We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NZ Holiday with wife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    501
    149
    34
    13
See reviews for
233
411
69
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times now for business trips and have been very impressed.

The hotel itself is very modern, clean and quiet. Location is perfect, right in the CBD, close to many restaurants, casino, shops. Also situated on the river which has some lovely walking paths. Rooms are spacious, tidy and very clean, I also appreciate the quality toiletries supplied in room, and the pillow menu!

Since my last visit they have installed Nespresso coffee machines, which make delicious coffee, although as other reviewers have mentioned they are in the process of replacing the fridges so the UHT milk detracts somewhat from the coffee flavour. They have also recently installed iPhone/iPod docks, which I love because I always seem to be losing iPhone chargers in hotels, and I like to be able to play music from my phone in my room.

Lounge area is lovely and I did appreciate the free wifi, but the data limit meant that I only got the free wifi for long enough to load my emails, and not enough to respond to any! It should be noted that the town of Hamilton CBD has free-wifi, as does the closeby casino, but this isn't necessarily a convenience if you like to work in your room or hotel at night.

A final point is that I feel the $15 price tag per day for self-parking (not even undercover!) is a little bit steep, given this isn't exactly a busy metropolitan city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a2timesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you so much for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. Glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay but made a comment about the parking charges. Given the limited amount of carparking in the city, we unfortunately have to charge a small amount of parking. Hope you had a good trip back home. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager, Novotel Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This Novotel is similar to others in room set-up and such; that is to say that it is a fine quality hotel with comfortable sized rooms. This was our base for our visit to Hobbiton. The hotel is right in the downtown so since everyone wanted something different to eat, everyone was happy. Nearby is a casino, bowling alley and arcade.
The bar has great beer selection and many seats and lounge space.
The only negative is that wifi is only free in the lobby for 30 minutes or a small mb usage (which means you won't make it close to 30 minutes). This is a Novotel policy and not a fault of this hotel; maybe Novotel will remedy this for their chains. You can use a computer in the lobby for free but this defeats the purpose of privately checking your email and such.
Would also have liked a fridge in the room but as this was a 2 night stay it was not a huge burden.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmichaeln1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest. Really appreciate your comments in regards to your stay with us. Sorry about the fact that we had to remove all minibars from our rooms; we had a technical problem with some of them and decided to replace them all. This will soon be rectified. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were very surprised about the stay as we have stayed at this hotel before and thought that it was getting tired. We enjoyed everything on this stay. Twin room very good and food was great. Location perfect for going to show at local venue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRK042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for informing us about your recent stay with us. Although we only completed the total renovation of the hotel in 2010 and 2011, the hotel still looks like very new. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager, Novotel Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Big mistake! based my booking on old reviews! Reception unwelcoming-just looking at arriving guests, no offer of help with luggages, no words of welcome,they don't even smile-racist?? They only offered a 'smile' after we greeted them! Isn't it supposed to be the other way around? We're a family if 4, they 'upgraded' us to a room with one bed, how [--]! Is that. We had to request for another room. Room is small, carpet filthy-dirty with dark stains! No fridge! No one answers housekeeping- u have to go thru reception. They could have just told us if u need something just ring reception!! Our room was't vacuumed until after 4 days!!-even if u put out sign to clean room! Everything u hav to tell mgr if u wNt action!
Other family members (4) also booked Novotel as per my suggestion (so sooorry!), kettle in one room is mouldy, all rooms no fridges!
Onlly plus- restaurant on Alma- breakfast staff very friendly& accommodating. Hotel in the CBD- but there r other hotels around! Just hope Sky City will build its own hotel(as supposed to be the usual).

7 days of torture!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suez33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest. Really appreciate your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. Let me assure you that your comments have been discussed with my department managers and we will do our utmost to improve the services within my hotel. Although we do not like to hear comments like yours, we also have to be aware that only with your comments we can improve our hotel. We hope we can improve quickly. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our room was really nice just what we wanted but there was no fridge and this was an inconvience to us as we always take a couple of bottles of wine and we couldnt chill it. Also my husband has a product that has to be kept in the fridge and we had to keep going to reception to get it from there fridge storage NOT good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djhowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay with us. I am very sorry that we do not have any minibars in the hotel at the moment; after a technical issue with some of the fridges, I decided to remove them all from the rooms and replace them with brand new ones. This has taken some time to get them. My apologies. With kind regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager, Novotel Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights for a convention. Have nothing but good things to say for this stay. We stayed in a Suite which is was clean and modern. Along with the nice comfy King Size bed there is a dining table and 2 couches that can be arranged to suit your familys needs. 2 TV which is great if you have kids and have excellent input fittings if you are bringing along a Laptop, Media player etc. A/C in rooms was a bonus with the extremely hot weather, we felt spoilt as our friends and family that were staying at other places in Hamilton were uncomfortable as they only had ceiling fans at their motel or apartment. Room service was also a bonus that you may not get at most other places in Hamilton. Room also has a nespresso machine as well as a bar fridge as the normal rooms do not.

Located right in the heart of the CBD makes most places accessible by foot. Quiet location as well had no problems with road noise or noise at all.

Service was excellent. Was quite surprising as Im sure the hotel was booked solid for the duration of the convention and there were no issues or lack of service! Rooms always cleaned to a high degree. Staff were friendly and attentive a nice touch were the kiddie bags that were made up and given to my kids at check-in. Were much appreciated and kept my kids amused for the duration of our stay. Valet parking was quickest I have experienced at any hotel I've stayed in.

Overall best option in Hamilton have stayed before and will continue to stay.

Room Tip: Get a Suite well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidSubritzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your comments in regards to your stay with us. Very happy to read all your feedback and the fact that you have enjoyed it so much. Look forward to welcome you back. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager, Novotel Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#10 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.8 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Hamilton Tainui

Property: Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Address: 7 Alma Street | PO Box 1, Hamilton 2001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#4 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#4 Family Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Hamilton Tainui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Tainui is in the heart of the city, on the banks of the Waikato River, adjacent to the Skycity Casino and entertainment complex. The hotel features 177 rooms, an award winning restaurant, lobby bar and a health club, with gym, sauna, spa and beauty therapies available. Conference facilities are available for up to 350 delegates. Guests have easy access to nearby shopping, dining and entertainment, or relaxing river walks that can be found close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui
Hamilton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing