We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hicks Bay Motel Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hicks Bay Motel Lodge
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Although the whole site was very dated the meals, accommodation and service was of an average standard. If anyone else is considering doing a 2 day motorcycle ride around the east coast this is the perfect place for an overnight stop so long as you are not looking for luxurious top end accommodation. Even though the prices seem high for what you get I would definitely stay again owing to the location.

Room Tip: Site the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 58steve2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2015

We can only see the good in Hicks Bay when we receive comments like yours. Thank you for your time online.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 310 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Hicks Bay. The motel unit was comfortable and clean. It afforded a great view of the Bay. The restaurant was great with a good menu catering for all tastes. The staff were very helpful both in reception and the restraurant

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2015

Thank you for your online comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed overnight in a small party of people. Our room was spartan, but comfortable. No phone or Internet, no light over the mirror to see yourself if it's dark, no shampoo, no bulb in the outside light. All basic things you expect when paying $110 -$130 compared with accomodation around the country.

The entry to the motel is tired and dangerous. The sign is impossible to spot at night, and the entry is bumpy and littered with potholes. You need to drive really slowly and dodge the gaps in the tarseal.

The hosts were friendly, but seemed run off their feet with only half a dozen diners. Fish was not on the menu that night unfortunately, despite being right by the sea. However the chicken schnitzel with plum sauce and salad sounded yummy, and we we very hungry. One of the hosts did the cooking, which consisted of flopping a processed crumbed frozen fillet from out of a packet into a pan, with packet frozen chips, and shredded cabbage with pepper. It wasn't great and none of us could eat much. Processed food, not fresh, not well presented, but at $25 should have at least been freshly prepared. Our meal was more like what you'd expect in a student flat.

The lovely friendly Mexican lady host came to our table three times and said: "how was that . . . was that wonderful?" The first time we smiled politely, the second time we didn't answer, and if we hadn't been so tired and hungry, we would have launched into a critique the third time she asked.

Hicks Bay Motel is on a wonderful site, but if they insist on charging market rates, they need a total makeover to justify this.

Room Tip: Arrive early to see the view, because that's what you are paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiwisNorthland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to write this detailed review. I am so sorry you were unhappy. If only you would have informed my staff we could have made you another meal and fixed your problem. It is unfortunate that Ivett enquired three times and you didn't mention anything. We are not able to discount our room because we are in such an isolated area and our overhead is higher than city operation for product and staffing. Unfortunately Hicks Bay isn't for everyone and your comments help us manage future client expectation about internet, telephone and cellphone service in Hicks Bay. The layby at our entrance is owned by Gisborne District Council and we have been requesting improvements. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around The Pacific Coast Highway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

quiet clean room great views enjoyable breakfast & dinner good staff
we walked down to see the glow worms we only stayed one night we would have
stayed longer very good views getting there along the coast .

Room Tip: room overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2015

Oh gee do we like you too! Thank you so much for giving my staff meeting joy. You Rock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Rooms are basic but comfortable. Restaurant is basic but provided nice meals. Staff are friendly. Handy shop on site. But it is the views you should go for, both once you are on site and on the journey there. Some tremendous vistas and interesting stopping points along the way. And if you are an early bird you can be one of the first in the world to greet the sun as it dawns over a new day.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room without obstructed views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2015

Yes three stars and very proud of running a steady business. Thank you for your time online.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

An overnight stop. Bit hard to spot as not very well lit up on road and it is on a dangerous bend. We missed it ( night driving) had to do a U'ee when safe!
Restaurant on site. Bit basic and over priced.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruisedontsnooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2015

Strangely enough we do not strive to be perfect, we strive to welcome our guests and share the beauty of Hicks Bay. Thank you for your online comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The room was clean, dinner was great and the wine even better. After long rainy drive around the coast we really appreciated the light sign pointing to the hotel. If stay here, don't miss the grotto at night with glow-worms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teroun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2015

Location location location equals an enjoyable destination. Thank you for staying at Hicks Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
75.8 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
75.5 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#14 of 26 in Gisborne
281 reviews
75 mi away
Teal Motor Lodge
Teal Motor Lodge
#18 of 26 in Gisborne
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
75.8 mi away
Waikanae Beach Motel
Waikanae Beach Motel
#16 of 26 in Gisborne
43 reviews
75.8 mi away
Waikanae Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
75 mi away
White Heron Motor Lodge
White Heron Motor Lodge
#15 of 26 in Gisborne
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hicks Bay Motel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hicks Bay Motel Lodge

Address: 5198 Te Araroa Road, Gisborne, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gisborne
Price Range: $79 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hicks Bay Motel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...where the morning sun first meets the horizon...1960s Kiwiana - defining what it is to be Kiwi. Set on a 14 acre bluff, 250 meters above sea level, in historic and botanical protected -- unspoiled -- countryside. where peace and tranquility abound. Overlooking the beautiful Hicks Bay Waterways 40 rooms with 175 person total capacity. AMENITIES. Outdoor Swimming Pool. Bush walks. Restaurant -- 60 person seating capacity. Breakfast and Dinner prepared by Maori chef with freshly prepared sauces, vegetables - served homestyle. Shop and Bottle Store. Internet access, Payphone, and Guest laundry. Playground and Pool Table. Glowworm Grotto and Rock Fishing. East Cape Maritime Lighthouse accessible to the public, 35km.Located midway between Opotiki and Gisborne on the Pacific Coast Highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hicks Bay Motel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hicks Bay Hotel Gisborne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing