We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to like ?!!”
Review of Argent Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Argent Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Argent is brand new, immaculate, extremely comfortable and supremely well appointed with high quality disposables. The location is perfect for anything you have to do in the south/central parts of the city, a concert at the Founders in my case. Ten minutes after leaving the concert I was in bed watching the news on TV instead of beginning a two and a half hour drive home. Clare and Richard are considerate and thoughtful hosts who do all in their power to make your stay comfortable . I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else now.
David Wimms

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (757)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 605 of 757 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent 15 nights at various locations travelling up & down & across the North Island. Our nicest, friendliness overnight stay was at the Argent Motor Lodge in Hamilton. This is a new motel, come apartments situated very close to the Hamilton Hospital on a busy road, but with all the double glazing windows we did not have any trouble with road noise. We felt so welcomed there with the owners/managers on site, they could not do enough for us. Even took us to our room, showed how everything worked, even the husband helped me carry our bags to our room!! Not something one expects these days but this management team were the best we experienced whilst in NZ. We would highly recommend staying there at this Lodge, they were simply amazing and made us feel so happy and at home like! The facilities in our room also was the best out of all the motels and apartments we stayed at in our 15 night visit. The room was spacious, exceptionally clean and well appointed in every aspect. They also recommended a fantastic restaurant in town which was of the highest standard and a very good meal. We also thought this highly rated Argent Motor Lodge was great value and definitely the highlight of our nightly stays!! Don't waste your time looking or staying anywhere else in Hamilton. We wished we had allowed more time here in Hamilton. We know where to stay next time that's for sure.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms from what we saw, although we were on the top floor and we were very happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Found this place late Saturday Easter weekend. Our Hosts were very accommodating - and even housed our motorbikes securely overnight (not that the locale required it, more for two bike proud lodgers). We found our room to be spacious, well fitted out and very comfortable. Even with a relatively busy street nearby the place was quiet. Clare was very helpful with both places to dine out for the night and arranging transport. All up we found the place great and the service really helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VJB113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Argent hotel ( motel yes, but feels like an hotel) owner and staff were very friendly. We had stayed at other places,but none in New Zealand made us feel so at home. We came for one night and stay over because off the helpfulness of the owners of the hotel. They helped us pick out some fun things to do and sent us off to a wonderful day. We went on to an other city and then decided to come back the next day,because of there hospitality and again the sent us off to a great restraunt. The rooms were very clean,modern, and well care for. They wanted to please.
I picked this Hotel(motel) because of other people reviews,THANK YOU to all who reviewed this motel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denowho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Manager at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Hi guys! THANK YOU for reviewing us - we had such a great time chatting to you both and spending time with you. The conversations were brilliant! Hamilton is really central and does make it easy for us to point guests in the right direction for their days attractions and then back to us for a great nights sleep. Thank you again for your time taken for the review - you have made our day. We know that we will see you both again sometime - and we look forward to it. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very down-to-earth husband/wife proprietors working hard to provide a place for an enjoyable stay.

Basic small room w/adequate King bed, smallish desk, wardrobe & kitchenette & inadequate lighting. Bathroom sink/counter area was cramped.


Downsides: Located on very busy street (highway), Ingress/egress can be challenging. Walls a bit thin both between rooms & from outside ; also w/out a lot of outdoor relaxing room, it felt like others were impinging upon one's space. One night was enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Hello Doug and Carol - it is great to know that you have arrived home safe and sound after your travels around our beautiful country. Our guest’s feedback and thoughts are valuable to us and allow for changes to be made and considerations to be given.
As you can imagine we are disappointed with how you found your stay with us and we really do appreciate the time that you have taken to provide this review. We do wish however that you had expressed your thoughts with us in person so that we had an immediate opportunity to make it up to you.
Just so you know, Argent Motor Lodge has been built to the highest of standard with full concrete block construction (which has had concrete poured within the blocks to create additional sound barriers); full hush glass and the highest standard of fixtures and fittings. The apartment in which you stayed has this full concrete block construction on all sides, including the ceiling.
As it has been an incredibly hot summer here in NZ - the hottest in decades, we have had fitted to our windows latches that enable the windows to be left open during the day for air flow. As each of our rooms has an individually controlled air conditioned unit, at night when guests close the windows so that the full hush glass can do its job of making things quiet, the air-con keeps the room nice and cool! We can't help but wonder if you accidently left your windows open which would have allowed for a bit more noise to travel your way. What we are going to do from now on, it chat to our guests about making sure that their windows are closed at night to ensure the rooms are quiet for their stay.
We take on board your comments with regards to the outdoor area and we have already spoken with a specialist about making this a more enjoyable space with a better outlook for our guests. Once again Doug and Carol – it is great to know that you are home safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Hamilton New Zealand is a beautiful city on New Zealand North Island. Argent Motor Lodge was a real find and the finest motel we stayed at during our trip through the North Island. The room is very large for this type of accomodation. It is very clean and quiet. The owners, Richard and Clare are wonderful hosts and full of information about what to do and see in Hamilton. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Manager at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Hello NorthYorker! Wonderful to know that you hare home safe and sound - we hope that the rest of your holiday in NZ was brilliant. It was lovely having you with us and talking to you about all of the differnet things you can do here in the Waikato. Waikato is fondly known as the land of milke and honey - and it does not lack in activities for those travelling around that is for sure. We are very proud of our motel and work really hard to make sure that everything is as it should be - it is great to know that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We would love to see you again one date!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

WOW.... what a gorgeous modern room with an ultra comfy bed.... . It may be located on a busy street but you can't hear anything with the double glazed glass windows. We were so happy with our choice of staying at the Argents that we will have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone. Its value for money with a great bunch of friendly staff!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radiantsun1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Hello! WOW - thank you for the amazing review! Richard and I are so happy to know that you loved your stay with us and enjoyed our rooms and of course THE AMAZING BED! It would be great to have you back to stay sometime - but in the meantime, take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.4 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
1,214 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
1.5 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
274 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
1.4 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argent Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argent Motor Lodge

Address: 27 Lorne Street | Melville, Hamilton 3206, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: $106 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argent Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With superior accommodation and state of the art design, Argent Motor Lodge in Hamilton is perfectly located for tourists and guests on holiday, corporate travellers on business and for people visiting family or friends at either the Waikato or Braemar hospitals. As the closest motel to the Waikato Hospital, the Argent is also just a 2 minute walk to Braemar Hospital and only 3 minutes’ drive to the Hamilton City Centre, Hamilton Lake and the award-winning Hamilton Gardens. TripAdvisor Traveller’s Choice Award recipients for five consecutive years, Argent Motor Lodge is designed with you, the guest, in mind. Rooms are beautifully appointed and extra spacious with fully equipped kitchens, luxurious bathrooms, full hush glass and plush beds for your complete comfort. 50+ Sky Channels are available, along with unlimited free WiFi and complimentary guest parking. Offering top-class customer service, tasteful decor and the latest amenities, you will be pleased with your stay at the Argent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Argent Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing