We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Ranked #11 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed for a night at Ventura, staff were friendly, the room was clean and the continental buffet breakfast put us to a good start for a new day. I would highly recommend Ventura to anyone wanting value for money in terms of accommodation, it felt like home - nothing luxurious but so comfortable it's enjoyable!

Room Tip: If travelling as family (which is what we did, family of 4) the one bedroom with sofa bed in lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneCApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    157
    44
    10
    2
See reviews for
74
127
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Visiting Hamilton for a couple of days of conference. Great location, handy to shops and restaurants. The motel rooms are clean & comfortable. Plenty of free parking. Would be happy to stay here again :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I like the rooms, which are very clean and I like having a bath, not just a shower. The free breakfast is a bonus that makes the price worthwhile and the breakfast area is handy during the day for hanging out. Free parking, mostly undercover, which is great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Walking distance to lots of eateries, covering wide range of tastes and prices. Comfortable room, clean and roomy for travellers. Breakfast was included also. Good location for catching a flight from Auckland next afternoon. We walked to the lake also for a coffee and a break after we arrived - bit of a climb but worth it. Glad we asked at the desk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip_and_Honor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed one night in Hamilton to go to Raglan beach and to see the Hamilton Gardens. The hotel was in a good location within walking distance of the city centre. There are some good reasonably priced cafes and restaurants close by. The room was comfortable and the continental free breakfast was a great bonus. The free parking was handy as the city is mainly paid parking. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saff47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Have stayed there many times and have never had cause for complaint. Unfortunately not this time. There has been a water leak near reception and the corridor from there to the accommodation wreaked of wet carpet. Our deluxe suite room was clean and tidy as per normal.All was fine until about 10.00pm when one of the rooms above us decided to turn on the jets in their spa bath for 45 minutes. It felt like our whole room was vibrating. Reception offered to move us to another room when we complained about the noise but a 10.30 at night after a very busy day it was too much hassle to move. Within minutes of the spa bath stopping their was a dripping pipe behind the wall ( maybe the reason for the smell down stairs) that dripped very loudly for the rest of the night. The noise from people coming and going from the town bar/restaurant area was also unusually loud.Unfortunately not much sleep this night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenturaHamilton, General Manager at Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
First and foremost, I would like to thank you for bringing your concerns to my attention – any feedback whether it be good or bad is welcome and helps us retain and keep our standards to all guests satisfaction. Any negative feedback is taken extremely seriously and I thank you for taking the time to let us know your concerns.
The 'wet carpet' issue you have outlined was from our conference room air-con unit which leaked, which has now been rectified (including carpet cleaning).
As for the noise issues you have commented on, I truly do believe this was a one off incident; however I have now put guidelines in place to ensure that all hallways are checked by our staff members who are onsite 24 hours per day.
I hope your latest stay at Ventura Inn & Suites doesn’t stop you from returning in the future. We greatly value your patron.
Once again I am very sorry for the inconvience and I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was an alternative to the Novotel hotel in town since the Novotel was full and asking around NZD400 per room per night. Decided to try Ventura Inn as an alternative and was very happy with the room. Lots of parking available and the staff were friendly (however not very efficient). The location was good, easy to walk home after a night out in town, but I would also comment that the breakfast spread was not special, not a reason to wake up for. Also, even on a very hot weekend, the pool was not nice or enticing enough to go for a splash. Although in saying this, all in all, I think I would use the Venture over the Novotel now.

Room Tip: think all rooms are created even here - but top floor might be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazza323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.4 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#8 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#18 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
0.5 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#10 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton

Property: Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Address: 23 Clarence Street, Hamilton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton is superbly located at the south end of the central business district, only metres from city businesses and the best restaurants, cafes and entertainment. Nearby attractions include the SKYCITY Hamilton Casino, Waikato Museum, Hamilton Gardens and lots of shopping! We are only a short drive from the Claudelands Event Centre and Arena. For your Hamilton accommodation we offer 50 well appointed guest rooms with a choice of either studio rooms, or one-bedroom suites featuring kitchen facilities and separate bedroom. Rooms with king-size beds and spa baths are available. All rates include a complimentary continental buffet breakfast, free wireless internet access, free local telephone calls and free parking. Relax during your stay with a swim in our outdoor swimming pool, or enjoy a workout in our fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing