We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great half-way point round the coast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hicks Bay Motel Lodge
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Room was comfortable with everything we needed. Good shower. Not able to open windows the only downside. Dined in the restaurant, staff friendly and meal fine for such an isolated spot.
Outstanding views from the room. Not 5star but would recommend it as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherieMarlborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Your time in writing this review is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Hicks Bay Motel Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 310 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

Apart from a cabin in the caravan park over the hill you have little else to choose from. We stayed one night in a motel style room - with ensuite. It was just OK. The main drawback was the north facing windows - could not open them to get some airflow, so it was a bit of a hot box, This should not be too difficult or expensive to fix? Being in a Telecom black spot we were also irked not to have internet nor mobile phone connectivity - but it looks like the cable layers are on to this. The restaurant was adequate - you shouldn't expect much more for a remote location I guess, without paying a lot more. How about more of the seafood that must be caught nearby? What a great location - we enjoyed the whole East Coast experience

Room Tip: Get a room with windows that can be opened.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for three stars. With forty rooms there are some with this type of window. It will be next on our list of the continual maintenance in a 50 year old building. All the best to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

- we were there a year ago (April 2012) and have often thought of doing a review as it has rankled us ever since. I have just read the above reviews and see they haven't changed at all. First, our room was very hot and we couldn't open the windows (painted shut). Flies buzzing around in it. Very old and shabby. Obviously no maintenance done for years. But our biggest growl is about the restaurant - we gave our order early at 6pm then seated in the restaurant we waited - and we waited - and we waited. Other people came in, ate and left and we waited. 45 mins later the waitress (who couldn't lift her feet to walk but shuffled around) brought a bowl of soup which we hadn't ordered so she took it away. Another 45 mins later the dining room was empty except for us still sitting there. The waitress came and asked us what we were doing and we told her what we had ordered. 10 mins later it came out. The chicken was a fried crumbed fillet that you buy in a frozen packet. Good grief that was the last straw. It is a pity it is the only place at the halfway point around the coast, as if they had some competition they would definitely have to wake their ideas up. Only good thing was the view otherwise I do not recommend this place at all. Not a good look for promoting NZ to our overseas visitors.

Room Tip: Check that your room has openable windows and fresh air before you agree to use it.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny of Tarana... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

HI
Thank you for taking your time to write a review one year later.
We are and have been making a lot of adjustments in the restaurant.

Sorry you had such an experience, the whole process is a two
way street.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great views & location
$135 pn should have been about $70!
Locked in 1970 furnishings and fittings. Very tired and not ultra clean. The toilet looked like one from a student flat and needed a good bleaching. Bathroom area not practical & needed serious upgrade.
This accommodation is only on at the top of the East Cape, foreign travellers must be shocked at our standards.
We need tourism inspectors to vet these properties better

Room Tip: Take a camper van!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterPPapamoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thanks for taking your time to write your review. Business is business and personal is personal. My pricing structure is in line with a three star motel. I don't mind discounting pay per view movies and parking fees, however I am unable to get discounts on basic operating cost and therefore I am not able to discount my room rates. All the best to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

retro, just as the pictures show, lovely to see the website lady behind the counter. Bit of a captive market if you want to stay half way round but if only it hadn't been raining in the morning it is a great place to chill and take in the views - bed was good as well

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Wonderful a three star review! Thanks. You represent the quality of clientele that we accommodate often. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Recently stayed here for a work trip and the motel was pleasant enough. The room was average, nice and tidy, decor a bit outdated but nothing worth complaining about. I had a lovely view of Hicks Bay stretching right across to Matakaoa point and then out to the Horizon. And I must admit, I had the best sleep in a long time. Lovely views, Hicks Bay is a beautiful place to visit.

I only have a couple complaints - the restaurant seating arrangement; people should be entitled to sit where they please, having to be seated inside just so the staff don't have to walk too far is lazy (there's a deck outside with seating). You would think that having a small window of time to serve meals (meals to be ordered between 6 -6.30pm) would not consume too much of the staff's time. It was especially uncomfortable having to sit inside while the weather was 25 degrees and there's no ventilation. Maybe you should consider getting better windows for both the restaurant and the rooms (honestly it would make a huge difference). The food was nice, a little pricey but I do understand that produce is expensive to deliver to a place so isolated.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arihia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Three stars -- I'm winning. We appreciate you taking your time to write. All the best to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hicks Bay itself is a lovely spot. At the Motel Lodge the staff were helpful and friendly-ish. The accommodation is very dated but was comfortable. Felt the accommodation was definitely on the pricey side. We had takeaways from the restaurant, when we arrived the restaurant was about to close, so we were thankfully to them at first for still taking our order, but sadly as it turned out we may of been better of if they hadn't, the food was very expensive and was awfully. First time I had seen my kids not able to eat the good old "Kiwi Fish n Chips".

Paula

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for three stars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
75.8 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
74.8 mi away
Colonial on Gladstone
Colonial on Gladstone
#19 of 26 in Gisborne
28 reviews
76.6 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Gisborne
172 reviews
75.8 mi away
Ahi Kaa
Ahi Kaa
#8 of 26 in Gisborne
68 reviews
75.8 mi away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hicks Bay Motel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hicks Bay Motel Lodge

Address: 5198 Te Araroa Road, Gisborne, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gisborne
Price Range: $98 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hicks Bay Motel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...where the morning sun first meets the horizon...1960s Kiwiana - defining what it is to be Kiwi. Set on a 14 acre bluff, 250 meters above sea level, in historic and botanical protected -- unspoiled -- countryside. where peace and tranquility abound. Overlooking the beautiful Hicks Bay Waterways 40 rooms with 175 person total capacity. AMENITIES. Outdoor Swimming Pool. Bush walks. Restaurant -- 60 person seating capacity. Breakfast and Dinner prepared by Maori chef with freshly prepared sauces, vegetables - served homestyle. Shop and Bottle Store. Internet access, Payphone, and Guest laundry. Playground and Pool Table. Glowworm Grotto and Rock Fishing. East Cape Maritime Lighthouse accessible to the public, 35km.Located midway between Opotiki and Gisborne on the Pacific Coast Highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hicks Bay Motel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hicks Bay Hotel Gisborne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing