We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, spacious, friendly and welcoming....just perfect.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Argent Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Argent Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Clean, spacious, friendly and welcoming....just perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

What a wonderful motel! One of very few in the very best category that we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in many. Clare's welcome was warm and friendly and the very well behaved little boy 'helping' with the watering hose just made us feel that this was a home from home. The motel is new(first anniversary the day before we arrived) and is clean and bright. We were in room 12 which is a one bedroom unit on the first (upper) floor. It was very well equipped throughout with an excellent large flat screen tv in the lounge with 3 Skysports channels and ESPN. There was a second smaller TV in the bedroom which we didn't even use. Bathroom was spacious with a bath and an excellent shower. Clare and Richard were friendly, helpful and altogether charming hosts.
On previous visits to NZ, we have stayed in 2 of the better motels in Cambridge but this one beats them hands down...they don't even come close.
We stayed for 4 nights, using it as a base for day trips around Waikato and what a great idea that was. Hamilton gardens is very close and we saved our trip around the gardens for our final day when we were returning to AKL very late in the day. The gardens are well worth exploring. We ended our day on the first 3 days by sitting by the lake at the gardens reading books, soaking up the late afternoon sun and watching the ducks and the children chasing them. Pure relaxation.
So, great motel,great location and terrific value for money.
Scoff's deliver excellent food to the motel from an excellent menu which is much wider than most takeaway places.

Room Tip: It is just a choice between an upper or a ground floor....otherwise they all look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hattiepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    64
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
163
236
51
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Overnighted for business in what is an incredibly charming, modem and well appointed venue. I took the time to read the other overwhelmingly positive feedback and it’s all true. As a business traveler, it was the little touches that made the stay so great. Free wi-fi, clear pay-tv reception, continental breakfast delivered the night before, heaps of well-located power outlets, top end toiletries including moisturiser, the list goes on and on. The feedback from the other people I was traveling with has never been so positive. I have stayed at both the Novatel and Ibis when in Hamilton but thankfully not anymore. I look forward to watching Clare and Richard grow their fantastic business.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BvCP_2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Richard and Clare are the most fabulous people I have meet in a very long time. I chose to stay with them because a receptionist at Waikato Hospital told me that it was brand new and close to the hospital grounds. They were a god send, not only was the room pristine Clare and Richard were nothing short of amazingly caring without being intrusive. These people are dedicated to making your stay perfect, you might think that this is an exaggeration, but go stay with them and find out for yourself, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nik k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi Nik ! Oh My Gosh - you are just too lovely! Thank you for the amazing review. We don't have any other words - you have made our day. Thank you - take care. See you soon - we hope. Clar and Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

What a find! We were delighted with the luxurious and comfortably stylish amenities and received a great welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for our excellent hosts. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Fanatstic place to stay, The hosts were so friendly and we had such a warm welcome.. Very helpful and the customer service was the best we have encountered so far in New Zealand and in fact most parts of the world we have traveled, The rooms were well equipped and very modern.. great shower and bathroom.. It was also very quiet too.. and incredibly clean.. I would recommend this motel to everyone,,, We even ordered the food to be delivered... and it arrived hot, in good time and was delicious... in all a great place to stay.. Well done Argent Motor Lodge and best wishes for a very successful future .

Room Tip: No swimming pool but couldn't delete the rating and the food was from a local resaurant and deli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The room was clean, tidy and well equipped. The owners were so friendly and helpful - customer service was outstanding! There is a sign in the office which reads "arrive as strangers, leave as friends" and never a truer word has been said. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine6304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great place for an overnight stay in Hamilton. Well appointed facilites, beautifully clean, straight forward booking and warm welcome. Lorne St can be busy with through traffic but not an issue as room well sound proofed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kam57NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.5 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
2.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
2.0 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argent Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argent Motor Lodge

Property: Argent Motor Lodge
Address: 27 Lorne Street | Melville, Hamilton 3206, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argent Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TripAdvisor Traveller's Choice Award recipients for four consecutive years - 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016. Westpac Waikato Business Excellence Award WINNER 2014. AA Traveller Supreme Host of the Year award WINNERS 2014. Designed with you, the guest in mind! Argent Motor Lodge is one of Hamilton's newest motels. We border the Waikato Hospital campus and are only a short 350m walk to Braemar Hospital. On the Southside of the City Centre we make it easy for you to head North, South, East or West. Beautifully appointed rooms, fully equipped kitchens, 32" and 40" wall mounted televisions, full hush glass for super quiet rooms and plush beds for your complete comfort. Some of our apartments have their own courtyard and all of our one and two Bedroom apartments have a full size, double ended bath. With guest services such as in-room breakfasts, guest laundry, restaurant charge backs, guest computer you will be pleased you decided to stay at Argent Motor Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Argent Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing