We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest on Ward

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quest on Ward
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

On arrival I found the managers to be very friendly and professional. The room was huge and it was great to have my own washing machine and dryer as I had been on the road for a while and finally caught up with getting laundry done, but in my own time. The heat pump was a blessing. I walked to the bars and shared a cab back and it was great that there were no noisy bars down that end of town. The lobby/lounge area on our floor outside the lifts gave it a unique flair. I loved having a tv in the lounge and one in the bedroom. However just to bring it to your attention, whilst watching tv in bed, my remote would also turn the tv on in my lounge too. I also appreciated the secured parking spaces. I would definitely recommend to professionals who do quite a lot of travel and just need to enjoy stretching out in a spacious apartment instead of a poky studio hotel room,and at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Bjandco

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Quest on Ward Hamilton and I really appreciate your detailed review. We are certainly in the heart of the city with everything at your finger tips, yet I am sure you loved having a nice peaceful apartment to come home to. For professionals or leisure travelers it makes a big difference to have the added space and facilities of our apartments and the balcony is also a great extra here. We are glad you made use of our inroom washing machine and dryer and I hope you got to cook up a storm in our fully equipped kitchen.
I look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon here in Hamilton.

regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    66
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
44
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

If your looking for a great location that offers easy walking distance to shops, malls, restaurants, cafes and pubs then I would higly recommend staying at the Quest on Ward. You will be spolit for choice. Park the car and get out and explore. The apartments are spacious, clean and offer so much more than a hotel. The extra space, household utilities and less foot traffic is a bonus.

This was my first stay at the Quest on Ward and we'll definately stay again. The write up on the website is true. Robert was a great host, really helpful and polite. Excellent stay, thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Jacs123

Thank you for your time to review Quest on Ward. I am happy to see you really enjoyed your stay here with us and plan to visit again. It is true, our apartments are spacious and fully fitted out with kitchen, washing machine and dryer and loads of space to relax. If convenience, cleanliness and a home away from home is what you want, Quest on Ward is a fantastic option.
thanks again, and see you soon

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Loved the space of a bedroom separate from the living area. Had my own kitchen and laundry facilities which made the experience feel like home. Probably the best area to stay in Hamilton as it has shopping malls next door with so many places to eat around the area. Seems like centre of the business area too as most of the bigger buildings and offices are located within a block of the Quest. Have stayed in hotels before and would not go back to the small rooms. Looking forward to visit again. Nice friendly service too.

Room Tip: they had some studio rooms and the 1 bedroom. I think they also have 2 bedrooms but didn't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gornfishin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Was booked in to these apartments for the first time, as the place I usually stay in was booked out. I arrived on a Saturday evening at 6pm to find reception closed - I had to ring a buzzer which took a while to be answered. When I asked about where to park my car, I was told I needed to pre-book a car park - which I hadn't been told by the travel agent who did the booking. The lady then called the duty manager while I waiting outside in the cold, with my car double parked on the street. The manager took about 10 minutes to come down, but organised a park for me and explained everything I needed to know. Once I got to my room, I was pleasantly surprised! For the amount charged, I expected a studio apartment, but got a 1 bedroom with full kitchen, laundry etc. Was very tidy and modern. Comfortable bed too, but only one spare pillow. Bathroom very nice, with plenty of towels. Only stayed one night, but wouldn't hesitate to stay again - this time pre-booking the carpark, although very hard to find somewhere to park the car on the street while you go in to get the carpark access token.

Room Tip: Pre-Book your car park!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

Brilliant location, quiet, clean and spacious. Very helpful managers who go out of their way to ensure your every need is met. Washing machine, dryer etc. Just great - I will be staying there again.
It is in the centre of town down a side street. Note that it is in the first part of the street which is one way - it is on the left. There is an excellent cafe called Domaine around the corner and if Starbucks is your thing there is one almost just outside the door.

Room Tip: I had one at the back that was very quiet - ask at reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank couldyoutellme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

The welcome was warm and informative. The apartment was a good size and spotless and equipped with everything you would need. The only gripe is the bed was a bit too firm and only one spare pillow. Great central location with heaps of choice for dining out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ishkaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
387 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

The reception staff at this apartment hotel are lovely and very helpful. But, the rooms are a bit tired, there is no wireless, the internet is expensive, they charge for parking and there is not good lighting in the rooms. For a long stay where you can get groceries and don't want to eat out each night, this makes sense but otherwise, I'd stay in a hotel (like the Novotel) next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.4 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#15 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Ward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Ward

Property: Quest on Ward
Address: 42-47 Ward Street, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Ward 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the happening heart of Hamilton city the Quest on Ward serviced apartments offer studios, one and two bedroom apartments all with full kitchens including an oven, dishwasher and microwave. Wifi (chargeable) for business or leisure and a washing machine/clothes dryer in every apartment. Almost all apartments have a balcony to view the city sights, shopping malls, cafes and the casino only a few steps away. Inside, everything is provided as your home away from home and a peaceful retreat in the downtown area. Hobbiton, the Waitomo Caves, Raglan Beaches and mineral spas all within an hour of Hamilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Quest on Ward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing