We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, modern, expensive internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed at Novotel Hamilton last night. Have stayed there several times over the past few years - probably the nicest large hotel in Hamilton, in my opinion. Last night was as good as always. Rooms are fresh and clean and modern. Comfy beds, great location ( walking distance to loads of cool bars, cafes and restaurants). Pillow menu is fun. Valet parking is $20, or $15 to drive round yourself. I thought internet access was pretty pricey ($15 for 2 hours), but needed it for work, so did it anyway. Didn't eat at the hotel at all.
Bathroom is small but fine. Lots of space for putting out cosmetics, etc. I think most rooms have shower over bath. Limited cosmetics supplied - just soap, shampoo and body wash.
I booked via Wotif and got a decent rate. Called the hotel to see if I could get as good rate via my Accor members card - was more expensive and Accor booking was unwilling to match Wotif (?) so in end just booked via Wotif. I thought this was strage as most hotels prefer direct booking. Anyway, maybe that was why I had to pay for internet and parking, etc.
Would stay again and would check prices and whether parking/internet included in rate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi&yank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Guest. Thank you very mcuh for reviewing your stay with us. You are absolutely right that we should have rate parity and I will talk to my reservations team, why this was not presented to you as well. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are working on an internet solution for our guests and have hopefully sorted this soon. With kind regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank TrishP3013
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank a_j_race
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank fatcat31
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My stay this time was excellent compared with my last stay. Staff are very effecient and friendly. The only concern was the price of the breakfsats I found it more cost effectiveto eat somewhere else . This is a pity .
Could you let me know what type of mattress and pillows are used ( supplier) , I slept very well and would like to see if I could get something similiar for home .
Thnak you

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank JimBaird_0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Mr. Baird. Thank you very much for your comments in regards to your stay with us. Really appreciate it and glad to read that you have enjoyed it. I am very sorry about the breakfast comments. The mattress that we have in the hotel are specially designed by Dunlop and are not on the market as such. I have tried in the past to purchase one for a guest, but was not able to do so. My apologies. With kind regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 10810Kitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here overnight and were greeted with lovely reception staff! Very professional and friendly. The rooms were small but very clean and tidy. The hotel is well situated by eateries etc but to find a good quality restaurant is a longer walk. No problem though. Though that's where it ends! The restaurant/bar staff are by far the worst in hospitality! you will get better service at a mcdonalds. We went downstairs to have dessert at the restaurant after having dinner and drinks elsewhere. We walked in to find the place empty and the staff behind the counter gossiping and watching us. I had to take it upon myself to ask where we can be seated and then waited five min to be greeted before I had to take it upon my self to get up and ask for a menu! It doesn't end there! We then had to call for a waitress to take our order! Then come breakfast next morning, I let the waitress know that I had prepaid for buffet breakfast. She said she couldn't find my name and so i made sure to pull out my confirmation email to show her of my payment. But she was not interested in seeing it and told me to put it away she didnt need to see it and instead told us to go eat. Come to check out in the morning and she had tried to charge me for the breakfast again! Luckily the reception staff, again, were lovely and more accommodating of seeing my proof of purchase! Moreover, the duvet in the room? Not a duvet! Just an inner wrapped in a big sheet! I was disgusted especially considering the inner probably isn't cleaned and I was forced to sleep with it! I am glad we only stayed one night and wouldn't recommend this place for the amount it's gonna cost you! For that price I was expecting much more and was disappointed! My fault I suppose for going for a large company who don't care for their customers. Go somewhere else is my advice

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Csjc06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Guest. Thanks you so much for informing us about your stay with us and the service you received in our restaurant and rooms. Your comments in regards to the service standards of the restaurant have been used in a staff training and we will do our utmost to try to prevent this from happening again. I will also have a look at the duvets in our rooms. When we conducted our renovation in 2010 and 2011, we replaced all the duvets, which I will recheck whether all rooms are up to standard. I really appreciate your comments and am very sorry that we were not able to deliver on our services. With kind regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager, Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#10 of 63 in Hamilton
969 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Hamilton Tainui

Address: 7 Alma Street | PO Box 1, Hamilton 2001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#4 Family Hotel in Hamilton
#4 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range: $115 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Hamilton Tainui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Tainui is in the heart of the city, on the banks of the Waikato River, adjacent to the Skycity Casino and entertainment complex. The hotel features 177 rooms, an award winning restaurant, lobby bar and a health club, with gym, sauna, spa and beauty therapies available. Conference facilities are available for up to 350 delegates. Guests have easy access to nearby shopping, dining and entertainment, or relaxing river walks that can be found close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui
Hamilton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing