We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very High Standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Argent Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argent Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very High Standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

If your in Hamilton this is definitely the place to stay. My husband and I stayed for 5 nights while we were over in New Zealand visiting our son. Nothing is too much trouble for Clare & Richard, so very friendly and helpful. The accommodation is very well looked after, immaculatley clean and very spacious. Thanks to you both for making our stay so relaxing.
Thanks Glenys & Dermot

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7Glenys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hello Glenys and Dermot - thank you for such an amazing review. With our Motor Lodge being only 19 months old (and therefore one of Hamilton's newest) we are working really hard to maintain a high standard - both for ourselves and for our guests and we are really pleased to know that you found your stay to be this way. And, you are right! Our King Studio Apartments are lovely and spacious with all of the comforts of home. Fully equipped kitchens, tiled walk-in showers, flat screen TV’s, beautiful sleepyhead beds and a few extras such as sound proof construction, blackout curtains, beautiful guest amenities and complimentary WIFI access. Glenys and Dermot thank you once again for staying with us. It was our pleasure to have you with us. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    67
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
167
242
52
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Needed a place close to the hospital, and was recommended to try here by the staff at the hospital.

Stayed in a 1 bedroom unit. Words just cannot be put down to how great this place is! The bathroom was LARGE! Included a DEEP bath (nice and relaxing!) a wet floor shower.

Lovely comfortable bed, now I understand why lots of people ask them where they get their beds from!

Good size lounge area, and also kitchenette. Good onsite parking.

Excellent and very accommodating hosts. Offered to let us park in their carpark after we had checked out to save us on hospital parking fees (But I think they just really wanted to hear our V8 rumble some more ;-) )

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi Tracey - so great to hear from you. Thank you for the amazing review - you have made our day. We are so pleased to know that you loved our apartments and the comforts that they have. Our beds were chosen after a huge amount of consideration - comfort, support and warmth being front of mind. Our bathrooms have been designed to give a feeling of 'a little bit of luxury' and our baths, well as you have said they are great also - made for relaxing in. During the day, when most guests are out and about, our car park may as well be used by those who have stayed with us (even those that have just checked out) - we are here after all to make things easier. Tracey, it was really great to have you both to stay with us. Thank you once again. PS - Yes, the rumble of the V8 was pretty cool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at the Argent while attending a conference. I had very pleasant stay here and recommend it highly. The apartments are very clean, modern and comfortable. Clare and Richard are fantastic. It is a easy drive to the city and a good walk or drive to the beautiful lake which we took the opportunity to walk or run around almost every morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heart_to_heart66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Good morning heart_to_heart66. Thank you for such a wonderful review! Richard and I really enjoyed having you with us during your time here in Hamilton. You are right about our location, it is fantastic. Being on the South side of the city our guests have easy access to some of Hamilton's prettiest locations - the River walks, Hamilton Gardens, Hamilton Lake - and of course we are only a short car journey or inexpensive taxi ride to the city centre for all of the wonderful restaurants, bars and the brand new shopping complex at Centre Place. Thank you again for your review - we hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Thanks Clare and Richard for managing the best motel ever. The beds are super comfy, the rooms very secure, and rooms spotless. Everything is quality, quality quality.

I fully recommend this as the place to stay to anyone.

p.s. Takeaway is close by as is the hospital... (but not too close)

Room Tip: Rooms come in different additions (all have cooktop, sink, shower and fridge) but some also have bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hi Peter - So great to hear from you - thank you for your wonderful review and the time that you have taken to share about your stay here at Argent. In our book it is a case of 'because nice matters'. And by that we mean both the high level of customer service that we strive for every day and our great apartments - the cleanliness, the beds, our fixtures and fittings. Thanks again Peter for your thoughts on the little things - and for staying with us. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I am regularly in Hamilton on business satying overnight. This is the only place I will stay. Richard and Clare are fantastic hots. The rooms are great and spotlessly clean. The beds are the best I have slept in - very very comfortable. No hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: I am a very regular customer. As such i have stayed in a number of rooms. When i found one I liked m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi Tam - Thank you for your fantastic review. Richard and I really enjoy having you stay with us and we always look forward to your return visits. From our generous wifi allowance, huge work desks, iphone docking stations, fully equipped kitchens, comfy beds, sound proof rooms, restaurant delivery and meal charge-back services (not to mention our complimentary corporate breakfasts) we strive to ensure that we have everything needed during a hectic working week. Tam, as one of our return corporate guests you keep us honest in our standards and desire to keep our guests needs and experience at the forefront of mind. Thank you - we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were in Hamilton for my husband's surgery and needed somewhere convenient and nice to stay. We couldn't have chosen anywhere better. Clare and Richard were welcoming and very helpful - nothing was too much trouble.

The motel is very close to the hospital. Except for picking my husband up after the surgery, we walked up. A 5 minute walk and just about as close as any of the hospital car parks,

We had a one room unit and had the sofa bed made up so we could use it after the surgery. It was a comfortable bed and was very handy to have up. The rooms are also quiet. It was also very handy for going out to restaurants and shopping. Only 5 minutes drive to the centre of town. And Hamilton has plenty of great places to eat and pretty good shopping.

I cannot recommend the Argent highly enough if you are in Hamilton for any reason, and definitely if you are going to the hospital.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi Sue. Thank you for your wonderful review! It is really lovely to know that you are home safe and sound. We really enjoyed having you both with us and it is great to know that you really enjoyed your stay. Our Sofa Beds are a way for us to maximise our One and Two Bedroom Apartments for guests who need another bed or extra people to stay. They are really comfy, especially with a custom fully inner-sprung mattress and custom designed topper pads (by Sleepyhead NZ) and the same fantastic triple sheeting and linen as our king and super king beds. Our location is something just a little bit different also, being right by Waikato and Braemar Hospitals is excellent as well as being just slightly south of the city but still close enough to enjoy our wonderful shopping and restaurant district. Thanks again Sue, we hope to see you again (this time for a shopping weekend perhaps!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here overnight during my travels around North Island. Modern, comfortable and clean room with generous free Wi-Fi allowance. The owners Clare and Richard are friendly and very lovely hosts! Thank you both for your kind and generous hospitality. It was a shame that I only got to stay for 1 night but will definitely be back again :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hi Ninda. Thank you for your lovely and kind words. We know that when people are travelling that a comfy bed, a room that is well cared for and presented and the modern technology of home is what is needed. This is what both Richard and I and all of our Staff strive for every day and it is also why we provide 400MB of free wifi access to each apartment on check-in - we aim for our guests to not have to pay for access if we can help it! Ninda, we really enjoyed having you to stay with us the good old fashioned Kiwi Hospitality was our pleasure. It would be wonderful to have you back to stay - travel safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.4 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
2.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#8 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
2.0 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#10 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argent Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argent Motor Lodge

Property: Argent Motor Lodge
Address: 27 Lorne Street | Melville, Hamilton 3206, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argent Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TripAdvisor Traveller's Choice Award recipients for four consecutive years - 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016. Westpac Waikato Business Excellence Award WINNER 2014. AA Traveller Supreme Host of the Year award WINNERS 2014. Designed with you, the guest in mind! Argent Motor Lodge is one of Hamilton's newest motels. We border the Waikato Hospital campus and are only a short 350m walk to Braemar Hospital. On the Southside of the City Centre we make it easy for you to head North, South, East or West. Beautifully appointed rooms, fully equipped kitchens, 32" and 40" wall mounted televisions, full hush glass for super quiet rooms and plush beds for your complete comfort. Some of our apartments have their own courtyard and all of our one and two Bedroom apartments have a full size, double ended bath. With guest services such as in-room breakfasts, guest laundry, restaurant charge backs, guest computer you will be pleased you decided to stay at Argent Motor Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argent Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing