We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great price and so clean”
Review of Quest on Ward

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest on Ward
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, great price and so clean”
Reviewed May 14, 2011

My husband and I booked the Quest on Ward at the last minute. It's location is great as it is close to restaurants, movies and shops. Being right in the middle of down town I was worried that it would be noisey but we didn't hear a squeak. Has to have been the cleanest accommodation we have stayed in. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    74
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
49
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We stayed here 1night on an impromptu weekend in Hamilton. Modern serviced apartment right in the CBD. You can park your car behind the building ($10 extra for overnight) and walk to the casino, etc, very central. Professional service right from the word go, booked by phoning their 0800 number and was able to get the same discounted rate as advertised on the internet and the guy reserved us a carpark at the same time. Very reasonably priced stay. We got a spacious 1 bedroom apt facing the city on the third floor. Modern furniture, leather couch, full kitchen with dishwasher, Sky.

Liked: 2nd TV in the bedroom, your own washing machine / dryer with powder sachets included (we didnt use it but handy for those who need it).

Disliked: bed was a bit too hard for my liking, couldnt find any wine glasses (just coffee mugs and tea cups). Dustpan was greasy (not cleaned from previous person).

There is no swimming pool or spa. Bear in mind reception closes at 4pm on the weekends, after that there is swipe key entry.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AklTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Stayed here for one night as went to the rugby international. Great place, very roomy and comfortable beds. Bathroom had disabled access so very spacious. I would stay here again. Nice and central too. Bedroom not open to street noise so nice and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biglobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

TripAdvisor doesn't have a rating between "average" and "very good". They should have 3.5 stars for "good", which is how I'd classify this property.

I spent two nights in a 1 bedroom apartment. I was quoted a rate by email which looked good, until I received a follow up email telling me the previous rate was incorrect as I was staying on a "special event" weekend. The new rate was almost double. Fortunately I was then offered a 3rd rate in between the previous two! In a strange set of circumstances the rate I paid at this property was identical to the rate I paid the previous night at the 5-star SkyCity Grand hotel in Auckland. The two properties are poles apart, so I'd rate the value here as quite low - at least on event weekends.

Check in staff were friendly and helpful - my booked carpark hadn't been arranged - but they quickly fixed it up. The room itself was comfortable but a little stark. Low-voltage flourescent lighting dominates and the lounge room feels a bit like a caravan park cabin at night. I left the lights off. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was serviceable. There was no full-length mirror anywhere in the room which I found odd. Tea and coffee facilities included sachets of plunger coffee which was a nice touch, as were the full canisters of salt and pepper in the kitchen cupboards.

The location is very good, right in the heart of Hamilton, which as a town has little going for it aside from Waikato Stadium. It's very hard to find though, reception is just a shop-front and signage is poor. It's next to Starbucks if you're looking.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFLtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I stayed in these apartments for one night and was pleasantly surprised by the value for money. The studio room was extremely clean and modern and had a kitchen, large bathroom with washer/dryer cupboard, flatscreen TV with SKY and internet cable access (charged). The kitchen even had a small dishwasher.
The apartments are very central to Hamilton, with heaps of shopping and cafes right on your doorstep.
Reception is closes in the evening and unfortunately the guests below me were very loud during the night. The staff were very apologetic when I informed them the next day and apparently there is a phone number you can ring and they will deal immediately with noisy neighbours.
My room also looked out onto a multi-level car park so you may want to ask for a room with a view of the street if one is available. Parking is in the alley behind the hotel and you need to pre-book this at a cost of $10 or your wheels may get clamped.
Overall, the rooms were great value, clean and modern.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2009

We stayed one night in 1 bedroom suite. Nice and large, clean, well equipped. Loved the washer/dryer.

Starbucks is just 5 steps round the corner, big mall right across the road, bars and restaurants & casino 1 minute walk. A great place to stay if you want to be in the middle of things.

Despite being inner city, night noise was not a problem....BUT....the curtains failed to black out inner city lighting...which made for a not so great sleep. Otherwise I'd reccomend.

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnauLahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2008

we stayed one night in a 1 bedroom unit, hotel is right in the heart of the CBD with a mall, cinema, shops and 3 coffee chains (Esquires, Starbucks and Robert Harris) all within 50 metres, hotel only opened Dec 07, rooms are well appointed, clean and spacious, with flat screen tvs (small/mid size in lounge and small in bedroom). Full size kichen also.

Ward Street is a thoroughfare between 2 main streets but there was not a lot of night time noise.

Unfortunately reception did not appear to have any brochures on the area other than on other hotels within the Quest chain, would have been good to be able to pick up brochures or maps at reception.

The only downside to the hotel is parking, the hotel has secure car parking for an additional $10 per night which you need to arrange in advance, this is recommended as I dont think I would like to leave my car parked on the streets overnight.

Be careful where you park when checking in, there is an area behind the hotel with allocated parking for the hotel and other businesses however in the time we took to check in (literally 5 minutes) our car was clamped, which can incur a $60 fee, the boy in charge of the clamping loiters around the area but does not advise you not to park there and is very zealous and a little power crazy, although we managed to avoid the charge as we were staying at the hotel.

Overall aside from parking issues would definitely recommend staying at quest.

  • Liked — location, newness
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwitravellers07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#10 of 63 in Hamilton
939 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,141 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.4 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Ward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Ward

Property: Quest on Ward
Address: 42-47 Ward Street, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Ward 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the happening heart of Hamilton city the Quest on Ward serviced apartments offer studios, one and two bedroom apartments all with full kitchens including an oven, dishwasher and microwave. Wifi (chargeable) for business or leisure and a washing machine/clothes dryer in every apartment. Almost all apartments have a balcony to view the city sights, shopping malls, cafes and the casino only a few steps away. Inside, everything is provided as your home away from home and a peaceful retreat in the downtown area. Hobbiton, the Waitomo Caves, Raglan Beaches and mineral spas all within an hour of Hamilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest on Ward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing