We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring”
Review of Lone Star

Lone Star
Ranked #65 of 375 Restaurants in Hamilton
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Ph: (07) 839 3005 Fax: (07) 839 3002 Cafe Hours: Sun - Thurs 5.00pm - 10.00pm, Fri & Sat 5.00pm - 11.00pm Bar Hours: Mon - Sun 4.00pm - late
Ipswich
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Boring”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Same old coleslaw and roast potatoes with each dish. Food not good value except for kid's menu. Surroundings fine,service fine.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hamilton-White
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    61
    37
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fills the hole!!!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Like all Lone Star restaurants, expect a high standard of service, and if you're going on an end of week night...A full house.
This is a steakhouse and a popular one so expect noise especially with kids.
The night we went for this review was mid-week. Prompt service with immediate drinks order was had. We were allowed ten minutes to settle and order. A nice big steak for me.
Arrived well within the standard 20 minutes to pretty much the way I liked it and was a very filling meal. Dessert was over the top. The Moro cheese cake, totally decadant!!!
A second round of drinks was had, but we went elsewhere for coffee. Still always a good restaurant to visit, value made up for by the serving sizes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alec C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great place to eat”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Always love visiting Lone Star in Hamilton. Meals are large (keeps the men happy) and its always packed. Not the kind of place for a romantic dinner as it can get a bit noisy however the food is always excellent.

We went most recently with family visiting from Aussie. My brother in law (who is notorious for criticising everything and who is a total STEAK man) shocked us all by saying 'this is the best steak I have ever eaten'.

Definitely recommend so long as you don't mind a wait to be seated and a fair amount of noise.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Midget539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal, great service.”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great food, atmosphere and service. We will always choose Lone Star anywhere we go in New Zealand. Plenty of parking, good selection of drinks.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank QueenslandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome food, lovely service”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Have been here a few times now and each time we are rewarded with wonderful service and superb food, very relaxed setting, staff are always friendly and willing to help, this restaurant is very affordable dining, absolutely love it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daknibbsklan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star also viewed

 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Lone Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing