We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't go back and would not recommend!”

Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre
Ranked #36 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Was attending conference so was staying there for 2 nights. Situation is something that is a real disadvantage, need to travel into Hamilton to dine out..there was a restaurant there but if it was anything like the motor inn wouldn't want to eat there!
Two of us were staying, the rooms definitely look tired and need a coat of paint. There was a fridge with 1 wine glass, NO bottle opener, bowls only 2 cups and 2 teaspoons, so my friend ended up eating her breakfast - muesli out of a cup! It's not as if though the place was the very cheapest to stay! A real ripoff!
The parking at the place VERY TIGHT and the actual catering for the conference (imagine it was all part of the place a real time warp! Sloppy things in bain marie, rice, savouries and club sandwiches (dry) just not acceptable for the 2013s!!!!!!!!!!!! There were at least 180 at this conference and no where to sit and eat either - to balance a plate etc quite tricky! With the price the conference was a proportion of that would have gone to catering and those involved need to have a look elsewhere and see what is being offered! There was SO much food too and surprise surprise LOTS left!!!!!!!!!! Was so pleased to have transport so we could go and eat at one of the wonderful cafes in Hamilton in the evening!
If tourists are staying over for the night or attending conferences it would be a rude awakening to how things are in 2013 ..this is NOT 1970s with rundown rooms, and slop food!

Room Tip: Don't know if there is one! DO NOT CHOOSE THIS PLACE! BUT probably rooms on lower floor mean yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElsaMiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonAirportMot, General Manager at Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review on your recent stay with us. We do admit that some of our rooms require soft refurbishment however we would like to point out that we rebranded last year from a Motor Inn to a Hotel. We are a Qualmark 3 Star Plus property in the Hotel category and to qualify for this rating we need to provide a 24 hour Reception and Restaurant to the star rating along with the amenities in the room. Some of the items which would normally be found in an Inn would not be found in a Hotel. However having twenty four hour Reception available to all house guests ensures that we can provide a service when asked for. The Standard Studio room is limited in what is provided however we do have Apartments which are set up for self catering guests. We were displeased to see that the Catering for the Conference was not up to your standards. This is one area which we normally have no issues with.We received a lot of positive feedback from attendees and the organisor at the conclusion of the Conference. The menus were authorised by the organisor and one stipulation was that we over cater which would explain the left over Lunch. All our catering is made daily from fresh ingredients which is also applicable to our Restaurant which unfortunately for us you dined in town. Good to see though that you enjoyed the wonderful Cafe's Hamilton has to offer. Once again thank you for taking the time to submit your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 67 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

The motel has a good position close ot the airport so its ideal for an early flight but....

The room was clean but the rodent poision sticking out from underneath the fridge suggested there were other visitors in our room.

there weren't the usual faciltiies you'd expect in a motel room (microwave etc) so you are pretty much forced to eat in their restuarnat unless you are willing to drive 20 - 30 minutes to somewhere else.

In the morning the breakfast in the resturant was anything special but the attention was dsitracted from the buffet by the empty dinning room that was full of tables that hadn't been cleaned after previous dinners had left.

Room Tip: Personally I'd go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonAirportMot, General Manager at Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. A couple of issues which we need to address pointed out by you namely the measures we put in to control any pests and their location. We have recently rebranded to a Hotel which does change our in room criteria. Being a 3 Star Qualmark Property we provide a Restaurant which is open for Breakfast and Dinner and on your stay appears we were busy for Breakfast. We do hope that you stay with us again and notice changes from your previous stay.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed one night at the Hamilton Airport Motor Inn. Every other hotel and motel was booked out in Hamilton due to an event in the city. So, there was literally no other place to stay.

The staff were really friendly to me, but there were 4 staff members in the reception, one checking me in and the other 3 gossiping about something or other, quite loudly, I found it extremely unprofessional.

The room itself was adequate, it had a queen and a single bed, a table and a couple of chairs, but it is not a place that I would like to spend a lot of time. Luckily I had a car and could head into the city for a meal. Upon my return to the room, I found the lighting very dim, I switched on all the lights in the room and the two lamps, but it was still very dim and unpleasant.

On the plus side, the wi-fi was very reasonable, $9.50 for an unlimited, average speed connection. You could watch a YouTube video without it buffering every 30 seconds but at least it wasn't as over priced as some other hotels / motels in the area.

I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelmodeEngaged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonAirportMot, General Manager at Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and appreciate that we need to be mindful of appropriate areas to hold any conversations work related. We are aware that we need to uplift areas of our accommodation and are progressively working through the accommodation. It was a pity you did not try our Restaurant as this is a very favourable aspect of our property. We do hope you will try us again in the future and see any improvements made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Don't bother. Old rundown and dirty. Staff not pleasant.
Drive into the city,much better accomadition

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Aircrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonAirportMot, General Manager at Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your contribution. I have responded in the past and reiterate we are progressively going through the refurbishment of our 63 rooms and due to occupancy rates we do have to work around our higher occupancy times. We do however acknowledge that we have a number of rooms with dated interiors and plan to have them attended to in the coming months. Regards the cleanliness of our rooms, this is one area even though their age we have experienced little issues. Our Housekeeping Team and quite particular on their standards. We do hope you return in the future to see what progressive changes have taken place and enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Very noisy place, what with aircraft on one side and highway on other. Very basic acommodation needs an interior "do-up"., but I guess it's OK for taking flights.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerandGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonAirportMot, General Manager at Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback on our Accommodation. We are in the process of refurbishing the block of rooms you stayed in and can assure you the dated curtains and bedspreads are first to be replaced. The Hamilton Airport is an International Airport with four flights to Brisbane which arrive at midnight however domestic flights cease at around 8.30pm and recommence at 0730. There is a Pilot Training base located at the airport which could have been active that night as they have night training on occasions however no Commercial Aircraft are active during the night. We do hope you will stay again and see an improvement in our standard of accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I was trout fishing 10 minutes south of Cambridge and decided that I wanted to stay the night and fish some more in the morning, this hotel was handy for me as I didnt want to drive back up to the Tron.

Room was ok, spacious, room service meal ok, staff friendly. Would stay again if the fish were biting again. Room rate is good for room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonAirportMot, General Manager at Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. When the Hotel was built spacious rooms were intended however they are in need of updating. Good to see our Housekeeping Team are keeping a good standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Not to be recommended! The only reason you would stay here is if you had a very very early flight out the next morning and absolutley no way of driving from anywhere else in the area. It is ceratinly very close to the airport which is why we chose it despite the lack lustre reviews but not only were we kept awake by plans coming and going at all hours but endlessly by each and every announcement given over the airport PA system regarding departure tax and not leaving your bags unattended. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, so illuminated hotel signs shone straight through the drapes but although the single beds were ok the main bed was so uncomfortable I ended up sleeping on the couch, and the fold out bed a mass of elderly springs that made it impossible to sleep on also. The bathroom plumbing was so noisy that if anyone had a shower it woke everyone upstairs in any event. I could live with the furntiure and furnishings but having to face an international flight with three very tired children after a terrible night is not to be contemplated lightly.

Room Tip: Avoid if there are alternatives
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonAirportMot, General Manager at Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. Commercial Flights at Hamilton Airport cease around 830pm and recommence at around 0730. There are four International Flights from Brisbane which arrive at midnight. The PA System is one that we will address with the airport. I suppose it is one issue that has never been brought to our attention and one we will address with the Airport. We have blackout curtains being made for the two bedroom apartments as upon checking the rooms at night the light from the signs is very apparent. There was an issue with our Plumbing and has been resolved. There was a leak which has since been repaired. Once again thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.5 mi away
The Narrows Landing
The Narrows Landing
#30 of 63 in Hamilton
54 reviews
5.7 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,177 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#10 of 63 in Hamilton
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
6.6 mi away
Abbots Hamilton Hotel and Conference Centre
4.8 mi away
Aspen Manor Motel
Aspen Manor Motel
#22 of 63 in Hamilton
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre

Address: Airport Rd, Hamilton, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: $68 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing