We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“International Hotel Quality...but a small friendly motel!”
Review of Ballinor Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballinor Motor Inn
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Waipu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“International Hotel Quality...but a small friendly motel!”
Reviewed April 15, 2010

What a fantastic little find this place was. We were travelling the North Island with the kids and made a call to stay over in Hamilton, so searched out a 2 Bedroom Unit and found Ballinor on the web.
Right from the first phone call David was on to it, advised us of the space, beds, double bathrooms and facilities. Excellent, just what we wanted!
When we arrived we were shown to our unit, how to use the heat pump, the two LCD TVs and so on.
We were tired from travelling and this place is perfectly set up. The Spa Bath got good use as soon as we arrived and we enjoyed relaxing and ordering in from the well prepared selection of local eateries.
And there is free Wireless so we can catch up online too!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wortho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    32
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
60
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2009

My partner and I stayed here during the Tri Nations. It was really hard to find anywhere to stay around this time but we managed to find Ballinor during our search. We read other peoples reviews on tripadvisor saying it was a great place to stay and they were right. Ballinor was outstandingly clean, lovely and Dave the host was so sweet. We found nothing wrong with this place, we'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

My partner & I live in Perth, Australia. We recently spent over a month traveling in NZ. The Ballinor was by far the best motel we stayed in during our trip. It was spotlessly clean, the room was modern & beautifully furnished with big comfy beds & all the comforts of home. It was the only motel we found had a flat screen tv with more than enough channels available for any tv addict. Both being smokers, we appreciated the private courtyard. The owner, David, was very friendly & helpful. He treated us like family & made our 2 day stay most enjoyable. Wish we could have stayed longer..we will be back! A lovely motel for a great price & a great host....would recommend to anyone. Thanks heaps David for your hospitality. Christine & Shane, Perth Australia.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Arrived late and very tired from Australia to be warmly greeted by David - lovely man! Wish we were staying more than one night . Found immaculately clean and cosy 1 bedroom motel for 5 of us. Excellent shower and confortable beds. No street noise. Will definitely recommend and will be back next time in Hamilton. Keep up the excellent standards!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed there for 2 nights in Aug 09 & wished we could have extended our stay! Lovely Inn, spotlessly clean, friendly service by David Walter, who I think owns the Inn. Reception had a fridge selling cheap drinks & snacks (unlike other accommodations where snacks are always overpriced). We booked a standard room but were given a free upgrade to the Loft. Despite being next to a busy road, the room was quiet at night, giving us very restful sleep. The Inn is conveniently located and is only a short drive to the city. Only negative point was the pillows which were too soft - we had to roll our jackets up and place them under our pillows. Apart from this, everything else was great and I highly recommend this Inn to anyone visiting Hamilton.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank strawberrychocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Auckland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

I came to the Ballinor to get out of Auckland and do a bit of study, so I really wanted a nice environment as I knew I'd be staying indoors quite a bit. Well, I found it at the Ballinor - very very clean with beautiful modern surroundings. The studio unit was compact but not cramped, and it was decorated very stylishly in neutral colours. The small courtyard outside was a nice touch too. The service was great, very helpful and friendly (even the cleaner was a sweetheart!) There was nothing that I could fault, and I would thoroughly recommend the Ballinor.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarnsdubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turangi
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Stay here so many times we always stayed here when we were in Hamilton love staying here & Brent & I enjoyed staying here will miss staying here when we go to Australia but i think it is lovely motel to stay in :) Brent & Judy Connolly

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smileygalnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
238 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,132 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#8 of 63 in Hamilton
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
1.3 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atrium on Ulster
Atrium on Ulster
#2 of 63 in Hamilton
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinor Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinor Motor Inn

Property: Ballinor Motor Inn
Address: 295 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballinor Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballinor Motor Inn is one of Hamilton's newest motels. We opened in Late 2009. We provide modern, warm, clean & comfortable accommodation at affordable prices. We are located on Ulster Street in Hamilton and are within easy walking distance to the city centre, Restaurants, Cafes and Supermarkets. Only 300 metres to Waikato Stadium and 100 metres to a Pro-Drive golf range. Our accommodation has a variety of room types, studios & family units, spa baths, some with private courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballinor Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing