We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stop for tea”
Review of Zealong

Zealong
Ranked #13 of 369 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: For a unique experience in Hamilton, visit the Zealong Tea Estate at 495 Gordonton Road, Hamilton. Enjoy high tea, lunch, or just relax over a delicious cup of organically farmed tea on the restaurant terrace overlooking New Zealand's only tea plantation. Tea tours, private/corporate functions also available. Bookings highly recommended. Tours require at least 24h notice. Look for our Trip Advisor TEA TOUR ATTRACTION too!
Waihi, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stop for tea”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Lovely settings, good staff , great value for money , the tea is a real cool experience something different make's a nice change from having alcohol for lunch .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    69
    30
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great atmosphere, good service”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We came on what seemed to be a busy day and had not booked but they were able to accommodate us (6 of us) by putting two tables together outside. Good service, they explained all the teas very well and filled up the pots when needed. Did not have to wait too long for food. Everyone was very pleased with their food. I had ordered the open ravioli prawns and you 4 very big sized prawns, it was a lovely meal. Lots to choose from on the high tea. Would recommend to others. Was a nice little area you could walk around a view after your meal if you choose to.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SawahMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“superb hospitality”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The host was fantastic, interesting attraction. The person who set up the tea plantation was very entrepreneurial

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heyspore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointed.”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We went as a group of ten and were quite disappointed with the experience overall.
We drove one and a half hours from Auckland with high expectations. We pre-booked the classic vegetarian high tea for four people on the website and had contact over the phone AND email, even checking with the chef to confirm but when we arrived we were told that it wouldn't be possible. So instead we had to order some of the other dishes.
One of the dishes we ordered was the Thai Salad with tofu and requested that there be no onions however when it came out there were red onions in the dish. This was rectified and they did bring out a new one with no onions which was appreciated. However, the salad leaves were not fresh.
Our group also ordered two lots of Zealong Black Tea Noodles (one in the vegetarian order and one with the rest of the food), but only one was made and brought out to us. When one of the waiters was told of this he went to check the dockets and told us that we had only ordered one and this had already been delivered. He did offer to have another made up but we weren't that hungry anymore. After we had left we realised that we had been charged for two lots of the black tea noodles, however were already too far away to return and amend the situation.
We still have yet to receive a reply to my email from management regarding our complaint.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Ley013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZealongT, Manager at Zealong, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Having received your email, we acted promptly with our staff to investigate your complaint in a management meeting. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your overall experience. In light of your feedback, we have taken into account areas of our service that may have lead to any miscommunication. In doing so, we have taken action to improve communications between different areas of our business, and more importantly, to our valued customers in our strive to continuously improve our overall experience.

Kind regards
Zealong Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Popped in”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We live in Hamilton and have driven past this place many times and decided yesterday to go in for a cup of tea. We waited and waited it be seated, as per the sign just inside the door. After a while we left, as did the couple in front of us. Was looking forward to it but won't go back,

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank di k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZealongT, Manager at Zealong, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Unfortunately, on this particular day we experienced high volumes of customers within a short time. Your feedback on this matter is highly appreciated and we are currently investigating how to ensure that this does not happen to future customers. Our team is very friendly and hope that you will consider us again in the near future as we strive to provide all our customers with the best experience possible. With the busy festive summer season, we highly recommend booking in advance.

Kind regards
Zealong Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zealong also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Zealong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing