We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restraunt , good facilities some disapointments.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Excellent restraunt , good facilities some disapointments.”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Probably a 4 Star Hotel. 61/2 / 10.
Good points
Nice rooms with good modern decor , good beds and passable pillows. Airconditioning (a rarety in NZ) , valet parking 24 hour room service and reception / checkin.
Excellent restraunt (including fill hot & cold buffett breakfast) but unfortunately no buffett dinner.
Gym , SPA and sauna. But no pool.
Let down by
Location , Hamiltion doen't have much to see or do and the hotel has no grounds , though there are parks on the river next to you. No pool.
No mini Bar infact they have even taken the fridge out of the couple of rooms we had.
Only 30 min of free wi-fi

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Paul, Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback that you provided. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager, Novotel Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    512
    153
    34
    15
See reviews for
238
417
70
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here New Years Eve and was looking forward to a nice night away from home. Of all nights that ALL the fridges in the hotel had to be away for repair/maintenance, this was not the night...as we had bought drinks and beers and could not keep them cold, and had to ask for a jug of milk to be sent up so we could make a cup of coffee... The receptionist did not seem to care that we could not keep milk cold..oh well, I guess could not be helped.

On another issue. While we have sympathy and compassion for kids with cancer (Cure Kids) and billboard style photos and the kid's stories displayed for guests to read...we found it a little disturbing to have this particular billboard on the wall in our room, at the foot of the bed of all places, at about 6 ft high and 2 ft wide. Could this not be on the desk in a placard fashion or even in the lift or corridor walls... Quite weird and frankly, we felt we were in a boardroom.

Won't be staying at Novotel Tainui again as a frosty and unprofessional receptionist who checked us in and out and the "Cure Kids" looking at me when I wake up in the morning !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Tiffany. Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay with us on New Years Eve. We are very sorry that we had to remove all minibars from the hotel, but there was a technical issue with them and for the safety of our guests, we have removed them all and ordered brand new ones. The poster in your room is only in two rooms in the hotel as they are Planet 21 rooms; these posters will be removed and placed on the corridor wall as per your suggestion. Thanks again for your feedback. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Nz
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel is pleasantly appointed and the staff are friendly and helpful, without being overwhelming.The rooms are scrupulously clean. The hotel is very close to the shops, museum, cafes and bars and Arts Post,(a particularly good source of quality art, locally made), but none of these intrude on the pleasantness of the hotel.Dinner was delicious and well presented, breakfast was adequate for our needs.Our friend enjoyed their first visit to the hotel and we all plan to return.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the Waikato River really adds to the pleasure of being in Hamilton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Pat. Really nice to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to welcome you back again in the near future. With kind regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager, Novotel Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

This Novotel seemed a bit more worn down and 'simple' as compared to other big city Novotels. Charged for parking...some nights could not find a spot so had to valet. Breakfast buffet was 'ok'. Could be higher quality eggs, pancakes, etc. good location in Hamilton. Staff very attentive to our numerous needs. Wish there were fridges in the rooms

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elect_nginear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us and let us know how you enjoyed it. We are very sorry about the absence of minibars at present. This will be rectified soon, as we had some problems with the previous model and decided to replace them all. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#10 of 63 in Hamilton
942 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Hamilton Tainui

Property: Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Address: 7 Alma Street | PO Box 1, Hamilton 2001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#4 Family Hotel in Hamilton
#4 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Hamilton Tainui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Tainui is in the heart of the city, on the banks of the Waikato River, adjacent to the Skycity Casino and entertainment complex. The hotel features 177 rooms, an award winning restaurant, lobby bar and a health club, with gym, sauna, spa and beauty therapies available. Conference facilities are available for up to 350 delegates. Guests have easy access to nearby shopping, dining and entertainment, or relaxing river walks that can be found close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui
Hamilton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing