We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of USSCo Bar & Bistro

USSCo Bar & Bistro
Ranked #4 of 77 Restaurants in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cosy restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

A great selection on the menu; the food was well cooked and presented. Very popular with the locals. Lots of great photos on display of the Gisborne area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MitzyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    98
    15
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant in Gisborne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had one dinner that we really enjoyed. The service was good and efficient and the food quality was excellent as well as the wine! We were at the Bella Vista Motel for one night (very good place) and our host recommended us to go pretty early in the evening. We had no reservation and were well inspired to follow his recommendation because there was only one table still not booked!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Eats in Gissy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

USSCO is possibly one of the best dining establishments in this sleepy little beach town. We were treated to a lovely salmon mousse bite on the house as we perused the wine list, full of local NZ wines. We had the bruschetta as an appetizer, which was an unusual presentation, but very tasty. Then we both chose the beef filet for our dinner. It was perfectly cooked to order, and served with melt in your mouth garlic mashed potatoes. The service was attentive, but not over bearing. Overall, a great meal in a nice setting. Then came the dessert. All I can say is Bannoffe Pie. Do not miss this pie. Knock other people out of your way if you have to. Yell "Fire!" to clear the restaurant, if you must. But make sure you get a slice of this pie!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dinna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Walked in without reservation ordered fish and chips well presented and very fresh friendly service to be recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were recommended there and decided to try. The food was quite good although I didn't like the flavors they used in my fish dish and my husband said that I do better steak at home. Portions was big, I couldn't even finish it. So my verdict is: not the best, but not bad too.
Service was great though

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OlgaFranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed USSCo Bar & Bistro also viewed

Gisborne, Gisborne Region
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
 
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
 

Been to USSCo Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing