We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would highly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Archer Tours

Archer Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$136.35*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Maori Culture, Kiwis, and Geo-Thermal Valleys in...
Ranked #1 of 8 Tours in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“would highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

From start to finish this tour was great. Booking very easy. Jim even emailed to confirm everything was ok days before the trip. We were collected on time, and everything went as expected. Jim is a very organised and professional tour guide. He managed to get one of our party involved with the show, which meant the rest of us could sit in the front row. If you want to take a trip in Tauranga this is the one to choose. Thank you Jim for making our day very memorable.
Lynda T ( 26th Jan 2013)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank william t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    7
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great guide! Great person, Great vehicle - and Great tours.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I contacted Jim from a posting in Trip Advisor. We are just completing an Ocania Cruise of the South Pacific. We were with Jim for 3 days for 3 separate tours. Two of the days were in Tauranga, NZ and one in Auckland, NZ.

Jim picked our group of 10 up at the pier for each of the tours. He was always on-time. His van has dual air-conditioining systems so all were comfortable.

Jim speaks clearly - and his tour were wonderful. Our group saved at least 70% off the ship's tours.

All of will definately use Jim on future trips to New Zealand.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sedona-Joel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
“Auckland 6 hour sightseeing tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful experience using Jim Archer to show us the sights of Auckland on the 4th February 2013. We only had one day in Auckland, as we were cruise line passengers but through Archer tours we got to experience so much in just 6 hours. Jim was punctual, polite, knowledgeable, approachable, friendly and one of the nicest people that we met on our travels. Our two daughters, aged 7 and 5, enjoyed the day as much as we did. I would definately utilize Archer tours again and would definately recommend our experience with Jim. The only disappointment we had was not been able to use Jim for the Rotorua tour as he was already fully booked.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chaninevdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rotorua Tour from Cruise Ship Dock in Tauranga”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This 7.5 hour tour on February 18, 2013 was great. Jim Archer picked up 11 people from my ship (docked in Tauranga) in a new, comfortable van. He was waiting with a sign with my name just inside the port gate about 15 minutes before the pick up time. We did so many things including stop at the Kiwi 360, Okere Falls, Rotoiti Lake to view & photograph swans, gulls and scaup, Rachel Spring, and finally the Te Puia Cultural Center to see the performance and the geysers, both of which were highlights of the day. Jim gave us a guided tour everywhere and lots of information about the Maori people and New Zealand in the bus. I would have had to take several excursions offered by my ship to cover all of these places. It was a great day!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Jim Archer Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I am totally satisfied with Jim Archer and his tour. I found Jim Archer to be congenial and knowledgeable of the Māori history and traditions as well as all things New Zealand. We took Jim’s tour out of Tauranga, NZ, and drove to the Kiwi (fruit) center, a level 5 whitewater challenge, Lake Rotorua, the Geothermal Park and the Maori Culture Center. Jim provided meaningful commentary and answered all our questions along the way.

Obviously in one day it is impossible to visit every interesting site in New Zealand but after the tour you believe you haven’t left much unturned. Along the way we learned about the deer farms, kiwi fruit, pine forestry, opossum introduction and many other facts; without hesitation I recommend Jim Archer Tours to anyone.

Dave Maynard
Weaverville, NC

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Toshiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archer Tours also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Archer Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing