We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were very surprised about the stay as we have stayed at this hotel before and thought that it was getting tired. We enjoyed everything on this stay. Twin room very good and food was great. Location perfect for going to show at local venue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRK042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for informing us about your recent stay with us. Although we only completed the total renovation of the hotel in 2010 and 2011, the hotel still looks like very new. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager, Novotel Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    504
    151
    34
    13
See reviews for
234
414
69
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Big mistake! based my booking on old reviews! Reception unwelcoming-just looking at arriving guests, no offer of help with luggages, no words of welcome,they don't even smile-racist?? They only offered a 'smile' after we greeted them! Isn't it supposed to be the other way around? We're a family if 4, they 'upgraded' us to a room with one bed, how [--]! Is that. We had to request for another room. Room is small, carpet filthy-dirty with dark stains! No fridge! No one answers housekeeping- u have to go thru reception. They could have just told us if u need something just ring reception!! Our room was't vacuumed until after 4 days!!-even if u put out sign to clean room! Everything u hav to tell mgr if u wNt action!
Other family members (4) also booked Novotel as per my suggestion (so sooorry!), kettle in one room is mouldy, all rooms no fridges!
Onlly plus- restaurant on Alma- breakfast staff very friendly& accommodating. Hotel in the CBD- but there r other hotels around! Just hope Sky City will build its own hotel(as supposed to be the usual).

7 days of torture!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suez33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest. Really appreciate your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. Let me assure you that your comments have been discussed with my department managers and we will do our utmost to improve the services within my hotel. Although we do not like to hear comments like yours, we also have to be aware that only with your comments we can improve our hotel. We hope we can improve quickly. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our room was really nice just what we wanted but there was no fridge and this was an inconvience to us as we always take a couple of bottles of wine and we couldnt chill it. Also my husband has a product that has to be kept in the fridge and we had to keep going to reception to get it from there fridge storage NOT good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djhowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay with us. I am very sorry that we do not have any minibars in the hotel at the moment; after a technical issue with some of the fridges, I decided to remove them all from the rooms and replace them with brand new ones. This has taken some time to get them. My apologies. With kind regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager, Novotel Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights for a convention. Have nothing but good things to say for this stay. We stayed in a Suite which is was clean and modern. Along with the nice comfy King Size bed there is a dining table and 2 couches that can be arranged to suit your familys needs. 2 TV which is great if you have kids and have excellent input fittings if you are bringing along a Laptop, Media player etc. A/C in rooms was a bonus with the extremely hot weather, we felt spoilt as our friends and family that were staying at other places in Hamilton were uncomfortable as they only had ceiling fans at their motel or apartment. Room service was also a bonus that you may not get at most other places in Hamilton. Room also has a nespresso machine as well as a bar fridge as the normal rooms do not.

Located right in the heart of the CBD makes most places accessible by foot. Quiet location as well had no problems with road noise or noise at all.

Service was excellent. Was quite surprising as Im sure the hotel was booked solid for the duration of the convention and there were no issues or lack of service! Rooms always cleaned to a high degree. Staff were friendly and attentive a nice touch were the kiddie bags that were made up and given to my kids at check-in. Were much appreciated and kept my kids amused for the duration of our stay. Valet parking was quickest I have experienced at any hotel I've stayed in.

Overall best option in Hamilton have stayed before and will continue to stay.

Room Tip: Get a Suite well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidSubritzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your comments in regards to your stay with us. Very happy to read all your feedback and the fact that you have enjoyed it so much. Look forward to welcome you back. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager, Novotel Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for a week, and we loved it. The location is excellent. Clean and beautiful rooms with nice closets, comfortable beds and excellent restaurant. The personnel are very courteous. The charges for WIFI in the room is a probably too high, but they provide free internet access in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Joseph. Thanks for taking the time to respond to your recent stay with us. Glad to read that you have enjoyed it. Hope you had a good trip back home. With kind regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager, Novotel Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I booked this hotel for my friends for 5 nights this January. After we came back from Queenstown on the 24th, my friends went to the hotel to check in without me being present. The lady at the front desk was impatient and rude, not welcoming at all. My friend spelled the surname 'wang' for her correctly but she just presumed it was 'wong'. Sfailed to find the booking. It was resolved after I talked to her. I could sense her impatience even over the phone. My friends were not very happy with her attitute. I felt so let down. The rest was good and lived up to my expectations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest. I really appreciate your comments in regards to the staff mistake upon check in. I will discuss this matter with my front office manager and ensure that more training is spend on this matter. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager, Novotel Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#8 of 63 in Hamilton
935 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Hamilton Tainui

Property: Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Address: 7 Alma Street | PO Box 1, Hamilton 2001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#4 Family Hotel in Hamilton
#4 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Hamilton Tainui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Tainui is in the heart of the city, on the banks of the Waikato River, adjacent to the Skycity Casino and entertainment complex. The hotel features 177 rooms, an award winning restaurant, lobby bar and a health club, with gym, sauna, spa and beauty therapies available. Conference facilities are available for up to 350 delegates. Guests have easy access to nearby shopping, dining and entertainment, or relaxing river walks that can be found close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui
Hamilton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing