We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay with great hosts.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shailers Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 24 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2009

We booked our stay a few months ahead and from the start you could tell that Dianna & Charlie were going to be great hosts. They emailed directions and a menu for us to look over before we arrived. We rang from Waitomo Caves after we remembered we hadn't ordered a meal. What sort of meal would you like she asked? The steak and crumble springs to mind I said. No problem said Dianna. We arrived with a warm welcome and drink. Charlie cooked the steak to perfection. One of their own cows actually. One of the best we tasted in NZ.

The room was all you could want for a relaxing nights sleep and the bed was the most comfortable we had slept in on our six week holiday. The ensuite had a lovely shower and was very up to date. The view from the window was very impressive. The full breakfast was equally high standard, as was the whole stay.

We would certainly recommend this farm stay to anyone.
Our only one regret is that we only had one nights stay.

Robert & Sheila.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertSUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 99 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2009

I visited Charlie and Dianna in mid February, whilst making a difficult visit to my dying brother in nearby Hamilton.
From the moment I was exchanging emails with them (from Spain)about the reservation to the sad moment I left them after three days, they could not have done more to make me welcome. I was emailed directions on how to drive from the hospital to their house, and the directions were spot on.
I was unsure exactly when I would arrive at their homestead, but they said "not to worry, we understand and we´ll see you when we see you." A double room for me as a singleton? No problem.
I arrived on the appointed day, but without notice whilst they were having dinner. No problem Pull up a chair, here´s a glass of wine and food will be with you in five minutes.
The bedroom was extremely comfortable in a newly built annex to the old house and the bathroom was sparklingly clean and bright with everything you could want. Hot fluffy towels, bathrobe, shampoos etc.
Breakfast in the dining room next to a huge guest living room suite that contained both a very large TV and, next door, a snooker table. Board games and books abounded if the weather closed in .
Waking up early (jetlag) I wandered into the kitchen and raided the fridge for fresh milk for a cuppa. When I reported my theft a fe hours later, "no problem, we´re glad that you threated the place like home". "Could I throw some clothes into your washing machine?" "Sure. No charge" And the dried clothes were folded up ready for me to iron, where necessary.
On my final morning, I was invited to breakfast with the family, rather than be on my own,
Oh, and internet access whenever you wanted it - free.
I could not have found a more confortable place with the warmest welcome imaginable . Charlie and Dianna are a world class act. Pay them a visit.
Recommended? Sure. Many times over.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FilipeSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2008

Our family had the priviledge of staying at the Shailers Bed and Breakfast in September 2008. Their B&B is on an operating dairy farm about 15 minutes south of Hamilton, New Zealand. Their home is a fantastic place to have a B&B with great views of the surrounding country side as well as the mountains. The main bedroom is large and has a very nice ensuite. There are 2 smaller bedrooms also with private baths. The home is lovely and inviting, set up very well for guests.

The breakfast was wonderful and we had the option of ordering our breakfast the previous evening from a short menu. Dinner is also available for guests at rates that would be comparable to restaurants.

They have internet avaialble for their guests. We had a terrific time getting to know our hosts Charlie and Dianna Shailer. The entire stay well exceeded our expectations and we would be pleased to return,

Our experience was a first rate stay and we would encourage others to experience an operating dairy farm and great interaction with fantastic local people.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MarkdMarkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank simsimsayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShailersBnB, Owner at Shailers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: la chambre Deluxe est la plus grande avec une double vue sur la campagne et sur le jardin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank e642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShailersBnB, Owner at Shailers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShailersBnB, Owner at Shailers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
Thank 久美子高2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShailersBnB, Owner at Shailers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
4.1 mi away
Rua Resort
Rua Resort
#4 of 24 in Hamilton
39 reviews
10.1 mi away
Blackwood House
Blackwood House
#3 of 24 in Hamilton
79 reviews
7 mi away
Argent Motor Lodge
Argent Motor Lodge
#1 of 63 in Hamilton
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Awa Retreat
Awa Retreat
#2 of 24 in Hamilton
43 reviews
1 mi away
Uliveto B&B
Uliveto B&B
#6 of 24 in Hamilton
43 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shailers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shailers Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1447 Kakaramea Road | Rd 10, Hamilton 3290, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range: $120 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shailer homestead is a 90 minutes drive south of Auckland International Airport. It is situated on State Highway 39 which connects directly to highway 1 at the south end on Ngaruawahia and is en-route to the Waitomo Glow Worm Caves. Hamilton City is just a 12 minute drive from Shailers which is internationally renowned for its themed gardens and many restaurants. Your hosts Charlie & Dianna Shailer offer a luxurious home-stay and tours of their four hundred cow dairy farm which is now managed by their son. The distinctive and beautiful Pirongia Mountain is the backdrop to their picturesque 128 hectare (318 acres) property. Mount Pirongia offers a variety of tracks for all levels of fitness. The quaint seaside village of Raglan on the west coast offers surfers the challenge of a left-hand surf break and is only 40 minutes drive from Shailers. Shailers is also 10 minutes drive to Vilagrad Winery, 15 minutes to the Mystery Creek event centre, 60 minutes to Hobbiton and less than 90 minutes to the thermal capital of the world, Rotorua. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing