We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down and noisy”

Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The carpets were dirty, the walls chipped and paint peeling off. The road noise kept us awake until well after midnight, after some guests decided to use the pool, despite it being closed. The noise insulation between the rooms and floors is non existent. We purchased WIFI access for $ 9.50 for 24 hours only to find out it only works in reception. What is the use of that? The shower is installed over the bath, with not anti slip mat or covering in the bath. No air-conditioning and only 2 little windows at the top which opened up. A very hot and stuffy night. Bedding uncomfortable.

Room Tip: As for a room out the back, not facing the pool or the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gipsy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonAirportMot, General Manager at Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are in the process of auditing our rooms with the intention of a soft refurbishment when occupancy allows. We have upgraded our WIFI however seems we have an issue with the block of rooms where you stayed. Will get in touch with our provider to find a solution as it is necessary to have a good system in place for our guests. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We do hope that you will stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 69 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very pleasant helpful staff made an impression. Well equipped, clean ,warm rooms with generous sized bathrooms. So handy to Airport, Mystery Creek events centre, and three golf courses. Enjoyable bar ambience with an adequate selection of meals from the restaurant.Is very good value for services offered.

Room Tip: Rooms facing West for early morning sun are the pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonAirportMot, General Manager at Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel two weeks ago before catching an early flight to Christchurch and on to Queenstown for a weeks skiing. Found the room very clean and comfortable. There were 5 of us in 3 rooms and everyone was happy. Great position just across from the terminal. We had a few drinks and a very nice meal in the restaurant. We were allowed to leave our cars there for a week free of charge so all in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonAirportMot, General Manager at Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return in the future. Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The bar staff, very pleasant. The location great...if your flying.


That is all this Inn has going for it. Rooms are cold, The bedding is shocking, If the owners read these reviews please take this information onboard. Small changes ....big difference.

Room Tip: The rooms " at the back " are slightly better. These rooms have a spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dugger79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonAirportMot, General Manager at Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We have in planning a soft upgrade to the furnishings in the near future and bedding is on the agenda. We do hope that you would choose to stay with us again and notice changes that have been made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Was attending conference so was staying there for 2 nights. Situation is something that is a real disadvantage, need to travel into Hamilton to dine out..there was a restaurant there but if it was anything like the motor inn wouldn't want to eat there!
Two of us were staying, the rooms definitely look tired and need a coat of paint. There was a fridge with 1 wine glass, NO bottle opener, bowls only 2 cups and 2 teaspoons, so my friend ended up eating her breakfast - muesli out of a cup! It's not as if though the place was the very cheapest to stay! A real ripoff!
The parking at the place VERY TIGHT and the actual catering for the conference (imagine it was all part of the place a real time warp! Sloppy things in bain marie, rice, savouries and club sandwiches (dry) just not acceptable for the 2013s!!!!!!!!!!!! There were at least 180 at this conference and no where to sit and eat either - to balance a plate etc quite tricky! With the price the conference was a proportion of that would have gone to catering and those involved need to have a look elsewhere and see what is being offered! There was SO much food too and surprise surprise LOTS left!!!!!!!!!! Was so pleased to have transport so we could go and eat at one of the wonderful cafes in Hamilton in the evening!
If tourists are staying over for the night or attending conferences it would be a rude awakening to how things are in 2013 ..this is NOT 1970s with rundown rooms, and slop food!

Room Tip: Don't know if there is one! DO NOT CHOOSE THIS PLACE! BUT probably rooms on lower floor mean yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElsaMiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonAirportMot, General Manager at Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review on your recent stay with us. We do admit that some of our rooms require soft refurbishment however we would like to point out that we rebranded last year from a Motor Inn to a Hotel. We are a Qualmark 3 Star Plus property in the Hotel category and to qualify for this rating we need to provide a 24 hour Reception and Restaurant to the star rating along with the amenities in the room. Some of the items which would normally be found in an Inn would not be found in a Hotel. However having twenty four hour Reception available to all house guests ensures that we can provide a service when asked for. The Standard Studio room is limited in what is provided however we do have Apartments which are set up for self catering guests. We were displeased to see that the Catering for the Conference was not up to your standards. This is one area which we normally have no issues with.We received a lot of positive feedback from attendees and the organisor at the conclusion of the Conference. The menus were authorised by the organisor and one stipulation was that we over cater which would explain the left over Lunch. All our catering is made daily from fresh ingredients which is also applicable to our Restaurant which unfortunately for us you dined in town. Good to see though that you enjoyed the wonderful Cafe's Hamilton has to offer. Once again thank you for taking the time to submit your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The motel has a good position close ot the airport so its ideal for an early flight but....

The room was clean but the rodent poision sticking out from underneath the fridge suggested there were other visitors in our room.

there weren't the usual faciltiies you'd expect in a motel room (microwave etc) so you are pretty much forced to eat in their restuarnat unless you are willing to drive 20 - 30 minutes to somewhere else.

In the morning the breakfast in the resturant was anything special but the attention was dsitracted from the buffet by the empty dinning room that was full of tables that hadn't been cleaned after previous dinners had left.

Room Tip: Personally I'd go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonAirportMot, General Manager at Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. A couple of issues which we need to address pointed out by you namely the measures we put in to control any pests and their location. We have recently rebranded to a Hotel which does change our in room criteria. Being a 3 Star Qualmark Property we provide a Restaurant which is open for Breakfast and Dinner and on your stay appears we were busy for Breakfast. We do hope that you stay with us again and notice changes from your previous stay.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed one night at the Hamilton Airport Motor Inn. Every other hotel and motel was booked out in Hamilton due to an event in the city. So, there was literally no other place to stay.

The staff were really friendly to me, but there were 4 staff members in the reception, one checking me in and the other 3 gossiping about something or other, quite loudly, I found it extremely unprofessional.

The room itself was adequate, it had a queen and a single bed, a table and a couple of chairs, but it is not a place that I would like to spend a lot of time. Luckily I had a car and could head into the city for a meal. Upon my return to the room, I found the lighting very dim, I switched on all the lights in the room and the two lamps, but it was still very dim and unpleasant.

On the plus side, the wi-fi was very reasonable, $9.50 for an unlimited, average speed connection. You could watch a YouTube video without it buffering every 30 seconds but at least it wasn't as over priced as some other hotels / motels in the area.

I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelmodeEngaged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonAirportMot, General Manager at Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and appreciate that we need to be mindful of appropriate areas to hold any conversations work related. We are aware that we need to uplift areas of our accommodation and are progressively working through the accommodation. It was a pity you did not try our Restaurant as this is a very favourable aspect of our property. We do hope you will try us again in the future and see any improvements made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
5.2 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
6.5 mi away
Kelly Rd Cambridge Lodge
Kelly Rd Cambridge Lodge
#1 of 8 in Cambridge
63 reviews
7.9 mi away
Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
130 reviews
5.6 mi away
VR Hamilton Hotel
VR Hamilton Hotel
#39 of 63 in Hamilton
393 reviews
6.5 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre

Address: Airport Rd, Hamilton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: $71 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing