We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$103
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Hamilton Tainui(Hamilton)(Great Value!)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$82
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$93
$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashwood Manor(Hamilton)(Great Value!)
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camelot On Ulster(Hamilton)(Great Value!)
$94
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Point Motel(Hamilton)(Great Value!)
$66
$57
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
80
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanicured gardensnew zealandexcellent hoststwo nightsenjoyed our staymargaretaccommodationhobbiton
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 80 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2017

Nestled within a manicured arboreal estate, the Blackwood House is a private respite hosted by Allan and Margaret. Our sleeping space was spacious and comforting, with soft chairs and an ottoman that faced sweeping views of the palate of late fall trees, fading to silhouettes when the stars to the north began to glow. Breakfast was made to order, served at a grand table with proper place settings. Our stay at Blackwood was a pleasure seldom savored in this age.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank missileanyass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllanF369, Owner at Blackwood House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Welcoming guests from anywhere in the World, makes it easy, to demonstrate 'the art of hospitality'.

Welcoming guests from anywhere in the World, who openly demonstrate their appreciation of their stay, albeit for a short time, here at Blackwood House, brings great pleasure to Margaret and I.

Thank you both for excelling in all aspects, your visit has been most appreciated.

Wishing you well in your future travels.

Be sure and consider visiting again, when planning your next trip to New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017

Blackwood House is a blissful peaceful country House yet only short journeys to Cambridge Town, Hobbiton and Raglan beach. The standard of accommodation was spacious and beautifully maintained with all the little extras you would expect in a high quality Hotel. The views in all direction is of manicured gardens, trees and green field. A Balm to the soul and "sore eyes" we came away restored. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts with breakfast and the evening Musical Concert a highlight. Contact the hosts direct for expert attention and bookings.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carole_eatonnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllanF369, Owner at Blackwood House, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2017

Carole and Murray, we thank you for being superb guests.
It truly was a pleasure sharing three days with you, initially as guests, departing as friends.
Your kind words are most appreciated.
Wishing you both well, cheers,
Margaret and Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2017

We stayed here for our last two nights in New Zealand and really enjoyed our stay. Allan's and Margaret are excellent hosts and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. Allan even lent us his SatNav so that we could find the way to meet our niece and family as we weren't sure of the route. Their house is beautiful, our room was really comfortable and the bathroom was luxurious. We really enjoyed talking to them when we came in after our evening out. The breakfasts were delicious and we really appreciated them getting up early as we had to get to the airport. This was the perfect end to our stay in New Zealand and we were very sorry to leave.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Connie072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfa2k99, Owner at Blackwood House, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Dear Pam & Colin,

What a pleasant surprise, for a nicely penned review all the way from the Lakes District.

Your sentiments of your stay are very much appreciated and your kind words about us, are more than mutually similar to those we have of you both............thank you very much.

As seasoned travelers, as the Mansfield's are, sharing your adventures and experiences to places we have yet to visit, engender plans and aspirations, which all make for a diverse lifestyle for us all.

Margaret and I thank you for your visit and very positive review.

Yours,

Allan & Margaret at Blackwood House, New Zealand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2017

The beauty of the countryside, the luxurious details of the home and the warmth of Margarat and Allan welcomed us to New Zealand. And, it was the best breakfast of our two week vacation. Thank you both for a lovely stay.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank martij2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllanF369, Owner at Blackwood House, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2017

Having the Johnson family from Massachusetts, was truly a pleasure....we are pleased that enjoyed your visit to New Zealand.

Margaret and I are even more pleased that you have been comfortable in writing a wonderful review, of your stay while here at Blackwood House, thank you.

We are always mindful, that guests have the choice of many fine places to stay, all offering different advantages.

We like to think that the hospitality and efforts we make, have our guests, very pleased that they elected to stay with us, even though, we may initially be considered more expensive.

Thanks again, from Allan & Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017

Located within a quick drive to Hobbiton, this Inn is the ideal place to spend a night or two. The proprietors, Allen and Margaret have a spectacular home on 20 plus acres of well manicured gardens, orchards and fields. Our room had an amazing view of the sunrise. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the shower had great water pressure - something you dont often find in hotels. From the heated towels to the homemade breakfast, their attention to detail is welcome. They are lovely hosts offering a lovely home. Our schedule did not permit a walk around the property but there were trails available. A very peaceful and relaxing location.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank travelotts4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllanF369, Owner at Blackwood House, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2017

Dear Barbi & John,

Having a wonderful, positive review , from a senior contributor is so welcoming, we very much appreciate your kind words.

You obviously had read reviews from some of our previous guests, in selecting Blackwood House, to give you confidence to contact directly via email.

In doing so, we set about advising and suggesting how, we can best add to your experience in visiting Hamilton, Cambridge and the very popular, Hobbiton movie set.

You are obviously 'Worldly travelers', so may you have many more fine reviews for others to take direction from.

Wishing you both, all the very best for 2017, yours,
Allan & Margaret at Blackwood House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews