We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbor view room with kitchenette and balcony”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Like many New Zealand hotel rooms, this "Harbor Guest Room" included a compact kitchenette with oven, dishwasher, sink, fridge, and 2 burner stove, a desk/table with two chairs, TV and small balcony overlooking the "Port." The Port runs a logging operation 24/7 which we did not find as noisy as some other reviewers. The room included wifi and there was a convenient complementary washer and dryer for guests. The included breakfast consisted of toast, canned fruit, muesli brought to our room, since the hotel did not have a restaurant. Parking is in the back of the hotel and the location is within walking distance to the main downtown street, but would have been longer to the restaurants on the opposite side.

Room Tip: We were in room #216 which looked directly out on the logging facility activities. Rooms on the opp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 263 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here for a night, clean and enough space but a couple of issues: the pillows are very hard and the television quality is either bad or I couldn't figure out how to use the remote - there are no instructions provided.

Room-service breakfast is not worth buying here, very uninspiring and expensive for what you get (box of cornflakes etc) - better you go out to one of the many cafes in the morning.

AC unit was fantastic - it was a hot night when I stayed and the room cooled down quickly. Quiet for sleeping. I had a city-side room which had no view but I got a great sleep.

Every room has a small balcony. I had a small room with small balcony so no table or chairs to enjoy breakfast on.

Room Tip: Get a portside room where possible. If you want a table on your balcony ask for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJWX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had a 1 bedroom suite and an adjoining studio that we shared with another couple. It worked very well and was good having the extra room to sit on comfortable chairs instead of the bed.
It was well equipped with a full kitchen and over looked the Port .
Within walking distance to the town and restaurants. Quiet location and good parking.
Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Was nice to be on the port side with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We booked a suite here so that we could use a washing machine and tumble drier in our room. Very spacious, comfortable and well-equiped. Unusually for NZ hotels, it even had lots of drawer space. Good location with cafes and restaurants within a few minutes walk, as well as a short stroll over the bridge to walk up Kaiti hill.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our room looked over the harbour and was extremely well-equipped. In addition, the hotel offered unlimited, free, in-room wi-fi, and also free laundry facilities, and to complete the package, free car parking across from reception. The only thing lacking was a restaurant, but there is plenty of choice within walking distance.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank payasoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Really nice down by the port. Handy to restaurants and shops. Very clean and tidy, we had an adjoining room with another couple, worked really well as they had a bigger room with kitchen. Very well priced. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Yob10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for 2 nights at a cost that was pretty fair and good value. Our room had a river view on third floor (room 313) with 2 balonies - one off the very spacious lounge and the other off the bedroom. The lounge balcony had outdoor seats and a table, noticed not all balconies do. The lounge had a very comfy couch and two arm chairs, dining table seated four and the kitchen was excellent as it had everything you could possibly want.

Bathroom had a massive corner bath with shower (bath unfortunately wasnt a spa bath but was huge). Bedroom was fine only complaint was there was no television in there.
Photos on Portside website and Tripadvisor by others are pretty acurate.

Friends stayed in a studio room which was nice but pretty small, shell out the extra $20 for a 1 bed apartment!!

Hotel may want to look at updating the tv's and stero equipment - no ipod doc and tv picture was a little poor

Location is fantastic - walking distance to restaurants and town, lovely beach walkway for mornings or evenings.

The jewel of this hotel's crown has to be the cleaning staff!! Rooms were IMPECCABLE. It was so lovely to not have ANY moans and groans about stuff not done. Very impressed.

I would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: ask for a riverview if you dont want to overlook the carpark - port noise wasnt an issue. Room 313...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staynova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.3 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#13 of 26 in Gisborne
279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#10 of 26 in Gisborne
73 reviews
1.9 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Senator Motor Inn
Senator Motor Inn
#1 of 26 in Gisborne
190 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Gisborne
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection

Address: 2 Reads Quay, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gisborne
#3 Family Hotel in Gisborne
#5 Business Hotel in Gisborne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gisborne
Price Range: $98 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Hotel Gisborne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing