We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankfully it was just one night!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbots Hamilton Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Wirral
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Thankfully it was just one night!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

First impressions count, and being asked if we were the ones from the small island (meaning the UK?) is not the welcome we expected.

Thankfully Hamilton was a stopover on our way north, so we only stayed one night. The place was clean enough, but the wifi was charged as we were told abruptly 'you don't get that on your package' Way to go weird reception lady on those first impressions again. There was also no mention of the fabulous tv package the comfort inn manager keeps banging on about whenever anyone as the gall to criticise the place, I suspect we didn't get that on our cheap last minute package either?

Whilst the beds were comfortable, the place was stinking hot with just a fan to circulate the muggy warm air, but hey, what am I complaining about, who needs air con when the place has sky right Mr Comfort Inn Customer Service Manager?

This is a cheap non-descript motel with a definate 70's feel to it, ok for one night, but there are better deals in Hamilton than this one, I'd keep on looking if you need to stay longer.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ItsTheLittleThings22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smile_and_Service, Director of Sales at Abbots Hamilton Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
The rooms in this property were upgraded in 2013 and we provide a variety of packages to match the needs of the traveler. Those that purchase a lower cost option can upgrade their services on arrival, or you can choose to purchase all the services at time of booking.

Our executive rooms have air conditioning for those that require this level of temperature control. All other rooms are equipped with a portable fan so that the guest can adjust the air flow to suit.

Hamilton has a lot of attractions for the visitor and a variety of these are on display in the room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    16
    6
    12
See reviews for
13
30
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Room Type: Business Room – Located on the second floor It provides unlimited internet, an in room entertainment system consisting of movies, games and activities in the Hamilton region

Price Paid - $129

First Impressions
Arrive to check in, no one at the counter, just a sign next to a phone saying to ring a number for service. I ring the number and a Lady comes out carrying a young child who started crying and grizzling when the lady put the child down. I understand that people that run motels have families, but to be greeted by a crying child, I can go home for that.

After taking down my details, she offered me internet, and when I said yes I was given a $40 voucher for 400mb of internet So much for the unlimited internet as advertised. She then showed me to my room, and pointed to where I could park, which is pretty much right next to a boundary fence with an opening on each end of the car park, it might as well be on the road.

Room appears clean and tidy, with a desk, “Super King” Bed, 32” Flat screen TV

Bed
Bed is supposed to be a Super King, looks like a normal king sized bed just with extra height, and been a person of average height (5'7) I have to climb on to it. It is also a “Zip” together bed, and the left side seems slightly higher than the right side, so as I am traveling solo, I end up wasting half the bed because I don't want to sleep across the zip.

Shower
Good water pressure, but took along time to heat up, and then had to fiddle around to get the right temperature. Then once I got into the shower I went to wash my hair to find that the shower head is at nose height.... Again im an average height, anyone taller would probably have to kneel down to wash their hair.

Room Overall
Overall its a pretty basic room, having a Superking bed might look good, but when only half of it is essentially usable, you might as well of had a Queen. Very difficult to wash your hair and 400mb is not Unlimited internet.

Service Overall
If I wanted to be greeted by crying children, I could of gone home for the night, and considering check in is the biggest chance to great customers, very much a big let down.

Room Tip: Only get a room with a super king bed if its for a couple....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E4g1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smile_and_Service, Director of Sales at Abbots Hamilton Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
The property does provide unlimited internet in multiples of 400MB for some packages. If this guest required more surely that could have used their verbal communication skills rater than ranting on the internet.

Interestingly there was no mention of the extensive range of on-demand movies available in the room or variety of TV channels.

The media reported last week that the average price for accommodation in NZ is around $154. That does not make $129 expensive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saitama, Japan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed here for 10 nights, relocated from the South Island to Hamilton, spent New Years in the hotel, stayed upstairs unit, absolutely blissful, showers good and hot, immaculately clean, LCD TV, microwave and hot plate, walking distance to town and supermarket, extremely quite, was treated like family, I will be recommending this establishment to everyone I talk to if they are intending to be staying in Hamilton

Room Tip: get a room by the laundry, very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

My daughters rowing team stayed overnight mid competition for two nights - I stayed on Saturday night. I booked in without a reservation and was offered two rooms at competitive prices. I booked a double with a very comfortable bed, flat screen TV, kitchenette and good sized shower/ bathroom. It was clean, modern and within 5 mins drive if the town centre at Hamilton.
Overall, a good stopover destination and a great find on the spur of the moment!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEK0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wairarapa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We will not go back to this place. It was noisey. We could hear people breathing through the thin walls and even going to the toilet, because the place was full (farming field-days) there was people making noise all night. We paid $243 a night. The price was hiked up because of demand although we booked well in advance. (all of Hamilton booked out) and the price has now droped back to $107 per night. We got 1 biscuit in a wrapper the first night but when moved to another unit there was no biscuit. This is a no frills place. So out dated. Small car parking. On the corner of two busy roads. We had two nights in Taupo on the waters edge in a lovely setting with a full cooked breakfast for $179 a night and the $243 for this place (no breakfast) was not worth it. They said on the invoice the free internet was worth $10.00 per day but when we checked in we were not told of the free internet. We stayed two nights in Newmarket Auckland and only paid $149 a night for the Quest. A lovely place. We will not be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FarmersDairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smile_and_Service, Owner at Abbots Hamilton Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
The recently installed guest entertainment system with over 100 free movies and 30 TV channels must have been overlooked by these guests.

We are one of the few properties that offer 1 night stays to field day participants. Most other properties are charging (in some cases higher) equivalent pricing for 4 to 7 days stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here two nights in a long weekend. The spa-appartment was very minimalistic, without decorations, two chairs and a small table with two chairs. It looks like it did not get a refresher since the 70-ies. The kitchenette is a small sink with microwave and bar fridge. The bed was OK, though a bit soft, and the roll-away for our son was OK as well. All that is acceptable. What was not acceptable was the noise. Not that much the traffic, but the other guests. Not that they made unnecessary noise, but toilet flushing, taps, water drains, shower/bath etc made lots of noise. The motel was full so we had noise from all the appartments around us. We will not go back here anymore. The motel is probably just acceptable as it was relatively clean, though old and worn, but the noise was terrible.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank expat_sealover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smile_and_Service, Manager at Abbots Hamilton Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
The rooms have been upgraded with modern furniture with rooms designed for different markets. The in-room guest entertainment system with free movies is a great wow factor for guests and those wishing to watch SKY sports can do so in our sports bar.

The property offers breakfasts, all day meals and dinners from 7am to 8.30pm Monday to Friday and 8am to 8pm weekends and public holidays. Room service is encouraged by not charging for this service. An extensive range of food is also available though our chargeback service to other leading restaurants in the city.

A number of guests have enjoyed our free shuttle service into the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We travel on business with 2 computers where internet is essential. We paid more for an executive room in this motel that promotes itself as fully equipped with business facilities. Linking to the internet took numerous attempts and then emails would not send. The owner (who was very pleasant) supplied different codes that did not work. I eventually managed to send emails from an old Malaysian email address. The mind boggles as to how that happened. We gave up on the TV where the picture froze 3 times in 10 minutes. Then we listened to trucks roaring past all night. I found it interesting that my lipstick rolled off the bathroom vanity unit and my husband used shampoo where the seal under the lid joined the seals from other guests on the shower shelf. He likes to end a shower with cold water but wasn't happy to have the water temperature adjust itself to cold repeatedly of its own accord. We wondered why there was a rubber bath mat but no bath. At $167.50 the room was not good value. The Guest Information book had gems such as an extra charge of $200 if the room was left with odorous smells. Fortunately the bathroom exhaust fan was of sterling quality. If we were forgetful and took the plastic card key with us we would also be charged $200 to change the locks. Also if we or our guests (only permitted in our room between 2 and 9pm) were noisy then we would be immediately evicted from the property and this could involve the police. We wondered who normally rented the Executive Apartment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piggabeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smile_and_Service, Owner at Abbots Hamilton Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
The management of Comfort Inn Southern Cross regrets that Piggabeen found our property not up to their standards. We’re sorry that our guests had so much trouble linking to the internet. Although our ultrafast fibre internet is system is comprehensive enough to cover the standard ISPs, we do occasionally find the odd one out, as happened in this case.
As we explained to the guests on check-in, the in-house entertainment system is something we’re developing at this point, and we asked for feedback. SKY Select was available in the rooms as an alternative. We are working with our provider to ensure that these glitches don’t happen when the system is implemented across the whole property.

As for the cleanliness of the shower shelf, we do apologise for this, and have amended our cleaning check list so that this will not happen again.

We’re surprised at the sudden changes in water temperature your husband experienced, as all of the water heating in our rooms is by individual water heating units. We have these checked regularly, and at last report all were working effectively. We will look into this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Asure Barclay Motel
Asure Barclay Motel
#28 of 63 in Hamilton
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auto Lodge Motel
Auto Lodge Motel
#21 of 63 in Hamilton
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Gardena Court Motel
#38 of 63 in Hamilton
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Fountain City Motor Inn
Fountain City Motor Inn
#22 of 63 in Hamilton
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbots Hamilton Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbots Hamilton Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Abbots Hamilton Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 222 Ulster Street | Whitiora, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand (Formerly Comfort Inn Southern Cross Hamilton)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbots Hamilton Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbots Hamilton - Hotel and Conference Centre(formerly Comfort Inn Southern Cross Hamilton) offers you comfortable and affordable accommodation within easy walking distance of Hamilton's central business, restaurant, cafe and theatre precincts and Waikato Stadium, Claudelands Event Centre and Seddon Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbots Hamilton Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing