We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just do it!”

Foundation Bar Kitchen Lounge
Ranked #28 of 362 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, European, New Zealand, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Setting strong foundations in style and flair, setting the scene as a place to relax, chill, and feel the vibe, Foundation the place to meet, drink & eat the freshest cuisine that the region has to offer. Foundation the gathering place for mate’s to immerse themselves in the excitement of their favourite sport or whatever they please.Without this FOUNDATION we are condemned to live essentially formless lives.... ‘Disobedience is the true foundation of liberty’ – Henry David Thoreau
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just do it!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Foundation has a great vibe with a variety of seating arrangements to choose from including a garden bar.
Personal touches include the staff member who offered to charge my phone for me!
For seafood lovers the Tuatua soup is to die for, as is the Tron Pizza.
Will be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stelzbelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    97
    31
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Food wasn't great. Plate was warmer then the food. Staff was friendly and helpful but meals were only average. won't be going back

Helpful?
Thank Moolooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“family dinner”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

If this was the first time I had been to Foundation i wouldn't be back. Food was very ordinary and whilst our food waitress was lovely there was another waitress who was nothing short of rude. There was a mix up with drinks and I ended up with 2 glasses of wine....nothing to complain about you might say, however, the rude waitress suddenly whipped the second glass away and then we saw her pouring it back into the bottle.... Which apparently is ok....Not in my books how do they know I hadn't taken a sip? Time to lift your game Foundation I think.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank di k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of my favourite Restaurants”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is a great place to eat & drink. The staff are fabulous and the décor is great. The food is really good and the Margarita's are fabulous. Love it when my friends from Auckland come down and I drive over there and we meet and enjoy ourselves. Would recommend it to anybody.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sealygirl399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Taken to the Base”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Taken to the base on the long weekend, very busy, while the girls shopped a mate and I found this place, they had a selection of very good boutique beers, which we tried several of. Pleased to say all good. We found the service excellent, the girls finished shopping and joined us. We all had a light meal which was beautiful

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foundation Bar Kitchen Lounge also viewed

 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Foundation Bar Kitchen Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing