We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blackwood House-Fantastic Homestay”
Review of Blackwood House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blackwood House
Ranked #3 of 24 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Once again my company & I stayed with Alan and Margaret at Blackwood House for the Mystery Creek Feild Days 2013. Alan & Margaret catered for our every need, from early Breakfasts to late Dinners after long days at the Show. A fantastic place to stay with a great atmosphere, nice to relax in front of a warm fire & big screen TV with hot/cold drinks in hand!Thank you again for your warm hospitality & "no problem" attitude, we had a great time & would love to come back next year. Matt Jones 3-July 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllanF369, Owner at Blackwood House, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Hi Matt, and the lads from Exclusive Tyres.
Repeat business.......there is no better recommendation, than having guests coming back for more.
Having a team of guests even more so............we thank you for selecting Blackwood House, you are more than welcome any time.
We wish you well, Allan & Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 79 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

We went to Hamilton to send off our son to a boarding school there. We decided to spend six nights at the Blackwood House with our two children. Having read many good reviews of this place, we arrived there with a very high expectation. Amazingly, this place turned our expectation into a memorable experience. The entire place was spotlessly clean and very cozy. The facilities such as the bathroom, the living area, and the kitchen were all top quality, comparable to a 5-star hotel. Allan, Margaret and Emma added a homey element on top of that, with great professionalism and care. Throughout our stay, we felt a warm welcome like being with good old friends. Breakfasts were beautifully presented and very delicious everyday. We must have been one of the very few fortunate people who got to try so many of Margaret's breakfasts during our long stay. After enjoying six breakfasts and three dinners there, we could confidently say that Margaret has a magic touch on her cooking. Our children had a great time stretching their arms and legs in the surrounding garden. They very much enjoyed Allan's quick 'New Zealand safari' tour on his tractor around the property. Cattle, local birds, wild rabbits, and sheep were their favorite attractions.

Both Allan and Margaret were also very knowledgable and helpful with advices on where to go, including sightseeing, dining and shopping tips. We're quite certain that their advices had saved us lots of valuable time.

Thank you so much, Allan, Margaret and Emma, for making our stay in New Zealand a wonderful and memorable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Engon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllanF369, Owner at Blackwood House, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Firstly we thank you for choosing & electing to come and stay with us at Blackwood house.
Welcoming Engon, Wisrute and family on arrival, was the start of a very pleasant adventure, for them in N.Z, and for Margaret and Allan.
We fully appreciate that visitors have choices, many good choices of accommodation.................but for a wonderful experience, they decided rightfully to visit Margaret & Allan.
Thank you both, it was our pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My family and I went to Hamilton 5 times, first two times We stayed with two different home stays, it was alright, when I say alright I mean just standard. We always travel with high expectation with our accommodation and hence always booked for Claimed Luxurious Accommodation, but our first two stayed in Hamilton make us thought that may be no real luxurious hotel or home stay in Hamilton. But our thought and perception was totally wiped off after we stayed at Blackwood House, this is the real classy home stay, with an elegant house, classy interior design, amazing view, convenient with all hi tech technology equipment to pamper our stay, and above all, the landlords, Allan and Margaret are the best host ever. With their classy style and super friendly attitude, both of them just make us feel like we were staying with our best friends who happens to own this gorgeous house. The best experience ever for us and since then Blackwood house is the only place we will stay every time we go to Hamilton. One important tip, don't forget to try Margaret's dinner. You will never want to eat out again, I promised!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ouiBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllanF369, Owner at Blackwood House, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Having guests from Thailand, who are enrolling their children at Hamilton's prestigious schools, is proving to be a speciality of Blackwood House.

Margaret and I , found the experience of providing hospitality to Oui ,Satit and family, a truly wonderful experience.......memorable is so many fun ways.

We thank you Oui, you are most welcome at anytime.
Wishing you all well.
Yours, from the Blackwood House team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in one of the downstairs delux rooms for our wedding night. It is a beautiful and private room with a large bathroom next door. Our breakfast was a lovely spread of homemade scones and preserves, fresh fruit and muesli, and beautifully cooked bacon and eggs. Allan and Margaret are wonderful hosts and go above and beyond their call of duty. The whole house is very tasteful and immaculately clean. We absolutely loved our stay - Thank you Allan & Margaret

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke_Monique_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfa2k99, Owner at Blackwood House, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you Monique & Luke.
Your appreciation of us & our home / facilities is very much appreciated.
We wish you both every happiness in the blissful years ahead.
Thanking you once again.
Cheers,
Allan & Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This would have to be one of the best places that I have stayed in New Zealand. The recently renovated home has been completed with breathtaking quality and a real eye for detail. Quality has not be compromised anywhere. Allan and Margaret are superb. I felt very welcome and comfortable and in fact felt like I was visiting friends such was the ease with which these two very professional people welcomed me into their home.When you consider all of these factors plus the excellent rural location and close proximity to Hamilton and Cambridge, you get an outstanding stay in rural New Zealand. This is a genuine 5 star plus experience and much better than local hotels or motels. The pricing is great value for money considering all of the advantages. Blackwood House is a genuine top quality New Zealand experience and should not be missed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfa2k99, Owner at Blackwood House, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

We fully appreciate all of our visitors, writing great, positive comments.
Receiving such comments, from seasoned, much travelled reviewers is always very much appreciated.
Thanking you, from the team at Blackwood House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed at the Blackwood house with myself,my bridesmaids and my mother the night before my wedding, then the wedding night with my husband in February. We truly had an amazing time. Not only were Allan and Margaret accommodating on the nights that we stayed for the wedding but also in the lead up to our big day. This was achieved by allowing us to meet on several occasions at the Blackwood house prior to our wedding to ensure that all our needs would be catered for. We found Allan and Margaret to be as gracious,beautiful and tranquil as their surroundings that is the Blackwood house. It was as if the importance of our day meant as much to them as it did too us,with joyous gestures like expensive champagne,cheese platters and the best breakfast we have ever had. There was no limit to their ability to accommodate our every need,such as allowing our family and friends to visit when needed. Also allowing our wedding photographer to come and take photos at their beautiful home and surrounding gardens. I can not thank you both enough more making the most important day of our lives highly unforgettable. I would have no hesitation in recommending a stay at Blackwood house for one night,two nights or a life time. Forever grateful, Luke and Vanessa Farrell

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllanF369, Owner at Blackwood House, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Mr. & Mrs Farrell, welcome to the World of Wedded Bliss.
We thank you very much for the opportunity, to assist you both, with your plans and all the fun and excitement prior to and on your special day you chose to marry each other.
It was fun for us, meeting and greeting you really was memorable & enjoyable for us , you can be sure.
Perhaps we should encourage you to post some photos on our website?
With the wonderful weather, you were all looking superb and a delight to have stay with us at Blackwood House.
You are welcome to visit at anytime.
Thanking you,
Allan & Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

my wife and I stayed with Allan and Margaret for several nights and enjoyed their accomodations and meals. The house is immaculate and the detail of the building is amazing! We had a large bedroom upstairs that overlooked the rolling hills in dairy country--it was a sight to wake up to. We had absolutely no odors of any animals, they were just pleasant to look at. Allan and Margaret were able to give us good directions and places to visit and helped arrange a dairy visit. Wed loved Blackwood house and woudl definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clayton c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllanF369, Owner at Blackwood House, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Firstly ,thank you Clayton & Karrie for choosing to come and visit us ,while in the Waikato.
It was truly our pleasure to encourage you to explore our region, while visiting us at Blackwood House.
cheers,
Allan & Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
7.1 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
962 reviews
7.0 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,189 reviews
9.0 mi away
Awa Retreat
Awa Retreat
#2 of 24 in Hamilton
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Uliveto B&B
Uliveto B&B
#5 of 24 in Hamilton
43 reviews
6.1 mi away
Argent Motor Lodge
Argent Motor Lodge
#1 of 63 in Hamilton
734 reviews
8.1 mi away
Atrium on Ulster
Atrium on Ulster
#2 of 63 in Hamilton
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwood House

Address: 557a Pencarrow Road | R.d.3, Hamilton 3283, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range: $199 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackwood House,accepts Visa and Mastercard (online and in-house) Blackwood House is an 'American Arts and Crafts' home set on 30 acres of sprawling rolling Waikato farmland.Walk about the property with its large established trees and fine pastures, New Zealand's Waikato is famous for.Enjoy the gardens and lawns about the home while staying with Margaret and Allan.Total privacy can be for you to relax.Enjoy Margaret's food both on arrival and with your choice of breakfasts daily. Dinners can be requested, but incur additional costs.With the close proximity to Cambridge and Hamilton, Blackwood House is very central, for visiting the fine horse studs, the Hobbiton film set .Sanctuary Mountain at Maungatautari,Hamilton Gardens, Raglan's surf beach ,the fabulous Waitomo Caves. We always suggest visiting Mount Maunganui for N.Z.'s best beach & mount walks.If you seek tranquillity, great hospitality, then seriously consider Margaret and Allan's options, we will endeavour to make your visit both enjoyable and memorable always.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blackwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing