We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont bother”

The Sculpture Park @ Waitakaruru Arboretum
Ranked #25 of 64 things to do in Hamilton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 17.5 hectare (42 acre) Sculpture Park that has three new sculpture exhibitions a year along its 2 kilometre nature trail. The Park is open every day from 10 am until sunset. The sculptures and site-specific installations are made by New Zealand artists or overseas artists visiting NZ.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Dont bother”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Due to financing this place is no longer open so a journey into the country side to see it will be a waste of time. Got there and the price they would have charged was to high anyways.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Waikatosflyingkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
334 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Something different.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I remember when this was a quarry, a very long time ago. Now it is a delightful experience to walk around and see what is possible, and to catch up on the new sculptures.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMBRIDGE New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT DAY OUT”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Okay let's set the scene....we don't live that far from here my son had been there with the school years ago- was back from Uni over the summer so will all decided to pay a visit.

Now something no one can arrange is beautiful weather ( a shame) but we had a stunning day blue skies and sunshine

Now first of all you got to enjoy walking then love art ( in its many forms) and enjoy stunning landscapes ( in this format ) we do and just loved the day all liking different pieces as it was a midweek down season the small cafe caravan set up wasn't opened that would of been nice to grab a drink - so pack some sandwiches cold drinks check there is something showing ( changing all the time ) and hit good weather and hey a great day out

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
218 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A fascinating experience”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I picked a lovely day to visit and really enjoyed walking around the beautiful area. There are many different sculptures to see, and some were really fascinating, like the big dangly mirror one. New sculptures are being created and the whole setting is lovely. Really enjoyed the experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewlzcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“What a delightful place!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Congratulations Dorothy and John for creating this little bit of heaven. Visit if you can and see what 2 passionate people can create in an attempt to make our world a better place.

Starting off some 15 years ago, Dorothy and John bought a disused quarry and its associated 17 hectares of land, that nobody else had any use for. They have worked hard at planting and have lovingly turned it into a beautiful garden surrounded by forest . Here you can go for a 2 km round walk and in the process see an array of sculptures set against a backdrop of streams, ponds, steep cliffs, trees and shrubs. We especially loved the pond in the old quarry which was well-stocked with waterlilies and lotus plants. The sculptures are contemporary and weren't all to our taste but that's the joy of looking at art.

We actually felt good about paying an admission fee, feeling that we were in a small way playing a part in Dorothy and John's project and its environmental and aesthetic contribution.

We were able to makes ourselves a cup of tea or coffee at the beginning and end of our walk which was a very hospitable touch too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GEOMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sculpture Park @ Waitakaruru Arboretum also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to The Sculpture Park @ Waitakaruru Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing