We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tino Pai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hicks Bay Motel Lodge
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Reviewed July 31, 2013

On my last work visit to the Hicks Bay/Te Araroa area I was fortunate to have stayed at the Motel Lodge.
The booking was easy and the check-in was hassle free - as it is always. The room that I had was more than adequate and the meal in the restaurant was lovely.

Recommend this motel lodge to any travelers as I am a regular guest when on business.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaLeilua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 310 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We emailed this lodge via their website contact us page and did not receive a reply. We ended up staying at another lodge that showed interest in doing business with us. Disappointing - Hicks Bay is in a nice location.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank thegracesauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to alert me of this. I apologize and we are sorry to have missed out on your business. All the best to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Hicks Bay Hotel. I found the staff and owners lovely and the views awesome. The rooms are old-style, but clean and immaculately maintained. My friends stayed in rooms that had kitchen facilities, these rooms were much nicer and had back verandas where you could sit, have a meal and enjoy the great views. The meals at the restaurant were good and wholesome.

Room Tip: The best rooms are down near the main office and have a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for your rating it helps us manage future client expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Dated and tired, we stayed one night in the off season last minute as the place we had planned to stay at in Te Ararua hadlost our booking. East coast is very remote, with few places to stay, so we weren't expecting much. The rooms are old, and tired looking. Bathroom are nothing special. We had diner which was okay, the chips were cold limp when they arrived, and the steak average. The service was average, no one was rude it just fell a bit flat.

Were this place is special is the view and the bay which is gorgeous. My partner and I at night took a small stroll down to the glow worm grotto, which was such a nice surprise and end to our evening.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have been updated a bit, with new flat screen televisions and some rooms have a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravKayway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for three stars. We have done so much renovating in the last seven years, it is a little difficult for me to connect to your comments. We have four blocks containing forty rooms here at Hicks Bay. Yes most of them carry the 60s feel. Some guest tell us to never change this feel about Hicks Bay and then others suggest we upgrade. One good upgrade has been to two rooms which are the Bay View Studio. I'm posting a photo on our web today. Thank you for your comments it helps us manage customer expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Entirely satisfactory and value for money. Friendly helpful staff. Excellent meal and wine.
We liked the older style room and dining room. No problem with the early and short dining hours. We normally travel in the Australian outback, and thats the same deal about meals out there. I'm pleased that the owners ignored the dumb "advice" that they got from the Auckland based so called experts, that I saw on TV some time back. The charm would have been totally destroyed. Its such a pity that it is so far away from Dunedin, otherwise we would become regulars.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for your review. The sum of the whole is made up of parts.....glad you created an excellent experience. All the best to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

It was my first time staying at Hicks Bay, and there certainly is not much there. We explored the wharf, which in summer would be an excellent place to jump from, clean clear water so deep straight away. The Lodge was clean, stunning views and comfy bed. Good food and good company.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

The Pacific Coast Highway is a wonderful way to reconnect. In and out of any kind of signal, one turns their attention inward and enjoys a beautiful part of New Zealand. That's what separates Hicks Bay from other destinations. Your comments are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We arrived after sunset and were confused by the lack of signage displaying the lodge's name at the turn off . Nearly turned around and went back. Couldn't confirm it was the right place until we went into the office! Apart from that, the accommodation was spacious, clean and comfortable and the views amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MtAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for three stars it reminds us that our staff is working consistent. They deserve the credit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
75.8 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
75.5 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#13 of 26 in Gisborne
281 reviews
75 mi away
Teal Motor Lodge
Teal Motor Lodge
#18 of 26 in Gisborne
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
75.8 mi away
Waikanae Beach Motel
Waikanae Beach Motel
#16 of 26 in Gisborne
43 reviews
75.8 mi away
Waikanae Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
75 mi away
White Heron Motor Lodge
White Heron Motor Lodge
#15 of 26 in Gisborne
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hicks Bay Motel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hicks Bay Motel Lodge

Address: 5198 Te Araroa Road, Gisborne, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gisborne
Price Range: $79 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hicks Bay Motel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...where the morning sun first meets the horizon...1960s Kiwiana - defining what it is to be Kiwi. Set on a 14 acre bluff, 250 meters above sea level, in historic and botanical protected -- unspoiled -- countryside. where peace and tranquility abound. Overlooking the beautiful Hicks Bay Waterways 40 rooms with 175 person total capacity. AMENITIES. Outdoor Swimming Pool. Bush walks. Restaurant -- 60 person seating capacity. Breakfast and Dinner prepared by Maori chef with freshly prepared sauces, vegetables - served homestyle. Shop and Bottle Store. Internet access, Payphone, and Guest laundry. Playground and Pool Table. Glowworm Grotto and Rock Fishing. East Cape Maritime Lighthouse accessible to the public, 35km.Located midway between Opotiki and Gisborne on the Pacific Coast Highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hicks Bay Motel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hicks Bay Hotel Gisborne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing