We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty bathroom lets them down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed here a couple of times and it generally hasn't been too bad. However this time was awful - I was very disappointed to find quite a bit of someone else's body hair on the bathroom floor - GROSS! (see photo)

Unfortunately I was v tired and had just unpacked so couldn't be bothered trying to get a new room. The front desk at check-in forgot didn't mention whether I wanted a newspaper, although my colleague who was staying on the same night in the same class of room was offered one.

If they could get their cleaning sorted this hotel would actually be quite nice (the bed was clean and comfortable, though one of the pillowcases was ripped), but as things stand now they are not up to scratch.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahg747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2012

Dear Guest. Thanks for taking the time to inform us about your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to read that the cleaning of our bathrooms was not up to par. I sincerely apologize for that and will ensure that housekeeping is doing a better job. Hope this experience does not turn you away from returning to us. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager, Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

912 - 918 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2012

Very friendly and efficient staff. The service was good. Rooms were clean which was a plus point as there were kids staying and also the location made it more memorable. The kids enjoyed checking out the park and the town centre. There were great variety of food available.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 374zeenatb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2012

Dear Guest. Thank you so much for the great comments in regards to your stay with us. Really happy to read that you have enjoyed it. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager, Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tejostr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I arrived late at the hotel for one night on business.

Overall the hotel is very good, convenient location, good rooms etc. The internet is typical of Accor hotels - expensive and not that fast.

I'll stay here again as it was excellent value

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2012

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments on your stay with us. Always happy to read that you have enjoyed it. Hope you had a good trip back to Australia. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager, Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howarth A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in this very centrally located hotel in the heart of Hamilton.

The bed was just so comfortable after staying so many places on this trip.
The bathroom could have been cleaned a little better but apart from that the room was so big and spacious (as 3 of us stayed) Recommend joining the A-club as just such a good deal on food and accomodation at Accor.

Restaurant food was fantastic as we dined out one night but it wasnt as good as the Hotel restaurant.

Breakfast buffet was full of variety and options.
Needed more staff one morning but food was excellent

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful and car was waiting for us on the day of departure parked by the front door - great thinking ahead!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 227Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2012

Dear Guest. Great to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will definitely pass on your comments to my staff and discuss the remarks you have made in regards to some areas of improvement. Hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Auckland Central, New Zealand
11
Reviewed January 25, 2012

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#10 of 63 in Hamilton
968 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Hamilton Tainui

Address: 7 Alma Street | PO Box 1, Hamilton 2001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#4 Family Hotel in Hamilton
#4 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range: $115 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Hamilton Tainui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Tainui is in the heart of the city, on the banks of the Waikato River, adjacent to the Skycity Casino and entertainment complex. The hotel features 177 rooms, an award winning restaurant, lobby bar and a health club, with gym, sauna, spa and beauty therapies available. Conference facilities are available for up to 350 delegates. Guests have easy access to nearby shopping, dining and entertainment, or relaxing river walks that can be found close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui
Hamilton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing