We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in town”
Review of Gothenburg

Gothenburg
Ranked #1 of 389 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Gothenburg serves a great selection of tapas. We focus on having a relaxed atmosphere combined with excellent service. We have a beautiful view of Waikato River from our dining room and outdoor terrace, and are located just a minutes walk from the main street.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I come to Hamilton monthly for work and try to get to Gothenburg most visits. Just had a fantastic evening of tasty tapas, highly recommend the pork belly! Service exceptional as always. I have never been disappointed here, lunch is great too although wish the pizza oven was back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloxy14, Owner at Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

We would love to have the pizza oven back as well but unfortunately space requirements in the kitchen gave us no choice. Who knows what could happen in the future though. We do want to bring them back somehow :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

835 - 839 of 929 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

I've visited this restaurant several times over the last few years, and the food has always been delicious. The tapas is perfect for a group of people to share, and the main meals are great if it's just a dinner for two. The menu changes often enough to keep us coming back, but thankfully my favourite, the pork belly, has never been taken off!

The beers are a great range of the best Europe has to offer, and in most cases are priced not too far different from a pint of mass-produced NZ lager down the road, so much better value for money.

I'd highly recommend this restaurant to anyone, the waiting staff are friendly and attentive, and there's a choice of indoor/outdoor dining.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clarkie96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloxy14, Owner at Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thanks for your response. I think the pork belly will be forever on the menu its a favorite for sure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was in Hamilton for a night and thought I'd give Gothenburg a try. This is such a good bar/restaurant and if you only have time to eat in one place in Hamilton this should be it! Great menu, great staff and an excellent choice of foreign beers. If I'm ever back in Hamilton I'll definitely be visiting Gothenburg again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nickspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloxy14, Owner at Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thanks for your review, we hope you will come back to this lovely city of ours and we'd love to see you at Gothenburg again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just got back from an amazing dinner at Gothenburg. It's wasn't my first time but every time I have been the food is delicious (and not ridiculously priced) and the service is impeccable. The staff are lovely and the waitress we had tonight, along with other wait staff we've had on previous visits, are all really friendly and helpful. The menu changes often so you never end up having to order the same thing you've had before. The affogato was AMAZING!! Definitely my favourite place to go for lunch or dinner or even just a drink and tapas. Thanks again gothenburg!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank paniaelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloxy14, Owner at Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We are so happy you enjoy yourself at Gothenburg your review is exactly how we wanted people to feel when we opened the place. Hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

A group of us went to Gothenburg for dinner and drinks one night. It wasn't too busy but took a long time for the food to come out to us. The food was quite good though. By the end of the night we had about $850 on the bill. We gave the waiter $200 cash and then said to put the rest on the credit card. Instead of only $650 being charged to the credit card, all $850 was and they had kept the cash. We only realised this a few days later and so rang Gothenburg telling them what had happened. They were very rude and said "all our staff are honest and wouldn't do that". We told them to check the security cameras as that would show us handing over the cash but they were reluctant to help. We were very disappointed as we had spent a lot of money that night. We will definitely not be returning after such bad service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
8  Thank Tisha0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlgothenburg, Owner at Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2016

Lets tell our side of the story shall we.
I'll use bullet points to keep it myself from ranting to much about an event that caused us a lot of stress and worry at the time.

- We assume this person did come into our restaurant as they did produce a receipt.
- She came in over three months later. Not, a couple of days later, as stated.
- The sum was not $850 but just shy of $300
- She stated that her husband had just been going over the credit card statement and they only just realised. This is why they were over 3 months later with this complaint.
- She asked us to look at the camera's and we said we couldn't because our footage was only saved for 6 weeks.
- We told her that we were not up $200 in the till as we would have been if we had taken the money and charged the credit card.
- When we told her all this she said that she would go to the police and tell everyone she knew not to come here.
- We had a bad feeling right from the start but being a new restaurant yet to make a profit we were scared of what effect this might have had on us. We had invested everything we had and borrowed more to open Gothenburg. It was scary to think she might be able to ruin us.
- We decided to offer her half the money even though it was something we could not really afford and it felt wrong to offer her anything.
- She declined and said that she wasn't going to let us get away with theft.
- So we offered her a voucher for $200
- She changed her tune immediately and said she would come in to pick it up.
- We felt like we had been blackmailed, so despite the cost to us, we went across the road and bought a voucher from another restaurant telling them to be careful of the person who came in with it.
- We she came to pick it up we told her that we had bought her a voucher for the restaurant across the road because we didn't want her in Gothenburg again.
- She actually snatched the voucher out of my partners hand and very strangely her whole demeanor changed when she had it. She said thank you in a strangely pleasant manner and walked away.
- We were so put off by the way she acted that we went across the road and cancelled the vouchers.
- We rang her to tell her this and she once again threatened to tell everyone she knew.
- By this time we were certain of our position and decided to stick with our gut feeling. We were not prepared to give in to threats.
- After almost 8 years in the business with 3 different hospitality businesses this is still the only time anyone has questioned our integrity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gothenburg also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing