We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel but beware parking rates”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Ranked #7 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Great hotel but beware parking rates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

The hotel is spacious, the staff friendly the facilities are good. However, beware of parking charges. There is a lack of parking in the hotel premises so you are requested to park next to the river or SkyCity and the charges are NZD10 per day. Valet parking is NZD15 per day.

When I booked I did not see any reference to the parking and also did not think of checking it out.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    490
    149
    34
    13
See reviews for
229
407
67
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Robina, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

Other than a bit of street noise at night, I couldn't fault this hotel. It was lovely, (mostly) quiet, very clean, the rooms were great, foyer/bar/restaurant modern. Great place to stay in Hamilton, NZ.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tootsie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

We thouroughly enjoyed our one-night stay at the Novotel Hamilton. The only problem was a bunch of people, who had obviously sneaked in through a back door and spend the entire evening until late at night, drinking, smoking, talking and laughing very loud on the "roof top" above the entrance hall. Being on the second floor, despite double (or triple?) glazing, we heard them and couldn't sleep.... Moreover, so many cars were parked in the driveway that we couldn't even drive through in order to check-in and drop our luggage. But we got a really good deal on the Internet so we can't really complain !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Varanasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

The heading says it all. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. They say its a 4 star hotel, but you only experience that in the price. The hotel is conveniently situated, which is why i chose it, but i am sure many in Hamilton are. In hindsight i would have investigated my options a little more. The rooms are dirty, and even if you choose a non-smoking room, the room and hallways still smell of smoke. You also need to cover any drains in the bathroom, by whatever means, to ensure the sewer smell is contained. The food, if you dare, is not great at all and often served cold. The reception staff are extremely arrogant, and treat the guests with utter distain... if i had no other hotel options other than this one, I’d rather use a tent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AfricanNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
675 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

The Novotel in Hamilton appears to be quite a new facility, centrally located and nicely appointed. It is a very typical Novotel experience and a good spot to stay (next t the Casino if you like a flutter). Parking is available at only $NZ10 a night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozvpm_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

After looking at other reviews, we weren't expecting much, but as we were at a conference we had little choice in hotels, so we booked here. Yes, the rooms are small, yes the beds were not great - old and lumpy, yes the bathroom was not clean and yes it's gross - the bath had pubic hairs in it. The decor was every style and colour you could imagine. I over heard some staff saying that the hotel was in desperate need of the rooms being updated - well they're not wrong. Only parking is hideously expensive and not exactly close. Had to carry bags up and down outside stairs and through the restaurant area. Apart from that, very nice location next to the river, some of the restaurant area was nicely decorated. However all in all, this place has a long way to go to get up to scratch.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

lovely rooms, nice amenities, very courteous staff. Valet parking offered immediately and they brought the car out ready for us at 8am with no delays. Had a drink the the bar that everning, friendly staff, nice atmosphere. Overall a very pleasant hotel to stay in for business, nothing too much trouble for the staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmbeeWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#8 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#10 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.8 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Hamilton Tainui

Property: Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Address: 7 Alma Street | PO Box 1, Hamilton 2001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#4 Family Hotel in Hamilton
#4 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Hamilton Tainui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Tainui is in the heart of the city, on the banks of the Waikato River, adjacent to the Skycity Casino and entertainment complex. The hotel features 177 rooms, an award winning restaurant, lobby bar and a health club, with gym, sauna, spa and beauty therapies available. Conference facilities are available for up to 350 delegates. Guests have easy access to nearby shopping, dining and entertainment, or relaxing river walks that can be found close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui
Hamilton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing