We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with excellent accommodation and charming hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shailers Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 24 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were looked after in style by Charlie and Dianne. Our visit was far too short. Accommodation was excellent surrounded by well maintained gardens. Would recommend to anyone who wants to be well looked after in very pleasant surroundings by charming and attentive hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShailersBnB, Owner at Shailers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Hi Valerie, Thank you for taking the time to place a review. We really appreciate guests doing this. We are getting very dry now with no rain in sight so the watering continues in the gardens. We wish you a happy and adventurous 2013. Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 93 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed one night with Charlie and Dianna at their lovely home/B&B on their dairy ranch which is a really beautiful property. When we pulled up in front of the house, we were so warmly greeted, we felt as if we were visiting family. That aura of warmth, friendliness and hospitality was present throughout our too short stay. We had a spacious deluxe bedroom and bathroom with a slider going out to a common patio. After we were settled in our room, we were offered our choice of a beverage and some snacks. Although we did not give them much advance notice about our interest in having a farm tour, or having dinner with them, they rallied and were able to accommodate both requests graciously. Breakfast was delicious including fresh orange juice and eggs benedict. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and consider it to be one of the better trip choices we made when planing our New Zealand adventure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curlytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShailersBnB, Owner at Shailers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Hi Howard and Sharyn,
Glad to hear you are safely home. Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We had a good rain on Feb 4th and 5th but getting very dry again now. We are watering the gardens every day. Best wishes for your future travel.
Charlie and Dianna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We booked at this B&B one week before arriving. I was impressed with the organisation of Dianna and Charlie, They forwarded us their menu for both breakfast and dinner to choose from.

The property was easily found on our GPS, in the beautiful country-side of the Waikato. Rolling hills, emerald green grass, gracious trees and animals grazing in the fields.

The access is well marked and we drove along their long paved driveway to their large home-stead. Dianna greeted us warmly and we were shown to our comfortable room which had the private well equipped and spacious bathroom immediately across the hall-way.

Our bedroom opened to the deck to the most beautiful rural view and their immaculate beautiful garden. We were treated to some refreshments including very tasty home-made cake with tea, we could have had wine as this was also offered.

Our dinner was delicious and Dianna and Charlie joined us which was most enjoyable, they are very hospitable and made us feel very welcome.

We fully recommend The Shailer's Bed and Breakfast, you wouldn't find one better. Close to Hamilton and Cambridge and very well placed on the tourist route going north or south.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10Woodford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShailersBnB, Owner at Shailers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your generous and comprehensive review. We enjoy the stimulating conversations, sharing our home and garden with you and appreciate your feed back. We hope you have a successful season this summer and autumn. Cheers Charlie and Dianna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful views from the shared lounge and a very quiet place to stay and relax.

The Shailers make you feel part of the family and a great breakfast.

Dianna even came and picked up myself and another guest from a wedding we were attending down the road at midnight - now that is service!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taffyjonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShailersBnB, Owner at Shailers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Hi Folks, Thanks for posting your review. It was a pleasure to host you. What goes around comes around. We believe that in showing kindness others will show kindness and the world will be a better place. All the best for your futures, Charlie and Dianna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed here on the way to the Caves as it was closer than staying in downtown Hamilton. The Caves are only 40 minutes away. Charlie and Dianna are the nicest people. We were greeted with delicious homemade carrot cake and Anzac biscuits. We had ordered dinner ahead of time as we didn't want to have to think about finding a restaurant after a long day's drive from Paihia (with many stops along the way). We were very glad we did. A great meal from Dianna and lovely banter from our 'waiter' Charlie. Lots of wine talk as well. We were sorry we didn't have the chance to go on the farm tour with Charlie. The rooms were just wonderful (and they had the yummy Anzac biscuits, too). I didn't realise the flowers (including the ones in our room) were real until I touched them. We were delighted with our room and our friends were too with the larger ensuite room. Both rooms opened up onto the patio. Having our own lounge room and billiard room also made us feel very special. The next morning, after a wonderful breakfast, Dianna sent us on our way with instructions and maps. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaraMalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShailersBnB, Owner at Shailers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Hi Barbara, Thanks so much for giving such an informative review. That must be really helpful to other travelers en route to the Waitomo Caves. Needless to say we enjoyed you staying. We all had a great evening ..... and my opinion remains unchanged ..... Australia still make the best Red Wine in the world. Happy and safe travels in the future. Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This place is great. Beautiful property, the best breakfast we had in whole 5 week trip. The host and hostess are the best. She left two great home made cookies in room and fresh flowers!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakkiSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShailersBnB, Owner at Shailers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Thanks so much for your kind review. We love hosting overseas guests like yourselves. We think we are the lucky ones. All the best for your future travels, Charlie and Dianna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Charley and Diana are great hosts. the room was fantastic and everything was taken care of for us. We ordered dinner ahead of time and had a fabulous meal at a very reasonable extra charge.

Room Tip: order dinner ahead of time and you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HartlandWisMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShailersBnB, Owner at Shailers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Is it really 6 weeks ago since you were here. Thank you for posting a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It is raining hard so I get to stay in side and catch up on office work. Lots of cheers to you from us in New Zealand.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
8.1 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#10 of 63 in Hamilton
954 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#17 of 63 in Hamilton
120 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Uliveto B&B
Uliveto B&B
#4 of 24 in Hamilton
43 reviews
7.0 mi away
Argent Motor Lodge
Argent Motor Lodge
#1 of 63 in Hamilton
725 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rua Resort
Rua Resort
#5 of 24 in Hamilton
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shailers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shailers Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1447 Kakaramea Road | Rd 10, Hamilton 3290, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range: $120 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shailer homestead is a 90 minutes drive south of Auckland International Airport. It is situated on State Highway 39 which connects directly to highway 1 at the south end on Ngaruawahia and is en-route to the Waitomo Glow Worm Caves. Hamilton City is just a 12 minute drive from Shailers which is internationally renowned for its themed gardens and many restaurants. Your hosts Charlie & Dianna Shailer offer a luxurious home-stay and tours of their four hundred cow dairy farm which is now managed by their son. The distinctive and beautiful Pirongia Mountain is the backdrop to their picturesque 128 hectare (318 acres) property. Mount Pirongia offers a variety of tracks for all levels of fitness. The quaint seaside village of Raglan on the west coast offers surfers the challenge of a left-hand surf break and is only 40 minutes drive from Shailers. Shailers is also 10 minutes drive to Vilagrad Winery, 15 minutes to the Mystery Creek event centre, 60 minutes to Hobbiton and less than 90 minutes to the thermal capital of the world, Rotorua. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing