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2008

A friend and I decided to spend a night out in hamilton and thought we would pay extra to get a luxury room and breakfast deal. Firstly the service was unfriendly, secondly the rooms was awful, very dirty and unclean, not luxury at all, and for the price was shocking. To top things off, we did not receive our breakfasts in the morning or the paper as promised. All they did when we complained was give us the cost of the breakfast a measly $15 back an not much of an apology. WORST HOTEL EVER.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rachygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.0 mi away
Asure Barclay Motel
Asure Barclay Motel
#29 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auto Lodge Motel
Auto Lodge Motel
#22 of 62 in Hamilton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.9 mi away
Boundary Court Motor Inn
Boundary Court Motor Inn
#21 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
1.4 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#17 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton

Property: Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton
Address: 290 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ai piedi del Monte Bonifato, immersi nella natura a 3km dalla città, unico B&B con possibilità di pagare le ore effettive di pernottamento, servizi disponibili come il trasfert aeroportuale da e per PA/TP, escursioni Isole Egadi, Terme Segestane e tanto altro, possibilità di pensione completa. Tutte le camere con bagno interno, parcheggio custodito privato. Area meeting e conferenze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcamo Hotel Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing