We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for a good price”
Review of Motel Six Hamilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel Six Hamilton
Ranked #41 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great place for a good price”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

It was a very pleasant stay. I originally only wanted to stay 4 nights but extended to 6 as Hamilton is a nice base to explore the surroundy country. The motel was clean, quiet and centrally located. The staff was very kind and helpful
The place could need a little modernization here and there but everything was in working order and maintained properly, as far as i can tell.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
2
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

the two rooms we booked were very functional for an overnight stay. Lino was a little tired in the bathrooms and could use with updating. we enjoyed our stay there and not sure why this motel did get negative feedback from some travelers as the beds were comfortable and we all had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eggy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The place has been let go. Unit was tired & limited in supplies/utensils etc. No cleaning behind doors etc, & we found rubbish from previous guests left in a wardrobe. Staff were friendly, & the price was cheap, so it's a case of you get what you pay for.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank G00nerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Seems the manager runs the motel and diary across the road as well, all at the same time. The motel is old, and would be ok at normal prices but we were there for Fieldays, and were paying over twice the normal price per night. We were here for 5 nights .Room took a while to heat up and all there is a tiny heater and a wall bar heater - see photos. Manager did offer me another heater if I was still cold.

Bed was comfortable

Rooms are kinda clean, just old and tired. They don't through away your takeaway boxes, even when you leave them by the rubbish bin. Left out last nights butter chicken with no lid on the bench for me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Gisborne
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Now owned by friendly but dodgy proprietors of the Ulster Motor Lodge across the road. Stove elements not working, oven suspect. Missing glassware, cutlery & kitchen utensils. Cleaniness standards have really slipped as we are regular patrons down thru many years. Happy to pay more, move on & stay somewhere better next time.

Room Tip: Beware road traffic noise from Unit 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, had everything i needed, was down for a party, close to shops and city etc, attentive staff, tidy and clean unit, handy dairy across the road good if you have a hangover for some juice or a pie lol

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ofania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was kind of surprised by this place; looked a little dodgy when we pulled up but when we asked to look at the room we were surprised that it was virtually a 2 bedroom apartment. The room was a little old and desperately needed a makeover, but everything was clean and worked. One thing of note was the surprising fact that the guy at reception gave us a pint of milk (I guess for coffee) when we checked in which we got a good laugh out of. The location is pretty decent; about 2-3 blocks away is Speight’s Ale House (which has awesome food and homemade beers) and about a 15 minute walk to Victoria street (again, the nightlife here was insane and we were there on a Tuesday!). Would definitely recommend this hotel: don’t judge a book by its cover; this place is a steal of a deal!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.0 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Gardena Court Motel
#38 of 63 in Hamilton
16 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boundary Court Motor Inn
Boundary Court Motor Inn
#23 of 63 in Hamilton
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Hamilton
Sudima Hotel Hamilton
#47 of 63 in Hamilton
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auto Lodge Motel
Auto Lodge Motel
#22 of 63 in Hamilton
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asure Barclay Motel
Asure Barclay Motel
#29 of 63 in Hamilton
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Six Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Six Hamilton

Property: Motel Six Hamilton
Address: 30 Abbotsford Street, | Whitiora, Hamilton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel Six Hamilton 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REST FOR LESS. 10 minutes walk to town centre. 5 minutes walk to supermarket, riverside walks and golf range. 15 minutes walk to Founders Theatre and Westpac Park. Waikato's new rugby stadium is only 300 metres away. Close to the lake, golf club, Waterworld and Hamilton Zoo. 8 sunny and spacious 1-bedroom units (sleep 1-5). All windows are double glazed. Quality double & queen-size beds. Continental breakfast available served into unit. Full kitchens, microwave, fridge, electric blankets and 4 Sky Channels (Sky Movies. Sky Sports 1, 2 & 3) . Free DVD player hire. Broadband internet connections in all units. Guest laundry and off-street parking. Cot, hairdryer, iron/ironing board available on request. On the main road to Auckland. Open for late-night travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Motel Six Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing