We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinner, comfortable bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Room clean; check in and out efficient; dinner and breakfast better than good; bed comfortable. had to have the air con on to cool the room; TV remote tricky to get to work so 2 replacements. Staff willing and cheerful. More expensive than other hotels of similar standard

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Janice. Thank you so much for your comments in regards to your stay with us. Really appreciate your feedback which I will share with my managers. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

506 - 512 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

Not a great start. Booking 2 months prior to stay I requested a suite with adjoining room so my family could join me and was told this configuration didn't exist. On arrival I thought I'd check this again, and one front desk agent said "no" but was quickly corrected by another who told me that there was such a configuration but it was of course now booked out.
That said, the staff responded admirably and gave me free valet parking. In fact the staff here were all great, very friendly and obliging. The hotel is also great for traveling with kids, with free breakfast, a play area in the restaurant, activity packs etc.
Unfortunately the air con in my room made a terrible rattling sound which meant I couldn't use it at night and the room became very stuffy. Each morning I reported the fault, each afternoon I was told it was fixed and each night it rattled again. Combined with a "standard room" that felt small, I didn't sleep well here.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the river and get a superior room if possible for the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BozD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Guest. Thank you so much for providing us with feedback on your stay. Really great to read your comments in regards to our kids program; we are glad that it worked. As far as the interconnecting room to a suite; there are actually only two rooms in the hotel who do interconnect and I guess they were booked on the day of your arrival. Sorry about the maintenance isses; please let us know your room number where you stayed and we can fix these. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

If you can afford the price the top rooms are superb. Very roomy, super comfy, great sleep and very very high tech. Why do these hotels charge for parking, internet and films? I am here because they upgraded me from the brother Ibis. Well done on the service, but such a low base to start from.

I am on a crusade here. Ten years ago NZ hotels were wonderful welcoming places, but these multinational chains don't cut the mustard. Stay away and support the great local hospitality. Stay a few km away, pay less dollars and enjoy the warmth of a great Kiwi motel.

Room Tip: They respond to grumbles, so book low price and ask for an upgrade. Riverside is nice,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilMarshall2267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Neil. Thank you very much for your comments in regards to your stay with us. I really appreciate your feedback and I can assure you that we are working constantly on meeting the market demands. With our newly introduced service training, we certainly want to be as welcoming as any of my collegaes. Hope to welcome you back to us. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My car was hit while in one of hotel carpark spaces and the immediate reaction was 'we are not liable'. After my four requests and one from my insurance company hotel reviewed CCTV footage and 'couldn't see much'. I would also be concerned about personal security given the close proximity to the riverside walkway which is frequented by some dubious individuals.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank loulou10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Guest. Thanks very much for providing us with feedback in regards to your stay with us, I will look into the accident you had with self parking, as it depends where around the hotel you have parked. Let me assure you that we have a thight security system and will do our utmost to guarantee an enjoyable stay for our guests. With kind regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Great location. Got a room on wotif and got good rate, so expected a room near the back but had one on river front. Snuggly bed, room nice and clean but room could have been vacuumed bit better round the edges, but otherwise nice and comfy and all I needed. Staff helpful. Enjoyed my stay, would definitely stay here again if wotif rate

Room Tip: Overlooking river, was nice and bright and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Guest. Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with some feedback on your recent stay with us. Look forward welcoming you back. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Much improved since my last stay, room clean and comfortable, pod coffee maker in room, good service. Towels could have been improved (quite worn) but other than that good quality accommodation in central Hamilton.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Andrew. Really appreciate your comments in regards to your stay with us. Glad to read that you have enjoyed it, particular in regards to your comments about improvements compared to your last stay. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Tokoroa, New Zealand
Reviewed June 4, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
970 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Hamilton Tainui

Address: 7 Alma Street | PO Box 1, Hamilton 2001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hamilton
#3 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#4 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range: $114 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Hamilton Tainui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Tainui is in the heart of the city, on the banks of the Waikato River, adjacent to the Skycity Casino and entertainment complex. The hotel features 177 rooms, an award winning restaurant, lobby bar and a health club, with gym, sauna, spa and beauty therapies available. Conference facilities are available for up to 350 delegates. Guests have easy access to nearby shopping, dining and entertainment, or relaxing river walks that can be found close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui
Hamilton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing