We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LACKING!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Chim-choo-ree

Chim-choo-ree
Ranked #4 of 359 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LACKING!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

This restaurant needs a wake up call if they think they can charge top dollar and serve half a plate of food. Must say the pork entrée was great but should be for 19 dollars! But 2 of us ordered the duck and when it arrived we thought someone was playing a joke! A small chewy breast and apparently the other bit was a lollipop wing ( with no meat on it ). then there were 2 tiny potato bits and a splash of almond cream and some dust I think they call cracked wheat. The actual food portion took up no more than 1 third of the plate!! NOT good enough by any standard. Then there was the mushroom risotto that was far too salty and looked like an entrée for 36 dollars! I really don't enjoy bagging restaurants but this is well deserved. By the way what happened to getting veges with a main meal? 8 dollars for a couple of broccoli sticks is just not right! I think enough people have said how bad the atmosphere is and how noisy it is.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tourismspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    66
    35
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very good food and evening in simplistic surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Very good evening in an interesting. Simplistic type inside decor & menu, good service. Very good food. Starters were very good. Thai fish salad was very tasty. Mains are very good. And an impressive dessert menu and desserts. Palate is still the best in Hamilton, but this is a good alternative

Helpful?
Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had a great dining experience. Good food, good beer n wine and very good service, ALL at modest price. It was a full restaurant and the service was excellent. Only comment that I would make is the restaurant was a little noisy as it was open plan. Only a minor point but well worth a visit. We will be going back for sure. Remember to book

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WOW2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Met a colleague here for lunch. Our total bill came to $99 for 2x meals and 2 bottles of wine. Well worth it. I would have paid more.
DELICIOUS!!! My friend had the Pork belly which she said was "mouth watering". I had Rice Paper Rolls which were devine! The service was really great, friendly but not overbearing. Great environment, meals came out in an appropriate time. A large group was also dining at the same time as us so we expected a delay. But no, meals came out promptly.
The wine was well matched to our meals by the friendly waiter also.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton NZ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“well worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Every dish was well presented and the mix of flavours was outstanding. Nothiing ordinary in the menu at all. Service was excellent

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevejHamiltonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chim-choo-ree also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Chim-choo-ree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing