We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home”
Review of Argent Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Argent Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I have recently stayed in a Studio room at the Argent Motor Lodge.

By the time we opened the door if felt exactly like home. It's easy to tell that Richard and Clare (who own the place) put a lot of personal care on the decoration of the rooms. We felt as if we were stepping in an extension of their own home. Everything was clean and just beautiful. For instance, the bedroom was quite big, with a well equipped kitchen attached. We were also positively impressed by the bathroom, which is pretty big and nicely designed.

The lodge is just a few minutes drive from downtown, the supermarket and from the Hamilton Gardens. The drive is very charming from the lodge to any of these places -- during daylight you will likely see the beautiful river and green yards.

Last but not least, both Richard and Claire are great people. They have promptly assisted us with many questions typical of first-time visitors to the area. In the likely event of returning to New Zealand we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The lodge has two floors, but no elevator. If you have special needs or heavy luggage it's good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucasvr_br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Hi guys! So great to hear from you. Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review of your stay with us. Argent Motor Lodge is not very big and since we live on site, we try and have that feel of it being an extension of our home in some ways. The most important thing to us is making sure that our guests feel valued and at home. We really thank you for pointing out the things that we also believe a great about our apartments - space, quiet, equipped with everything that you need and a little touch of luxury with our huge walk-in showers. It was our pleasure to help out with suggestions about what to see and do while you were here - it was also wonderful to have had you with us. Take care, we really do hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (747)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

492 - 498 of 747 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

The motel is perfectly decorated (very new) with well laid out rooms with everything you could possibly need. The rooms were nice and large with good sized bathroom with the range of complimentary toiletries you might expect in a five star hotel.
The welcome couldn't be friendlier and more welcoming, with suggestions for dinner and even a voucher for money off at dinner.
The location is good with a 5 minute drive from the centre of town and easy to get to. Free wireless internet with a generous 400mb limit.
Would definitely return if in the area. For best prices book direct on their website

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank MayesTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Hello Mayes Tripper. Thank you ! You have made our day with your wonderful review of how you found your stay here at Argent Motor Lodge. It was our pleasure to have you both with us and to help out where we could with recommendations and vouchers. Making people feel at home and cared about is what is most important to us and if we achieve that, then in our mind we've got it right where it matters. Our apartments are an extension of this - we work really hard to make sure that what we provide for our guests is as good as it can be (right down to all of those complimentary toiletries). Thank you once again Mayes Tripper for choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had booked here for two nights when visiting our son, it was so good we went back again before we left for home. The attention to detail was second to none, rooms extremely well equiped and were very clean and comfortable. Clare and her husband were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The best place to stay in Hamilton! Thank you

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Hi Samuel C - Thank you! for such a wonderful review and for taking the time to tell others about your stay with us. It was really lovely getting to know you both a little while you stayed with us and when you came back the second time, it was like having friends return. We really have tried to take note of all of the things that guests may need when staying with us - taking care to equip our apartments with the best fixtures, fittings and features that we can. It is really great to know that you enjoyed what we have here at Argent Motor Lodge. Thanks again to you both for staying with us. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

i cant say how much we appreciate your kindess and hospitality on our urgent trip to hospital.
rooms were faultless, premises perfectly maintained and the perfect location for the hospital!
I love the welcoming and relaxed feeling being there and look forward to seeing you again,
And thank you for the personal touch re our new surprise baby arrival :)
Tammy , Taumarunui

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katipokatipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Hi Tammy. It was just awesome meeting you and having someone from 'home' to stay at our motor lodge. You were all such great guests and it was really special for us to have you with us at such a big moment for your family. Thank you for your amazing review and for telling others how you found your stay with us - you have made our day. Take care Tammy - look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have stayed here since the motel first opened. The owners are a lovely young couple who work really hard to make my stay enjoyable, and the standard of equipment in the kitchen and bathroom is first class and the beds the most comfortable ever.
I won't stay anywhere else in Hamilton.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Hi Jane. Thank you so much for your review! During the time that you have been staying with us it has been really nice getting to know you. We love having you to stay. Really look forward to seeing you again some time. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a great experience staying at the Argent. Friendly service, very clean and new well appointed spacious
rooms, extremely comfortable bed and even though the hotel is on a busy road the room was quiet and protected from road noise due to the triple glazed windows. I am a very light sleeper but had no trouble sleeping at this lovely Hotel. It's a great place to stay and we would have no hesitation in staying at the Argent again in the future. Clare and Richard are doing an excellent job with their business and we wish them all the best for their continued success.

The Guest family

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Hi Liz and Family. Thank you for such a wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experiences of Argent Motor Lodge with the Tripadvisor community. It is great to know that our first class construction did its job for you - allowing you a peaceful and restful sleep. Our double glazed, hush glass is fantastic and means that our rooms a super quiet. Thank you for your kind words around our business also Liz. We really do work hard for our guests as we know that you all have a choice about where you stay. Thank you once again Liz.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Having cause to bring in crews from other regions to Hamilton, on occasion for sometimes extended periods, finding accommodation that meets the needs of our staff can sometimes be difficult.
Since we have started using Argent, the feed back from the crews has been nothing but positive. The facilities are hailed as being modern, clean, comfortable and quite, add to this service that makes any situation easy and you have a motel that is truly top notch.
The staff present for work well rested and refreshed, ready for production.
Thanks to Clare and Richard for your help thus far and the short notice help, we look forward to dealing with you both in the future.

Ross
Treescape

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Hey Ross - thanks for such a great review! We really enjoy having the Treescape team with us and its really great to know that they have enjoyed staying. When people are away from home during the working week we know that its the little things that matter and so we aim to provide 'that stress free stay' that you are talking about. It means that the team can get on with what they need to. Ross, thanks again for the kind words. We really look forward to having some of the team back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.9 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
1.5 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#10 of 63 in Hamilton
979 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
171 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argent Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argent Motor Lodge

Address: 27 Lorne Street | Melville, Hamilton 3206, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: $92 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argent Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With superior accommodation and state of the art design, Argent Motor Lodge in Hamilton is perfectly located for tourists and guests on holiday, corporate travellers on business and for people visiting family or friends at either the Waikato or Braemar hospitals. As the closest motel to the Waikato Hospital, the Argent is also just a 2 minute walk to Braemar Hospital and only 3 minutes’ drive to the Hamilton City Centre, Hamilton Lake and the award-winning Hamilton Gardens. TripAdvisor Traveller’s Choice Award recipients for five consecutive years, Argent Motor Lodge is designed with you, the guest, in mind. Rooms are beautifully appointed and extra spacious with fully equipped kitchens, luxurious bathrooms, full hush glass and plush beds for your complete comfort. 50+ Sky Channels are available, along with unlimited free WiFi and complimentary guest parking. Offering top-class customer service, tasteful decor and the latest amenities, you will be pleased with your stay at the Argent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Argent Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing