We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived up to expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Argent Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Argent Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Read reviews for this motel on trip advisor & decided to try them out. The reviews didn't lie this place is wonderful. Can be a wee bit noisy from the road even with all the windows closed.

Hosts were very friendly & welcoming. Would certainly stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SOC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    64
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
163
236
51
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Family of 3 stayed in a one bedroom apartment. Very spacious, spotless & a superb bathroom (bath perfect for soaking in after bike racing). 5 min drive to centre of town, short walk to the river walkway & 2min drive to supermarkets. Hosts were fantastic, friendly & very helpful. We will definitely stay here again if in Hamilton.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

My wife an I spent a night here in early May 2014. We were totally impressed from the professional and warm welcome while speaking on the phone to make the reservation right through to the incredibly comfortable bed and sound-tight windows which made sleeping truly DREAMLIKE.

The hotel is CLEAN, MODERN, EFFICIENT, SPACIOUS, and WARM!!! The bedside lamps, activated by touch were incredibly romantic. Though we didn't use them, both the bedroom and the living room had very nice, large flat-screen televisions with SKY channels. In both the studio and one-bedroom units there is a stove, a fridge, and a sink. The kitchenettes are supplied with high-end cutlery and cooking utensils.

The fittings and features are incredibly luxurious, including a large tub and separate walk-in shower in the spa-sized bathroom. The water pressure was amazing, and the temperature was easily adjustable. There was a complimentary curling iron. Thick, eqyptian cotton towels and wash cloths. There were two kinds of soap bars, organic wonderful smelling lotion, shampoo, and shower gel. Complimentary bath salts were an unexpected luxury.

In the bedroom there was ample space for hanging clothes, an ironing board, and an iron. The king-size bed was AWESOME. A very efficient modern heat pump made it easy to adjust the temperature of the rooms rapidly with both heat and A/C functions.

The hostess was extremely helpful in pointing us to wonderful nearby restaurants for dinner and breakfast. There is a small grocery within walking distance and you are literally meters from the hospital. Despite the proximity to all this hustle and bustle, the double-glazed windows and insulated walls keep the sounds outside and the quiet room was peaceful and felt very private.

We were visiting the Temple for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints on our trip to Hamilton and this was just a 10 minute drive from the hotel.

Room Tip: The one bedroom was extremely spacious. My wife said "This is way nicer than my college apartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonesfamilyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

A warm and welcoming environment, service that is above and beyond, sparkling clean and comfortable rooms, everything you could want while on the road. Highly recommend a delivery meal from Scoff while there.

Room Tip: if you can't be bothered heading out for food, get a delivery meal from Scoff. You will not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseygirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We were welcomed here on the 2nd leg of our honeymoon and the host was extremely friendly and gave us a little gift to congratulate us.... The room is immaculate ... We can honestly say we haven't been to a cleaner, more well presented motel. It also has exceptional fittings and luxuries that you would not expect for the price! It's also close the town centre and walking distance to parks... Hamilton Gardens is well worth a visit!! Would be hard to top a place like this!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MateForLife24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Nicely appointed room with spacious bathroom and hot plate in the kitchenette. Only a short drive to the main street, with a mini supermarket walking distance away if you need supplies for a simple breakfast, snacks etc.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_Matt_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Argent Motor Lodge has very modern and well designed rooms with good quality furnishings. Our room was spacious, very clean and comfortable, with a large bed. The bathroom and shower were larger and better quality than is normally found in a New Zealand motel.

The hosts were very friendly and helpful.

One of the best New Zealand motel experiences we have had.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.5 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
2.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
2.0 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argent Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argent Motor Lodge

Property: Argent Motor Lodge
Address: 27 Lorne Street | Melville, Hamilton 3206, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argent Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TripAdvisor Traveller's Choice Award recipients for four consecutive years - 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016. Westpac Waikato Business Excellence Award WINNER 2014. AA Traveller Supreme Host of the Year award WINNERS 2014. Designed with you, the guest in mind! Argent Motor Lodge is one of Hamilton's newest motels. We border the Waikato Hospital campus and are only a short 350m walk to Braemar Hospital. On the Southside of the City Centre we make it easy for you to head North, South, East or West. Beautifully appointed rooms, fully equipped kitchens, 32" and 40" wall mounted televisions, full hush glass for super quiet rooms and plush beds for your complete comfort. Some of our apartments have their own courtyard and all of our one and two Bedroom apartments have a full size, double ended bath. With guest services such as in-room breakfasts, guest laundry, restaurant charge backs, guest computer you will be pleased you decided to stay at Argent Motor Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Argent Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing