We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very comfortable and surprising quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Argent Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argent Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“very comfortable and surprising quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed in this motel over the past 3 nights whilst my elderly mother underwent surgery in the Waikato Hospital. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and motels over the years and I must say this was one of the best; very clean and modern, comfortable beds, well-equipped kitchen, spacious bathroom, great showerhead and surprisingly quiet for a motel on a relatively busy road. It was very convenient for my twice daily hospital visits - in fact I could just leave the car in the motel carpark and walk up through the hospital grounds to the main entrance. This saved on parking fees for 4 days and also meant I could pop 'home' whenever my mother needed a rest. It was also very close to the Hamilton Lake, a circuit of about 4.5km from the motel if you need a little exercise during your stay.
Clare and Richard were very welcoming, helpful and generous and it was so nice to be addressed by my name! If you are planning a stop in Hamilton I would highly recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    67
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
167
242
52
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

What can I say, Clare and Richard have a lovely place, extremely well presented, clean, tidy and modern, everything provided that one could ask for when working away from home, and all finished off by a friendly couple that makes your stay feel like you have just arrived and you best friends place for a good old sleep over. Thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveH476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hi Dave. Thanks for the brilliant review - really made our day! It was great to have you stay and to know that you were able to get work done while you were here. Look forward to seeing you again soon! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Claire & Richard have done an excellent job in making a comfortable place to overnight south of Auckland. They accommodated our late arrival (no thanks to Hertz rental-car misadventure) and welcomed us warmly. You are set-up with breakfast the next morning to enjoy at your leisure before going on your way. The bedding was comfortable and plenty of fluffy, clean towels to wash away your travel dust & grime.
I wouldn't stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the main road, but are quiet and there is little traffic at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuchessKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Review by Kimberley Gilbert for Media PA
Argent Motor Lodge Hamilton has recently been rated the number one hotel by Tripadvisor.com and it is very easy to see why they have earned this title.
Upon Arriving at Argent Motor Lodge I received a warm welcome with a friendly smile. Clare and Richard Gallagher are both professional and hospitable. Checking in was a breeze and was shown to my elegantly styled room.
My King Studio is apartment style living at its best. It is evident that style and comfort in mind went into the creation of this room. The King Studio Apartments have a king bed, a comfy 2-seater sofa, and a large desk with 32” wall mounted LCD TV above. The bathroom is generous in size and has a large walk-in shower with glass screen. Above all I noticed the cleanliness of rooms not a speck of dust to be found.

Argent Motor Lodge has all the add on’s and amenities that you could need. Free on-site car parking, SKY Guest Select with 50 + channels, Air-conditioning/Heat Pumps in all rooms and Ultra-fast WIFI Broadband is great for any businessman or woman on the go. A fully equipped kitchen has a 2 element ceramic hob and microwave which makes preparing any meal or snack easy.

Being close to a busy road, one may think you would get a lot of road noise; however I was pleasantly surprised to not hear any noise at all from the road. With the important added features of sound proof construction and blackout makes a stay at Argent Motor Lodge Hamilton comfortable and relaxing. The BioXcell System Beds make for a great night sleep.
Argent Motor Lodge is located close Hamilton’s city centre, central business district, café and restaurant precinct and just a short walk too both Hamilton’s Waikato and Braemar Hospitals. Argent Motor Lodge is the best choice of accommodation for those on business, with hospital appointments, visiting friends and family at Waikato or Braemar Hospitals, or simply on a holiday.
So whatever the need, be it work or play, Argent Motor Lodge is the perfect to base your yourself during your Waikato stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

From the time I booked our room 'til we checked out, the service was great! Clare is genuinely friendly and helpful without being over the top. The room was immaculate and the bed really comfy. The location was easily found and perfect for us with the events we attended. I loved that they had a make-up remover wipe with the shampoo/conditioner etc because I had forgotten mine :-) Overall we had a great experience and can highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna07_1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Hi everyone. I have stayed at the Argent many times both for business and personal. Richard and Clare are great host. The location is very handy to the main roads. Love the room (10). Its very comfortable and immaculately clean. at hosts. Always a pleasure. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I had a Kiwi Summer vacation touring North Island in mid-Feb this year. Hamilton was our last stop on way to Auckland Airport to fly back home. It was our last night before the morning flight back to HK. Argent was such a nice place - new, spotlessly clean and with a nicely equipped little kitchenette. The lodge's location is great, allowing for us to visit the lake and dine at "The Bank" (restaurant downtown) for the last day of our vacation. It was a pleasant stay and gave us a memorable ending to our Kiwi Summer. Thanks!
I would highly recommend you to give Argent a try and meet the friendly hosts and their three lovely children!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.4 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
2.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#8 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
2.0 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#10 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argent Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argent Motor Lodge

Property: Argent Motor Lodge
Address: 27 Lorne Street | Melville, Hamilton 3206, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argent Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TripAdvisor Traveller's Choice Award recipients for four consecutive years - 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016. Westpac Waikato Business Excellence Award WINNER 2014. AA Traveller Supreme Host of the Year award WINNERS 2014. Designed with you, the guest in mind! Argent Motor Lodge is one of Hamilton's newest motels. We border the Waikato Hospital campus and are only a short 350m walk to Braemar Hospital. On the Southside of the City Centre we make it easy for you to head North, South, East or West. Beautifully appointed rooms, fully equipped kitchens, 32" and 40" wall mounted televisions, full hush glass for super quiet rooms and plush beds for your complete comfort. Some of our apartments have their own courtyard and all of our one and two Bedroom apartments have a full size, double ended bath. With guest services such as in-room breakfasts, guest laundry, restaurant charge backs, guest computer you will be pleased you decided to stay at Argent Motor Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argent Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing