We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely garden”
Review of Hamilton Gardens

Hamilton Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$11.41*
and up
Hamilton Gardens Guided Tour
Ranked #1 of 64 things to do in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore an enchanting world of secret gardens. Transport yourself through time and to far-flung corners of the world. Meander through a lush tropical jungle, visit ancient China and indulge yourself in a Renaissance Prince's 16th century garden. Five garden collections have been created to delight the senses, with some garden concepts reaching back 4,000 years. Hamilton Gardens is a conceptual garden based in the Waikato that explores the context, history and meaning of gardens through time, and from around the world. It is internationally recognised for its unique concept and is the Waikato region's most popular tourist destination. Only five minutes drive from Hamilton's CBD, the Gardens is open 7 days a week during daylight hours and entry and parking is free. Access is off SH1, alongside Cobham Drive on the southern side of Hamilton.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A lovely garden”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was a very cleverly laid out garden. We loved the series of interconnecting gardens with different themes and spent a long time in them. It would be difficult to say which one we liked best but the three that stick in my mind are the Mogul, Italian and Japanese gardens. We took a lot of photos! We then tooka long walk around some of the rest of the gardens lingering in the rose garden in particular. We stayed for hours altogether and enjoyed every minute of it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AirFresheners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,807
    444
    50
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Take time to smell the Roses.”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I have visited this beautiful public garden park on many occasions, the most recent of which was February 2013. It was, once again a pleasure to visit these free-to-view gardens, which notably feature five geographically themed specialist gardens. It is always great fun to compare them for their beauty through the different seasons, this visit our personal prize being won by the colourful Indian garden. I have to say we are often disappointed in the somewhat bland English garden…maybe the English summers have not been too good recently? Also worthy of a visit are the Maori Garden, the Sustainable “Back Yard” garden and the recently established, but not yet complete Tudor Garden.

Hamilton is, in itself, a somewhat understated town in North Island New Zealand, with many attractions, including a beautiful walk around the lake in the middle of the town, and of course, the mighty Waikato river itself which fringes the gardens and which is easily accessible as a part of your walk around the gardens and which borders the Chinese Garden, the Italian Renaissance Garden and the Indian Garden. To access this, you just leave the gardens, cross the road and the beginning of a lovely one hour riverside walk is at your feet.

The Gardens offer many opportunities for relaxation and picnics amid all manner of themes, roses, trees, lakeside or parkland to name a few. There is also a shop, selling souvenirs and botanical items, although I have never really been impressed with the stock of plants they have for sale. However, the huge veggie and fruit gardens are not to be missed and, if you can find a one of the growers on site you will be treated to a master-class in horticulture...just ask the question stand back and take notes!

Parking is excellent and the Gardens are well signposted. However, for the ideal and most relaxing meander, avoid the weekends and school holidays…and take time to smell the roses.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter3152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

A really well kept and beautiful place. I particularly loved the Italian and Indian themed gardens, along with the Maori area to embrace the local culture!
Also ate in the cafe at the entrance which was nice but unfortunately had a severe influx of flies which wasn't pleasant!
If you visit here make sure to go to the buildings at the end near the conference/reception area and check out the huge wooden carving, that is a phenomenal piece of art work which both kids and adults can appreciate.
Best thing, the gardens are free entry!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cococlarebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We really loved the various gardens from around the world and from different eras.The indian,and the Maori village garden were fascinating.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank denoYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens well worth a visit”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beautiful arranged gardens which will take you into different worlds. We spend easy half a day in there. Good parking, nice cafe and friendly visitor information.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank UliK834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamilton Gardens also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Hamilton Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing